We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the incredible price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Good Nite Inn Sacramento

Save Saved
You added Good Nite Inn Sacramento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Howe Ave., Sacramento, CA 95826   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 84 hotels in Sacramento
Perrysburg, OH
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Not bad for the incredible price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I really couldn't believe how cheap this place was, and was expecting the worst. But if you don't need frills, it's really not bad. Not an attractive place, but some of the rooms have fridge and microwave, and the bed was comfortable enough. Good water pressure in shower. Wifi cost $4 but at least it worked well. They had muffins and juice when I was there, but were about to discontinue the free breakfast and only offer coffee. Parking is plentiful. Extremely convenient to Cal State University Sacramento.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
25howe, General Manager at Good Nite Inn Sacramento, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found our service to be efficient though we are very sorry to hear of the areas where we fell short. We pride ourselves in providing a consistently clean and well maintained accommodation. Your feedback will be put to good use towards that end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    45
    34
    15
    22
See reviews for
34
29
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

So, we were looking for an inexpensive motel for a wedding trip to Sacramento, and saw this hotel had decent reviews on Tripadvisor, and figured it was worth a shot. We weren't expecting a 3 star hotel, just a clean, quiet place to rest for two nights. Well, we didn't get either.

We booked a non-smoking room, and when we entered the room we knew it clearly had been smoked in. It reminded us of one of those old Vegas rooms where the smoke was in everything. I called the front desk to ask for a different room, and they informed me that the room I had was a non-smoking room, and they had no others. The person stated that because I was staying two nights they had given me the room with the mini fridge, as if that was supposed to make up for the poor smelling room. She suggested i ask again in the morning to see if we could be moved for the 2nd night.
We decided to go to sleep and see what the next day would bring. Well. at least we thought we would sleep...it turns out the noise from the nearby highway and busy street was horribly loud enough to keep us awake. Then, during the night, my wife couldn't stand the stuffy air, so she turned on the air conditioner. We no longer could hear the street noise, because it now sounded like a jet engine in our room!!! We had to turn it back off after a few minutes of trying to stand the noise....we gave up after that and just had a sleepless night.

The next morning we decided to find another hotel to spend the 2nd night, and went down to the lobby to check out. When I informed the gentleman that we had a bad night, and were going to leave early, he barely said a word. No apology or offer of another room was forthcoming...we just shrugged and left. I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you are willing to stand the noise and smell form a smoky "non-smoking" room, and are willing to put up with a non-caring staff.

Yes it's cheap, but you get what you pay for

Room Tip: Possibly the rooms on the back side would be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
25howe, General Manager at Good Nite Inn Sacramento, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve. Because business travel is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at Good Nite Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

im a truck driver always on the go when ever i make back to sacramento ca. the good nite inn is where you will find me. the rooms are exceptional (sean) and the team staff are great ready to meet and greet you with open arms as you check in to me thats real important customer service at the good nite it feels as tho its a home away from home so if you just so happen to stop by the good nite inn in sacramento ca tell sean and the rest of the fellows the big truck driver guy sent you it will be sure to put a smile on their faces. see you real soon and by the way love those king beds

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
25howe, General Manager at Good Nite Inn Sacramento, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for completing the online review. We truly appreciate your feedback and kind remarks. We are constantly striving to deliver a high level of customer service and are extremely happy to hear that you experienced just that! We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Again, thank you for your time and for staying with us!Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your trip. Our staff is knowledgeable of regions and attractions in the area so if you are not familiar with Sacramento County we are happy to assist with maps, passes and information. We are happy to hear you enjoyed this service we provide!Thank you so much for the great review! We are thrilled that you found your new home when traveling into Sacramento. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, California, USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

The location is perfect for me, right off of highway 50. Centrally located between Downtown, East, South Sacramento and Arden Fair Mall is close as well. The staff is always available and friendly. I've been a frequent guest over the years and my rooms have always been comfy and clean. Great value for those passing through town. It is a lower end motel, but front desk service gets 4stars from me!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
25howe, General Manager at Good Nite Inn Sacramento, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for completing the online review. We truly appreciate your feedback and kind remarks. We are constantly striving to deliver a high level of customer service and are extremely happy to hear that you experienced just that! We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Again, thank you for your time and for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

Service was below par and lots of weirdos hanging around. That's what you get for $40 a night, but they have a pool and the rooms are decent & clean.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
25howe, General Manager at Good Nite Inn Sacramento, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience. We are pleased that we were able to WOW you! We look forwarded to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

On arrival, looks OK from the outside. First ten minutes, lots of sketchy
patrons hanging out, spitting, smoking cigs outside, cell phone
conversations on walkways. Booked three nights for business, very cheap (34 USD/night).
Had to sign some disclaimer regarding theft from room and vehicle. Office
shuts early, maybe 7:30, then you need to deal with front desk person
through secure glass, standing outside. Wifi 4 USD extra. Nice girl, though,
helpful and friendly. Stained concrete walkways, who knows? Soda, wine,
blood, spit? Non-smoking room reeks. Bathroom, clean, OK. Hotel survey card
has some previous occupant's personal notes on opposite side (housekeeper
forgot to change). Overall, rough neighborhood, as in bring in anything
valuable from the car, and don't leave these in the room during the day.
Scratchy clientele, very ex-con like, maybe rename to Goodnite State Correctional Facility? Staff hunkered down in their secure world, letting the animals run wild. May
downgrade to 1 star, depending on first night's stay (Now, 9:00 PM, Monday).
May not make entire three nights.

Room Tip: Quality of rooms varies dramatically. Ask for a better one if there are noise or stink issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
25howe, General Manager at Good Nite Inn Sacramento, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
We would like to apologize to you for any inconveniences that might have had during your stay with us. We wish these items were brought to our attention at check in or during your stay so they could have been handled in a prompt manor. We are available 24 hours a day to my staff and for all the guests if needed either in person or by phone. We can assure all of our future guests that we have put some policies in place to limit if not completely eliminate this issue. Once again we would like to apologize to you for the issues that arose and hope that they would consider us in the future as we are a very active company in taking care of our problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

i have been here on several occasions and weeks at a time, not only is it affordable and comfortable past the value of what you pay, but i had the greatest interactions with the staff. the night man sean was beyond helpful he was accurate in the check in process and made me feel like i was at a second home instead of just checking in at a motel. he was patient as i was trying to find my id and also he had on more than one occasion cleared up all of the disturbances as quick as they had occured by people who weren't supposed to be on the property when i had reported them either at the window or via calling the front desk. in the morning at 6 am he was so warm and friendly while maintaining an exceptional professional demeanor. i was delighted. also the house keeper charli was so amazing and thorough in cleaning the room and providing what was needed. someone on another site had stated something about bed bugs and poor service however that is a complete lie. and i have experienced nothing but an incredible stay with exceptional excellent customer service. and sean was so efficient and quick in service. i only waited around four minutes while he was checking us in. so for the people that said it was a long process thats really hard to believe...i would reccomend this place to

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
25howe, General Manager at Good Nite Inn Sacramento, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for completing the online review. We truly appreciate your feedback and kind remarks. We are constantly striving to deliver a high level of customer service and are extremely happy to hear that you experienced just that! We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Again, thank you for your time and for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Good Nite Inn Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn Sacramento

Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn Sacramento Hotel
Good Nite Inn Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Good Nite Hotel Sacramento
Good Nite Sacramento
Address: 25 Howe Ave., Sacramento, CA 95826
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn Sacramento 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn, the number one economy hotel company in California. Come stay with us and you’ll discover what our loyal customers have come to expect time and time again: comfortable, clean, and modern accommodations at unbeatable prices. Good Night Inn Sacramento is located just 2 miles from downtown Sacramento, the state capitol, the governor's mansion and historic old Sacramento. Located within 5 miles of the property are Cal State University at Sacramento, Cal Expo, the California State Railroad Museum, Raging Waters sacramento, fine restaurants and Arden Fair Shopping Center. The Good Nite Inn Sacramento is also conveniently located on Highway 50 halfway between the bay area and Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Good Nite Inn Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Nite Inn Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.