We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things to know” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Downtown

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   818 15th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #36 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Lake Tahoe
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Things to know”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here based upon the glowing reviews but I failed to realize that not all the rooms are yet renovated. Mine was not. The demolition had begun, missing base boards, paintings, torn wall paper, cracked walls, etc. Everything worked alright but it was the saddest room I've had in recent memory. Check at the desk to see if you can get a renovated room. I'm sure they are quite nice.
Also, this property uses Dish TV. If you are unfamiliar with their service, be careful which buttons you press on the remote. The channel listings were not available, so just start with channel 3 and hit "channel up" to see what's available.
My one night was alright and I'll stay again when I hear that renovations are complete.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    13
    5
    11
See reviews for
11
13
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were happily surprised that this older hotel had very upscale accommodations--granite bathrooms, crown molding and beautiful paint job in the bedroom, extremely comfortable bed. At the complimentary continental breakfast, we enjoyed the addition of sausages and potato patties. Within several blocks there is a variety of restaurants including Subway, Thai, Italian, and Japanese. What clinched our decision to use this hotel for future business trips is the outstanding staff-- the desk staff, maintenance people, and housekeeping were all exceptionally efficient, pleasant, and just so nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I promised the manager a good review, and here it is...Check in was hassle free and they provided a receipt with internet passwords on it, so there was no confusion about tapping into the WIFI. Room was modern and clean.The bathroom had been renovated/updated with granite tile and new fixtures. I slept great, as the bed was comfortable and the property was quiet and secure. Breakfast area was clean, and food was as expected, waffle maker, danish, juice, but also had sausage and hash browns. I saw boiled egg, cereal, yogurt. Mostly, the breakfast bar was well-stocked, even as we popped in toward the end of the designated breakfast time. Coffee was not as strong as I like, but overall, I was pleased with the meal. All the staff we spoke with were friendly, and made us feel welcome. The hotel was just a few minutes drive from the Ace of Spades concert venue. I will definitely stay here next time I am going to a show in downtown Sacto. Great room at an affordable price.Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 days starting July 30 2013 while visiting the Sacramento Convention Center. I stay in hotels 300+ nights yearly. This hotel will be the ONLY choice for me in the future when my travels bring me to Sacramento. My room was clean and very fresh. The bed was comfortable and the water pressure was great and plentiful. Breakfast started at 7 and was hot and fresh. NOTE......... this hotel is downtown......... there are security doors to limit access to guest rooms. Dont be put off by that, its for safety and it works. I dont have a single complaint. Overall a great place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Close to Amtrak station and old town sacramento and freeways. Rooms renovated and clean. Staff helpful and friendly. Seemingly safe and quiet location. I have no complaints except the pool needs a little work. I had my two kids and they complained that the pool was dirty and kinda outdated, but overall very nice hotel in a downtown area and very good value in comparison to others in the area. Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

For less than the price of a one night stay at the big hotels near the Capitol and Sacramento Convention Center, you can stay at the Quality Inn Downtown only 2 blocks away! Included is free Wifi, satellite TV, free parking (something the others charge), free breakfast, in-room refrigerator, microwave, coffee/tea maker, ironing board & iron, blow dryer and, free daily newspaper. You can even make your own waffles!

I'd recommend the Quality Inn Downtown for anyone having to go to Sacramento for meetings.

Room Tip: Join the Choice Hotels Privileges program!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I first wrote a review of the Quality Inn in April 2009. The hotel is currently being renovated in blocks and I stayed in one of the renovated rooms. They have completely gutted the rooms with new drywall, carpet, furniture, bathrooms, and granite countertops. It's a much better looking room than it was in the past. And the desk staff, Frances and Mr. Patel, were friendly and pleasant.

Plusses: Big comfy bed, fridge and microwave, big flat panel TV with Dish Network, reliable Internet
Minuses: No alarm clock (though there is a clock on the microwave), small square pillows for the bed

The continental breakfast was what you would expect at a Quality Inn: cereal, bread, fruit, juice, and a waffle maker. The coffee was awful, though. Strangely, the only cup I had that tasted any good ended up having coffee grounds all over the bottom of the cup when I was done.

The area is still very loud. There's a bar across the street and from about 1:30 to 2:15 am the loud and very drunk patrons make as much noise as possible leaving and walking through the Quality Inn parking lot. In a response to my review in 2009 the management said they were working on it but it's still happening. The noise is the main downside of the hotel but its proximity to the convention center (1.5 blocks) worth the trade off.

I typically come to Sacramento for a convention every other year. Last year I stayed at the dreadful Econolodge up the street. If you ever have to choose between the two, there's no comparison. Stay at the Quality Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown

Address: 818 15th Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Downtown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown Hotel Sacramento
Quality Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.