We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better then Last Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Point West Way, Sacramento, CA 95815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Better then Last Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times in the past years for work, and this time my room was better then normal. Room was spotless on arrival including bathroom. Very quiet room as well, even though the hotel was fairly booked. Was dissapointed with the service in the restaurant, however the food was good. Lots of military people staying at the hotel, and they have some sort of special menu and access to the salad/soup/dessert area. I requested just one trip through the salad bar, and was told a huge price. I asked why everyone else was going up there and he said it was because they were military and it was allowed for them. The table of cute girls next to me asked to go up there and he told them ok but not to tell anyone.... not cool. But either way the food that I did get was good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosminNicula, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Jarod M,

First of all I want to thank you for your loyalty to the Hilton Family. Please know that your feedback is very important and it will be shared with the rest of the team. I am pleased to see that you were happy with the room, but I apologize for your experience in the restaurant.. Please know that I will personally follow up with the appropriate department leaders to ensure that this will not happen in the future.

I trust that we will see you again in your next visit to Sacramento.

Sincerely,
Cosmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    226
    153
    79
    53
See reviews for
115
73
51
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The first night our tailgate was stolen from the parking lot-keep in mind when you stay at this hotel you have to pay to park in their parking lot. When my husband became aware our tailgate (and 2 others) was missing he went to speak to the manager who told him that it was not Doubletree's problem- hmmmm. That afternoon I spoke to a different manager who let me know that he would fill out an incident report and send it to his insurance company-OK now I have filled out a police report, incident report, and have just heard from Hiltons insurance that we cannot prove it happened there-(although the adjuster told my husband there was another claim for another tailgate stolen from that night) and we are on our own- So we paid to park in a lot that was supposed to be secure and incurred a cost of a tailgate for a 2009 F350 Longbed pickup-to the tune of 2000.00+

Stay at your own risk-I will never stay here again. And I will make sure everybody I know does not as well.

Thanks for nothing DOUBLETREE-

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosminNicula, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Kari C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit at the DoubleTree Hotel. I would like to thank you for the feedback and offer my sincere apologies to you for the inconveniences you encountered while a guest in our Hotel. Please know that I have personally spoken with the appropriate department leaders so that we can take the necessary corrective action and prevent any of such occasions in the future.

As a guest of Hilton Hotels, I am sure you have come to expect the very finest from us, as well you should. It is my endeavor to rebuild the trust and I am hoping that in your future visits to Sacramento, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel will remain the hotel of your choice.


Best regards,

Cosmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Arrived on a Monday at 3:20pm and was told my room was not ready. I had a conference to attend at 4:30 and wanted to shower and change. I received the standard line from the front desk that check in begins at 4pm. Are you kidding? Room was finally available at 4:05 pm. Not a good start. The hotel is very dated and tired. Layout is poor, like a 60's style motel that was pieced together with long hallways connecting each building. Room was OK but the noise coming from the bathroom vent was so loud that I had to sleep with the door to the bathroom shut. Staff was friendly and apologetic but I would choose to go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosminNicula, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Loco Travelers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit at the DoubleTree Hotel. Without constructive feedback from a guest such as yourself, it is not possible for our company to measure the quality of service provided.

I would like to thank you for the feedback and offer my sincere apologies to you for the inconveniences you encountered while a guest in our Hotel. Please know that your feedback will be used to improve and learn.

As a guest of Hilton Hotels, I am sure you have come to expect the very finest from us, as well you should. It is my endeavor to rebuild the trust and I am hoping that in your future visits to Sacramento, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel will remain the hotel of your choice.


Best regards,

Cosmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am regular DoubleTree user, but found this hotel to be less than what I expected.
It felt old and tired. Of course the bed linens are up to DoubleTree standards, but the room felt empty and not fancy at all. The room was spacious, with sparse furniture and maybe that is why I say it felt empty. The fitness center...is like "what?? this is it" ?? Did not use any other amenities.
And what's up with charging for overnight parking? The smaller DoubleTree's I believe ..do not do that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosminNicula, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Hotel California Days,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit at the DoubleTree Hotel. Without constructive feedback from a guest such as yourself, it is not possible for our company to measure the quality of service provided.

I would like to thank you for the feedback and offer my sincere apologies to you for the inconveniences you encountered while a guest in our Hotel. Please know that I have personally spoken with the appropriate department leaders so that we can take the necessary corrective action and prevent any of such occasions in the future.

As a guest of Hilton Hotels, I am sure you have come to expect the very finest from us, as well you should. It is my endeavor to rebuild the trust and I am hoping that in your future visits to Sacramento, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel will remain the hotel of your choice.


Best regards,

Cosmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a weekend conference. Sleeping accommodations were above average but conference rooms are scattered throughout the complex so somewhat difficult to find where one needed to be for breakout meetings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosminNicula, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear DLR9187,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent conference. I am happy to see that overall you had a great experience despite the fact that the conference rooms were far apart. I trust that this will not prevent you from returning in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Cosmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice folks at the front desk. Restaurant service spotty. Room was clean, but the cream for coffee was sour. Easy to use Hilton honors points for free and discounted rooms, but they did not provide the wine that I had pre-ordered upon arrival. Was too busy to call and complain about it and too busy to really have time to enjoy it, but never the less, it was not there. Parking was expensive @$8 a day for self-park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosminNicula, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Coomsey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit at the DoubleTree Hotel. Without constructive feedback from a guest such as yourself, it is not possible for our company to measure the quality of service provided.

I would like to thank you for the feedback and offer my sincere apologies to you for the inconveniences you encountered while a guest in our Hotel. Please know that your feedback will be used to improve and learn. I also want to thank you for recognizing the team members at the front desk that took care of you.

As a guest of HHonors guest, I am sure you have come to expect the very finest from us, as well you should. It is my endeavor to rebuild the trust and I am hoping that in your future visits to Sacramento, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel will remain the hotel of your choice.


Best regards,

Cosmin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Nelson, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The grounds are well maintained, the buildings look nice from the outside, and there is plenty of close in parking (At eight bucks a night.) Inside the Sutter Wing, where our room was, it is a somewhat different story. The exterior door was unlocked at all times. Anyone could wander in off the street and enter the building. The lack of security surprised me. Walking down the hallway, it was plain to see that the carpets hadn't been cleaned in awhile. Not filthy, but the dirt build up along the edges and in the corners was evident.

Inside the room everything looked nice at first glance, but then little things caught our attention. A paper clip on the floor told me that the vacuuming hadn't been very well done. The over spray from hairspray told me the mirror hadn't been cleaned. Not big things, but indicators that the room wasn't all that clean. Also, my wife discovered there was only one wash cloth and one hand towel in the room. When I called the front desk, the reply I got was "What do you want?" Wash clothes and towels were delivered within the hour.

The biggest problem we had was the lack of hot water. My wife had a business meeting early the next morning and awoke to lukewarm water in the shower. When I attempted to shower a couple of hours later, the water was to cold to use. Later on in the afternoon there was plenty of hot water, so I assumed the problem was fixed. Not! The following morning the water was too cold to shower in. When we reported it to the desk, the reply was we should have told them earlier!

The common areas of the hotel are very nice. Just an all around pleasant setting. Drinks at the bar were pricey, but it is a nice atmosphere. We had two meals at the restaurant and enjoyed both. The waiter, Bernie, was very pleasant and fun. We requested to be seated in his area the second night.

Overall, I can't give this hotel any more then average. Not up to Hilton standards and not worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize if we were unable to live to your expectations. We are looking into the issues you mentioned with cleanliness, and can assure you this is not the norm. We hope that you give us another chance, and join us again soon. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento

Address: 2001 Point West Way, Sacramento, CA 95815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento is a full-service, environmentally friendly hotel in Sacramento, centrally located to all of the exciting attractions and happenings in Sacramento. Located in the Point West Marketplace, our Sacramento hotel is within walking distance to the region's largest shopping mall, Arden Fair, featuring over 165 specialty stores. The Sacramento area welcomes business and leisure travelers with award-winning shopping, dining, and entertainment options. Conveniently located off Business 80, our hotel is just 5 minutes from downtown Sacramento, the State Capitol, Sacramento Convention Center, and Old Sacramento. We are 12 miles from the Sacramento International Airport (SMF), and provide convenient, ample parking. Boasting some of the largest guest rooms in Sacramento, each of our 448 non-smoking beautifully appointed rooms offers brand new Sweet Dream beds, an ergonomically designed workstation equipped with a two line phone and voicemail, and Internet service. Amenities include a hairdryer, luxurious bath amenities, an iron and ironing board, an alarm clock with MP3 connection, a flat screen TV with a variety of cable channels, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Doubletree
Doubletree Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.