We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff; decent room; not good sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites - Downtown

Comfort Suites - Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites - Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Suites - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Jibboom St., Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Moraga, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great staff; decent room; not good sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed here because it was the nicest place I could get cheap for one night in the busy season, and I needed to be at a conference early in the morning. The hotel itself was fair. Nothing knocked my socks off...except the friendliness of the staff. My one big complaint was that the sheets on my bed were so old that there were holes in them. Also the mattress was very hard. The bathroom was pretty good and the TV was great. Keep in mind also that you cannot walk to downtown from this place and it's not in the best area to be walking around after dark...although it was only a 10 minute drive down the freeway to get where I was going. If I could get the same price I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownComfort, Manager at Comfort Suites - Downtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Our hotel is working towards a full renovation at the end of the year. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ash
Front Desk Mangaer
Comfort Suites
916-446-9400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
6
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I'm a Diamond level traveler with Choice. Older property that needs renovation. Very clean. Just old. Nice people at front desk. Good breakfast.
Chips in bath tub. Towels as old and used as the hotel. Rough as a cob! Not what I expect from a comfort suites. What I expect at a Rodeway Inn.
I'm in breakfast area now writing this and wallpaper is peeling on walls. Good place if you are in a hurry for quick nights sleep.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Suites - Downtown, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback. We are on track and schedule for a complete renovation this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Polite staff, new fixtures, nice breakfast, great room!

The staff was very nice from my arrival, my room was very nice and big. They should have a tv channel guide of perhaps I didn't find it. Clean and new! The breakfast room very new and clean well. The computer easily accesible with a printer. Great value for your money!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Suites - Downtown, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our hotel stay was good. We got in rather late, but found parking easily. When we walked in, we were greeted with kindness.The young man gave us our room key and we went to our room. There were plenty of towels, a clean bathroom, and a comfortable bed. The pillows were also very inviting and we melted right into them. In the morning, we went downstairs for breakfast and were VERY pleasantly surprised to see blueberry waffle mix. A Choice hotel staple is usually the waffle maker with plain waffle mix, but never have I seen before (or after) the blueberry waffle mix. It was so tasty! The hotel is just a ten minute drive to/from downtown Sacramento. Check-out was easy and we left happy.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Suites - Downtown, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I have never in my life stayed at such a terrible place! I have never encountered such a rude and unacommadating staff. I can't believe a company would train their staff to be so rude! Each employee i came in contact with through out my two day stay seemed to get worse and worse! It seemed their main priority was to stress what you can not do rather than the lack of service they do provide! I can not stress enough how terrible this place is!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Suites - Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Sorry our hotel staff did not meet your expectations but if you read most reviews compliment our staff and service. Whilst you were upset you could not have a rollaway in your room knowing we dont have rollaway beds as we are a studio suite hotel with sleepers in the room you just couldnt accept the fact and turned on our staff. You rented a room with no sleeper for the price you paid for a reason. Sorry nevertheless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This room cost us 160.00 for an "upgraded" suite with two King beds. It took 20 minutes for the front desk clerk to serve our check in!! The room was poor quality all around!! It desperately needs remodeled!! We asked the clerk for some tissue and coffee during evening. The clerk would not deliver the needed items, we had to come down and get the supplies! We told the clerk at check out that this room should not be charged over 75.00. We will NOT stay at this hotel again! You are better off with HILTON and pay the price that Comfort Suite is charging.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownComfort, Manager at Comfort Suites - Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are so sorry the two room suite you rented did not meet your expectation. The price for a two room suite with two king beds including all your ammenities and a free breakfast and parking in downtown Sacramento adjacent to the two rivers at the price you paid we believe was very fair and competitive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our room was clean, comfortable and the lights were bright, very welcoming. Plenty of mirrors, lots of open tabletops/desktops to open up all suitcases without resorting to the floor.

Ashwin made our check-in easy and he was very friendly.

Yes, the first floor does smell a bit musty, but we were on the third floor and didn't notice any orders up there, just clean air.

Parking lot is a bit sketchy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownComfort, Manager at Comfort Suites - Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thankyou so much for taking the time to compliment our facilities. We look forward to servicing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites - Downtown

Address: 226 Jibboom St., Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Sacramento
Sacramento Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.