We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites - Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Suites - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   226 Jibboom St., Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #49 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights on business and found it to be an average hotel, nothing great and nothing terrible. Location is good with easy access to I-5 and the downtown area. They were not to busy so it was quiet and rarely saw other guests, even at breakfast. Hotel is looking a lttle dated in the rooms and the a/c was a little noisy. Bed was comfortable and clean. Room was kept clean, and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was average, it fits the need for a quick meal in the morning. I would stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Suites - Downtown, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your comments and are glad that you had a great stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
7
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NEBRASKA
Level Contributor
282 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Location is good. Close to Old Sacramento and convenient to downtown.
Beds are a bit small. Rooms only have doubles and the sofabed is only a twin.
Hotel needs a little attention. A/C was very noisy, we always had to fiddle with the toilet to make it quit running, water pressure was low, hot tub was cold.
Will do for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Suites - Downtown, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We really appreciate your feedback and rest assured that we made a point to revisit each room and check and fix the problems you identified. Once again thank you for bringing this up to our attention. We hope to make your and other guests stay 100% trouble free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

stayed for a wedding for family, rooms were spacious, housekeeping cleaned well, the blueberry waffles were new to me and i thought they were tasty. price was not too bad, overall the hotel is newer and perfect for staying over.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Suites - Downtown, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are glad that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. We further wish to thank you for taking the time to give us such positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

After reading some of the reviews I was a bit skeptical of what we would find, but since they are one of the few hotels that offer two beds plus a sofa bed, I went ahead and booked one night at a decent price. The parking lot is tight and the sofa bed like a hammock but those would be my only complaints. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable, quiet, and everything worked fine. The sofa was nice for the kids to sit on instead of just beds. The clerks were polite and helpful. Breakfast included eggs, bacon, waffles plus the other standards and had an attendent. The breakfast room has six tables so worked fine for a not so full hotel but could be a problem at a busy time. We didn't see a single homeless person and the other hotels nearby looked well kept. I would stay here on an extended trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Suites - Downtown, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We really appreciate you staying with us. We know you have a choice and were glad we could take care of your hospitality needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent a Friday night here in April 2012. The person who checked us in (I think his name was Aswhin) was wonderful and provided good advice for our evening walk/morning run. We asked for a two queen top floor room. They only had one King with a pull out sofa bed. The sofa bed was uncomfortable, which is the reason for the 4/5 rating. But it was on the top floor and was very clean and suitable. It was very quiet, even tho it's right next to I-5, we had a great view over the river. Breakfast was about average for this type of hotel. The river trail is right next to the hotel and was very convenient for our visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor on the river site of the hotel. You'll get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Suites - Downtown, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thankyou for your kind 4 star review. I just hope sofa sleepers could be more comfortable and when we do refresh our furniture, we will keep this in mind. I was happy to learn that Ashwin was able to help you during your stay. We do pride ourselves with a great location adjacent to both the Sacramento and American Rivers and the River walkway to Old Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

First of all, the rooms are pretty decent even though the hotel is located in a rather sketchy part of Sacramento. They also share a really busy parking lot with an Arco gas station, complete with more than a few homeless people wandering about.

What kills this place and makes you never want to stay here again? Look no further than the Owner/GM, Sharad. Initially you feel he's really concerned about your stay, but in reality he's all about monitoring his guests to a degree I've never experienced at any hotel before. Cameras everywhere, questions about what you're doing, where you're going, what you do for a living and how much breakfast you are eating, etc. It was very invasive, not a fan of being so heavily monitored while staying at a hotel.

The really odd occurrence was this... Needed to stay north of the city toward Citrus Heights for a few days and mentioned this to someone at the front desk. Sharad suggested that I stay @ Comfort Suites - Roseville. "Do you know the people there" I asked. "No... but I can call for you. It's a really nice place". Then I ask again. "Is that also your property". Again he responds... "No, but I hear it's nice". During this entire weirdness I felt something was up so I contacted the Comfort Suites - Roseville an hour later and the guy at the front desk tells me the property is owned by Sharad, who also owns the Comfort Suites - Downtown. Now why all this silliness? Why misrepresent yourself to a customer who has given you some business when both your hotels were so empty?

The only reason I didn't rate this hotel a single star is the bed was pretty comfortable and Antoinette and Ashland, both front desk clerks, were awesome. However... have ZERO tolerance for shenanigans and "simulated hospitality" by this Owner / GM.

At first, I wondered why this property was rated so low on Tripadvisor. They are # 47 in the city. Apparently, I found out why.

NOT recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bardoli, Manager at Comfort Suites - Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your recent stay. We are trained to interact with guest and asking what brings you to town or why is part of a unique welcome gesture showing geniuine concern. Your comments clearly displays who was more invasive. To clear any misconception, I am the gm and not the owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed here with my children in early March of 2012. Worst hotel experience Ive had. Rooms are drab and dingy. Dirty bedspreads, spots everywhere. The shower would not drain. The toilet ran most of the night. Staff unfriendly and unhelpful. The most horrible part of my experience is that one of the employees stole my camera. When I asked if someone could check the monitor to see who took the camera, I was told that the cameras did not record the lobby area. There are cameras in all four corners of the lobby. When I pointed this out, the employee became fidgety and uncomfortable. I suspected she was being dishonest and knew exactly what happened to the camera. Upon trying to resolve this with the manager/or owner, he was no help at all. For a bit more than $100/per night, you can find a decent place to stay in the area with clean bedding, proper functioning plumbing, and honest helpful people. I would like to point out something a bit more positive: the kids loved that I could make them a waffle. This is the only positive comment that I can think of. Other than that, choose another hotel. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DowntownComfort, General Manager at Comfort Suites - Downtown, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
I personally dealt with this issue as GM. Again, I did review the CCTV and no camera was left behind. We do get a lot of stuff left behind and we store these items for 90 days. I am deeply sorry you lost your camera and having taken the time to review our recorded tapes can tell you there was no camera at the place you said for anyone to have stolen it. It is always easy to place blame on others but as I suggested then, look for it elsewhere for we for sure do not have it. Your group as frequented us every year for the last 8 years and we have never had this problem before. Either way, I am sorry you lost your camera and really hope you find it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
0.2 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#20 of 83 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
Days Inn Sacramento Downtown
#40 of 83 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites - Downtown

Address: 226 Jibboom St., Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Sacramento
Sacramento Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.