We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, Not in the best neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   15 Massie Court, Sacramento, CA 95823-4301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“OK, Not in the best neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nice hotel , very friendly front desk people. Breakfast is very very limited but enough to start you on your day. This hotel is right off the highway but there is nothing around it and the neighborhood doesnt seem to be the best. Would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    43
    24
    17
    5
See reviews for
39
31
14
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We needed a place to stay while visiting my Dad in Sacramento. We wanted a short commute to Dad's house and a price that wouldn't break us. After researching on TripAdvisor, I chose the John Jay because it was only a couple miles from Dad's and the price and reviews were good. We arrived around 11:30pm and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was average, but had all of the amenities we require...TV, microwave, fridge, kingsized bed and large bathroom. The room was clean and neat and even though we were in the front of the building, we never heard a lot of noise. The in-room coffee was probably the worst I've ever tasted, and the free breakfast was a very simple selection of fruit, yogurt, muffins, bagels, etc. The coffee was better than what was in the room, but not by much. The price was so good, though, that it was definitely a good value and worth the price we paid. We will probably stay here again the next time we visit my dad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel was located next to the freeway and to a Costco with gas.They have a continental breakfast. The surrounding area is not very good.The police were parked outside the dollar store.The Denny's was less than appealing.Many kids on bikes and a woman running across the street in front of traffic in her slippers.

Room Tip: they do have an elevator if you have a lot of things like us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

What a great find! A friend recommended this small, friendly place to stay while we were in town & we were so pleased. The staff is professional but also more small town-like friendly. The rooms are clean & have everything you need to make your stay more convenient (micro, frige, coffee maker, iron, hair dryer...). The beds are very comfortable. Also, the pool was nice & clean. We'll definitely be staying here every time we come back to Sacramento!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We got in late, left early. Efficient and friendly help at check in, clean rooms, good breakfast the next day. Very good price. Will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I chose the Best Western John Jay based on TripAdvisor reviews and price. Room was large and well-appointed with a comfy king size bed, good A/C, fridge & microwave. Since there is free breakfast, we didn't really need the microwave. Location is in a commercial area, so not the best for taking a walk or run, but I found a trailer park nearby that wasn't fenced in, and that made a good place to walk. Easy to find and a quick drive to Old Sacramento.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I wasn't so sure about staying at this hotel just based on the pictures posted on trip advisor, but I decided to give it a shot anyway since a friend recommended it. Let me say, that I was very pleasantly surprised when I saw the hotel in person. I arrived later in the afternoon and was exhausted from my travels. Upon checking in, the staff that greeted me were so friendly and upbeat. It was a breath of fresh air after traveling all day. The check in was speedy and very painless. Arriving at my room, it was immaculate, a very comfortable temperature and the bed was just like home! After unpacking my bags I realized that I had forgotten toothpaste. Not wanting to drive anywhere, I called the front desk and the manager personally brought me some, and even mouthwash. SO accommodating! After a very restful nights sleep, I enjoyed the free continental breakfast and was very well satisfied. After a long day of meetings, I was so happy to return to the hotel and take a swim in the pool. My room had been cleaned to the original check in condition, and the pool was crystal clear and spotless. Not even a leaf! Overall, I am VERY satisfied with this hotel, and very pleased with the friendly staff and manager, whom is more than willing to go above and beyond. Anytime I am in town for business, I will definitely be staying here, and recommending it to fellow colleagues for future stays as well.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
9.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
9.4 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#18 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
8.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#39 of 82 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#26 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
6.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#11 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn

Address: 15 Massie Court, Sacramento, CA 95823-4301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN John Jay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.