We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value in an expensive area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book in advance and save
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
266 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Excellent Value in an expensive area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

If you want to visit Old Sacramento and the train museum then you cannot better this hotel for location or value for money. We had requested a quiet room ( we booked on-line well in advance) and although the hotel was full, we were given a room at the back of the hotel away from the road and swimming pool area and it was extremely quiet and very comfortable with all amenities incuding a fridge. The breakfast was reasonable although ( as with more expensive hotels) the breakfast area is far too small for the amount of people staying. Old Sacramento town is less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and after an extremely hot day seeing the sights the outdoor pool was a welcome bonus. We usually veer away from hotels with outdoor corridors but as the only other option was the very expensive Holiday Inn across the street we decided to take a chance....pleased we did, and would return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    239
    74
    30
    20
See reviews for
130
153
61
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting the tourist sights of Sacramento. Check in was fine, the room rate was reasonable and the room was a good size with a comfortable bed. The old town was a short walk though the car park opposite the hotel, and though the choice of restaurants was limited there (we had a very poor meal in the Mexican restaurant on the first old street) we did have a good night in the bar there. The facilities were good, the only problem were other guests sat around the pool area under our room who were talking very loudly and at great length early the next morning-a room on the opposite side may have been better, though is nearer the road.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

The room was good, with comfortable bed and furniture. free breakfast including make your own waffles was good. great location to old Sacramento and train museam. The only 2 negatives are that you are close to the train station, so the train whistles might bother light sleepers...I slept right through it. The other negative is not the hotels fault, but its location in the center of town means lots of traffic congestion during rush hour due to all the major interstates in close proximity. Can't beat the price and location for convenience though.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Me and my husband spent two nights in Sacramento on our way to Santa Rosa. The location is perfect as it is very close to the historic old town and only a 10-15 min walk to the state capitol.

The outside of the building may not be perfect but it really was not as bad as some people have suggested. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and it had additional facilities such as a microwave and fridge in the rooms. It also had a pool and gym room.

The staff were very polite and welcoming offering us tips and advice on where to go for dinner. There was also internet available (though it was a little slow, it's still useful) The complimentary breakfast was diverse and well stocked with cereals, freshly made waffles, juices, coffee, fruit and toast. Which got us ready for a day of exploring.

The rates are very reasonable and considering you could end up spending double your money at another large chain hotel down the road just to get the same service...this was a bargain.

Fair enough, the rooms are not completely sound-proof, that did not seem to bother us as much as other people....if it is that much of a problem i say 'suck it up' and either go waste your money on an overblown big chain hotel or buy some earplugs and get on with it!!

I would definitely stay here again...no quibbles!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Mtns, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Fortunately our room was on the inside -- not facing the streets -- which made it quieter than other reviewer's experiences. Short walk to Old Town and the Amtrak station.
Adequate for our needs -- but needs to be refurbished -- and so does the Denny's which is located next door

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

This place is in a great location. We walked to Old Town without any problems and is also across the street from Amtrak.

The hotel is older but has been partially upgraded. Check-in was quick and easy but we did not receive cookies as other reviewers have mentioned. The room was decent. We had one queen bed with a sitting area. The bed was probably the best feature of the room. It was a very nice mattress. In fact it was almost too high as we laughed some of our other family members would need a ladder to reach it. But it kept us very comfy all night long. Great decision and two thumbs up to the person who decided on those during the upgrade.

One major downfall for us was the nighttime noise. Because of the location near so many busy streets and the very thin (glass) walls facing the street we heard almost everything going on outside our entire stay.

Breakfast was nothing fancy. They had a very small limited selection of bread and pastries, cereal, juice and a waffle station. When we arrived around 830a there was only wheat bread left and two cinnamon rolls. We asked if they had any other bread in back and were told no. Once the wheat bread ran out, they brought a whole new plate of bread. Why we were told that was the only bread puzzles me. It was obvious there was more ready.

We would recommend this hotel mainly for its location to the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We chose this hotel because most of the reviews made the place seem okay. They were wrong. The check in process was okay. The staff was nice. We had hopes....Then we went to the room.

We first noticed that the whole outside wall was windows. Yep, not noise proof at all. If a person walks by you can hear everything. And, we had a lot of people walk by. Not to mention, the dog next door, the amtrack train across the street, the convergence of major highways and motorcylces leaving Old Town at 2 in the morning.

The beds were comfy and the pillows were great. The bathroom was disgusting. The tub floor was really dirty and the shower did not drain well...yuck. I didn't even wash my daughter as I didn't want her to sit on the floor of the tub.

They have free internet via ethernet. So bring a cord. The lady at the desk was nice enough to provide us one for free as we were not prepared for a non wireless place.

The *free* breakfast was not worth it. They had bread, yogurt, grapefruit, bananas, waffles, raisin bran and corn flakes. Not really sure what they consider a good breakfast but that wasn't it. Not to mention it was not ready at 7, so we had to sit around and wait for it.

Overall, go find someplace else. We did not sleep, and neither did another family we met at breakfast. One positve was that it was right down the street from Old Town and the mall. We walked to both places.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, MANAGER at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
I'm sorry your stay was unpleasant. We do our best to keep our rooms clean and comfortable. I will check all your comments.
Please accept my apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#18 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#15 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
4.6 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#11 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#21 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#24 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. We do not accept pets. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.