We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Old Town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town

Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
San Diego
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Location for Old Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

This is a budget hotel in a decent location - especially for those checking out Old Town Sacramento. Based on the reviews we read, the hotel was what we expected - an average decent place for a one night stay. We're fairly light sleepers and didn't have any problems with the noise, but as recommended, we asked for the quietest room possible (3rd floor facing another building). The breakfast was mediocre at best - but for $89 a night, we didn't expect much. They had waffles, bagels, bananas, and some cereals along with coffee and tea. The free parking was a bonus, and the staff were helpful (not overly so, but certainly not rude or stand-offish).

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, general manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, April 29, 2009
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We welcome all comments about your stay .
I hope if you are in Sacramento you will visit us again.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    132
    49
    20
    10
See reviews for
75
95
35
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

This hotel is definitely my home base when I'm in Sacramento (once or twice a month). They do just about everything right.

The staff are fantastic. They are polite and attentive. The check-in desk is efficient. Any time I've brought up an issue, they have been quick to resolve it.

The rooms are clean and relatively new (compared to similar Sacramento properties which I admit is not saying much). Rooms have a fridge and microwave. There's a nice long counter in the bathroom area. In-room internet is wired and very fast.

Only downside, and I admit it can be a liability especially for sensitive people like me, is that the area is loud. I-5 is a stone's throw away, and the Amtrak station is across the street. However, I find with some white noise (the fan) I manage fine.

Really this place is a very good value. On my personal scale, the quality of the service and the rooms is quite a find for this area.

  • Liked — The staff are terrific.
  • Disliked — The noise in the neighborhood.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
1 review
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

My sister and Aunt and I stayed here for 4 nights, the location was great we were across the street from Old Sacramento and walking distance to alot of places. The room was nice and the beds were comfy, and the continental breakfast was wonderful, with hot and cold cereral, waffles and pretty good coffee actually. I would recommend this for anyone wanting a great value and nice location. The only complaint I had was there was 3 of us ladies and they really needed to stock the washclothes and towels a little more liberal, but they were very accommodating when asked. It had a fitness room eventho we never had time to use it but the little courtyard was a nice place to sit and have breakfast.

  • Liked — comfort, and location, wonderful continential breakfast
  • Disliked — not enough towels
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, general manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, November 18, 2008
Thank You for your review of your stay at Vagabond Old Town. We always welcome any comments from our guests to help improve their stay with us. We hope you will come stay with us again.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, Ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

There are some very good things about this property :
The location is very close to Old Town & the Capitol.
The staff was very nice.
The rooms are not bad.
The free breakfast is not great, but it's ok.
The pool is nice.
The pricing is fair.

There are some other things you should know :
If you are security concious this is NOT the place for you- the property is wide open on all four sides. Some interesting folks wander through at night.
It is next door to a Denny's that is the first Denny's I have seen with a security guard.
It is indeed quite noisy at night- I turned the fan on for white noise & that made it workable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, general manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, November 18, 2008
Thank You for your comments of our hotel.
We do hope you will try us again. .
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

I experienced significant noise issues similar to those noted in other reviews. One night I called the front desk because of a party in rooms below mine that had also spilled into the parking lot; the front desk said they would send over Security and after about 15 minutes the noise died down. However, two hours later (1:45 a.m.) the party had spread and it was incredibly noisy - I called again and this time there was no change after my call. My room was right around the corner from the lobby so the front desk had to be aware of the situation and they ended up being neither proactive nor reactive. Despite other things to commend this property, I cannot advise anyone staying there due to the noise issues.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, general manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, October 22, 2008
I'm sorry your stay was distrubed by the noise
outside. We did have a couple of groups staying with us. I most definitely will speak with my staff to make sure this does not happen again. And thank you for your comments.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, CA
1 review
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

We just got back from an extended Labor Day weekend stay at this hotel. We booked it because of its location (walking distance to Old Sacramento), but because of the price we were only expecting "okay."
This place is amazing! The rooms were well-appointed and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud it was so comfy! The extra bonus of having a fridge and a microwave in the room helped defray our meal costs as did the excellent continental breakfast the hotel provides. If you stay here, try one of their make-your-own waffles.
The staff was friendly and always helpful any time we went into the office to ask questions, get directions, etc. We were very impressed overall with our stay here and recommend any one interested in staying in Sacramento, and want to do it for a lot less than the Holiday Inn across the street, to stay here.
And when you are in the office checking in, be sure to pick up some cookies. They are in a green basket on the counter.

  • Liked — It had the most comfortable bed EVER!
  • Disliked — Train noise at night; it's across the street from the train station.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

Clean facility with superb location. There is nothing fancy but nothing wrong either. If you are here for a day or two only then this is a good place to stay.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, general manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, August 19, 2008
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your postive comments and hope to see you again.
Mangement and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town

Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.