We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Lincoln, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A convenient place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Vagabond Inn is an older hotel which has been upgraded and is fairly modern but still shows its' age at times. My room was comfortable and had a referigerator and microwave. The in-room WI-Fi was fast and worked well. The Vagabond is directly across the street from the Amtrak station and it's a short walk to Old Sacramento. Just walk across the street and through the parking garage and you're there. There is a 24 hour coffee shop next door which shares an entrance driveway with the hotel. The off-street parking is fairly secure since anyone entering by car or on foot must pass by the front desk. I never observed any of the "riff-raff" in the parking lot mentioned by another reviewer.

Other reviewers have mentioned the noise from the freeway. The hotel is next to Interstate 5 and the street feeding the on-ramps runs past the north side of the hotel. My room was on the north side and I could hear the traffic at times, but later at night, I only heard an occasional truck rumbling by, and it didn't disturb my sleep. However, if you are a light sleeper, the rooms on the south side might be a bit quieter.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room on the second floor facing south, the rooms around you may dampen some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    162
    57
    23
    12
See reviews for
88
110
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, CA
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We selected this hotel primarily because of its proximity to Old Sacramento. You can literally walk out the front door, cross 3rd Street, walk through a parking structure, and be in Old Sac. It's also a very short drive to Sutter Fort or the state capitol building.

Pros:
- Location, location, location
- The staff is very friendly
- WiFi is included
- A hot breakfast is included
- Cookies at check-in
- Parking is included

Cons:
- Freeway noise from I-5 (you hear it throughout the night)
- Annoying dripping sound at night if condensation forms on the window due to the AC (wall unit type, not central)
- Low water pressure
- It's tough to get the breakfast on a Sunday morning unless you get to the dining area early. If it's past 9am, you're going to wait for a while to get a table and the chafing dishes might be empty. There was also ham in the eggs even though they also offered sausage. Tough on vegetarians or people that don't eat pork.

Don't get me wrong. It's well worth staying here, but make sure you take ear plugs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I chose this hotel based on reviews here and will try and be fair in my review. The price was good, breakfast was good and the bed and pillows very comfortable. The bad: the rooms open to the outside and you are next to multiple freeway overpasses. We had drunk people coming up and down the stairs. A drunk man kicked in the window at 2 am to the office. People were yelling from the underpass to each other and we could hear motorcycles all night getting on the freeway. The other thing is that we booked the rooms together through Booking.com but they put us at opposite parts of the property - and were totally booked, so couldn't move us closer together. Not sure how that happened, but would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms as far away from the freeway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is convenient to downtown and old Sacramento which are within easy walking distance. We walked from there to the state capitol which was an easy walk but I would not advise it due to having to walk through areas with idle people. The walk to old town is easy too. The hotel is difficult to drive up to if approaching from the south because the entrance is very near the intersection and the other lanes of traffic do not allow for a quick turn in so plan on driving around the block. The rooms were reasonably well furnished but the maid needs to scrub the tub a little or soak it with some bleach and the toilet lid kept falling down. We did not have highway noise in our end of the hotel but there was a band and fireworks that we heard later were at the nearby ballpark. The AC was good and not as noisy as many others we encountered on this trip. Unfortunately smokers kept congregating on the stairwell above the pool. It appeared to have a nice pool area for kids and parents and the weight room looked good but we did not have time to try it out. The breakfast was good. Overall the price was low and considering that this was a good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel was convenient to old Sacramento and was accommodating and welcoming- The rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was terrific. The staff was friendly and we felt that our needs were taken care of. The free parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of the Vagabond Inn Executive on Tripadvisor. I enjoyed sharing your feedback with the team. We hope to see you on your next visit to Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, quiet room, a bit on the small side, but perfectly adequate. Bed was comfortable. Without the air conditioning unit, the room would have been pretty stuffy, it was reasonably quiet, but did wake us up on and off through out the night. Staff was friendly and helpful. Perfect location for a visit to Old Town and Raley Field both within easy walking distance. Route was well lit and we felt safe walking it at night after a game. We didn't eat breakfast there. Summary: Good value, very good choice especially if you don't need fancy to be satisfied.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate the kind words and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you are most concerned about how "new" everything is, then a hotel without flat screen TVs probably doesn't suit your needs. If you care about a clean room, friendly staff (particularly Jana the manager and the lady who takes care of the breakfast - she is amazing!) and a great Old Town location at a great price, then this place makes the cut! There were a lot of families (pool!) but it was quiet. We would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of the Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and our friendly service! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#20 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.