We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean & convenient...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice, clean & convenient...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I have nothing negative to say. Needed a clean room at the right price as close to Old Town Sac as possible. This place fit the bill. Breakfast was average, and that is good.

You get 20% off your meal at Perko's Cafe next door. Food was ok, service very nice. Good value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UncleRMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband rode the train up there from the central valley. The hotel was right across the street from the train station, and right across from Old Town Sacramento. The staff was awesome. So easy to check in and the next day when we checked out they let us leave our luggage behind the counter till our train left later that day. It was a very nice relaxing trip.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tress D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

It was very average, close to airport an citys attractions not a vacation stay but good if you need to be in the area or on a business trip.Their breakfast was amazing, a lot of choices and cooked foods, best hotel breakfast ive ever had. The heat in the room was great!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Traveler,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our complimentary hot buffett breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and we'll look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Sacramento.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno NV
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed one night at the Vagabond Executive, as part of a weekend trip on the Megabus. The hotel is very close to the Museums and Old Sacramento to the west, and just as close to Amtrak to the north. Everything we needed or wanted to see was within walking distance, a bonus, as we had left the car at home.
Check in was quick, in a welcoming lobby, with informative staff.
The room was clean and equipped with a hair dryer, coffee maker, fridge, TV, phone, alarm clock and microwave.
My kids made use of the outdoor pool, even with the outside temperature in the mid 40's (oh to be young), the housekeeper brought them warm towels fresh from the dryer, which was a nice touch.
The fitness room was well equipped, but a little cramped. More than 3 people in the room would be claustrophobic.
The outside patio will be a great extension to the breakfast room when its built in time for the spring weather, which brings me to the highlight of the hotel...
The free breakfast is GREAT value, fresh waffles, bread and bagels with a toaster, cereal, sausages, eggs, potatoes, fruit, yogurt, apple and orange juice and coffee. Its a great way to start the day, and end the stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baddersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Traveler,

We're happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Vagabond Inn for your getaway. We are continuously working on new ways to delight our guests and add value to your stay. We are not only extending the patio area, but it will soon open to an upgraded pool area. Thank you for sharing your kind words about our staff and our free breakfast with other travelers. We appreciate your business and whether traveling by car, Megabus or train, we look forward to seeing you back in Sacramento soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Reservation was for Wed 19th and we had a late check in and was really glad to see that they had a security guard there at the front entry as we were coming in around 11pm. The guest rep was helping another guest and her daughter at the time so we got to take a quick look around and was happy to see that there was a little business center and fliers for local activities and of course we noticed the breakfast room (score!) so our check in was fast rep was very helpful and was quick as we were ready to get to our room and sleep! (long drive) he told us exaclty where to drive and how to get to our room the quickest which was very helpful as we ran from our car to the room as it was very very cold out! Loved the location- the mall is across the street one way (totally easy walking distance) and the amtrak station is across the other way which has a starbucks store located next to it (which was very nice). Breakfast ws very nice- eggs sausage potatoes, waffles, toast , juices etc. More than we expected really so it was nice. GOtta say the gal who was working the breakfast room was very fast and efficient as I saw her cleaning and refilling (food, condiments etc) fast. Overall great stay and would love to come again and stay longer as this was more of a business trip - would love to come and stay with the family and make a weekend vacation out of it as old town is a short walk and the capitol is not to far away as well. Would definetly come back.

Room Tip: we were on the lower level in front of the pool - never heard a peep from the outside world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amber b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel staff works hard to provide the best service to all of our guests and we so appreciate getting nice feedback from our guests. We're glad the breakfast was to your liking and that we could provide service and quality that is a step up from the norm. Hope you'll be able to make that leisure trip soon!

Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Roomy, clean, well-lit and comfortable rooms are equipped with fridge, microwave, coffee maker + coffee, hairdryer, and wi-fi. Breakfast was excellent with well-made (not overcooked) sausages and scrambled eggs at 8am. 3 make-your-own waffle irons were available and there was no wait to start making my own. Bread and bagels available but no donuts, pastries, or frosted flakes (kids enjoyed the Fruit Loops). Breakfast lasts until 10am and check-out time is noon. I appreciate a hotel that actually runs on vacation time (boo to hotels that end breakfast at 9am or earlier!) Chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon were great. Front desk always friendly.

Cons: People talking as they walked past the room are clearly heard. Fortunately, not too many of them (at this time of week or year -- we stayed on 2 weekdays in early December) so was not a problem. Early one morning I was vaguely aware of a metal clanging -- garbage trucks I assume. The switch valve on our tub was stuck so my 6 year old could not take a bathe; she opted for a shower rather than have me call the front desk. Magnets on the shower curtains kept the water in the tub.

Misc: I asked for extra pillows on the reservation and they confirmed at check-in and extra pillows were on the bed -- yay! Number of bath towels were too few for 2 adults and 2 children though. Not enough electrical outlets. No room safe. I like a room safe big enough to hold an iPad. Companions had their car broken into at Sutter's Fort so leaving things in the car is not a good idea either.

We didn't use the swimming pool but it looked clean and we saw other guests using it.

Restaurant next door was very good. Attractions were walking distance (Old Sacramento, Railroad Museum) or easy driving (Sutter's Fort, Governor's Mansion, Stanford Mansion). I didn't walk into Old Sacramento because I had a 6 year old and was nervous about negotiating the busy streets.

Parking at the hotel is free but there are meters everywhere else. Bring a lot of quarters.

Room Tip: We were in a room near the swimming pool. It was deserted this time of year but I bet that would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenB_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We're always working on new ways to provide quality and value for our travelers and we appreciate getting great feedback from guests like you.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed one night and were impressed with the comfortable bed. Location was great, walking distance to Old Town Sacramento and to local Malls. Front desk was helpful and kind. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel but had coffee there. We would stay again if the need be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJNorthernCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thanks for your review. It was our pleasure to provide a comfortable night's sleep for you. I'm sorry we didn't have a chance to "wow" you with our complimentary breakfast, but visit again as soon as possible so you can try it. You'll love it.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
0.3 mi away
Delta King
Delta King
#24 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 912 reviews
4.6 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. We do not accept pets. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing