We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & Comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town

Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 84 hotels in Sacramento
Concord, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location & Comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed one night here. It was more than adequate; the room was clean & well maintained, the bed was very comfy and the employees were courteous. The location was perfectly situated walking distance to old town. I thought it might be noisy, but that was not a problem. The morning breakfast was fine, although there are many great restaurants very close by too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thanks for your review. You're exaclty right! We offer all that a traveler could need, along with comfort and great service. We're so glad we met your needs and that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you the next time you're in Sacramento.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    119
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
65
85
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I were celebrating our 44th Wedding Anniversary and chose Vagabond Inn in Sacramento for various reasons. 1. Fond memories of the 1980's when I used to teach electronics at Sacramento Army Depot and visited the Vagabond Inn. 2. Old Sphagetti factory for dinner and 3. Stroll through Old Sacramento stores.

Vagabond Inn provided us ground transportation to and from the airport, Clean and professional rooms and service and a delicious prepared breakfast which was hot and fresh.

The hotel staff, Amanda especially was very professional and passionate to make sure we had a great stay! Jose the shuttle driver made our trip a success by showing us the Capitol building all lit up when we arrived the first evening.

Thank you all so much for such a great stay. We will see you again!

Room Tip: Our room was a double queen bed on the 1st floor. There was some noise from passers by which might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We feel honored that you chose to stay with us for such a special occasion. We always try our best to maintain our service and quality and I am so glad our efforts resulted in such a positive experience for you. Thanks very much for your comments and hope to see you back for the 45th (if not before.)

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived in Sacramento on Amtrak. This hotel is right across the street from the railroad station. We also spent most of our siteseeing time in Old Sacramento - stores, train museum, and river boat tours. Old Sacramento is 2 blocks away with convenient and safe sidewalks under the highways. This is an older hotel but well located. All the rooms are accessed by exterior corridors. We spent 2 nights here. The room was adequate with a king bed, desk and a comfortable chair. The bath had the tiolet and tub in one room and the sink just off the bedroom. Great breakfast that included fresh scrambled eggs, sausage and the usual muffins, juice and coffee. They have a business center just off the lobby so we were able to print our airline boarding passes prior to leaving. Nice folks and very friendly and helpful. Everything including the mall and the state capitol are within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We pride ourselves on the terrific quality and value that we are able to offer. We hope to see you the next time you're in Sacramento.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed one night in Old Town on our aniversary long weekend. Arrived early but figured to just leave our car and walk around Old Town and the Capitol. Janet shared that our room was ready and checked us in. She also printed a map of directions for a restaurant we were thinking about.. The room was nice. A little age but there is a lot going on around the facility and it looks like it is being freshened up. Everything we needed or expected was fine.. The breakfast bar, fresh make your own waffles, sausage, scrambled eggs, fruit yogurt. juice was great..
They baked up chocolate chip cookies in the PM and they were fun.
Great bargain would definitely stay there again. Close to the capitol and freeway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thanks for letting others know what a great experience you had at our hotel. We work hard to provide an outstanding value and it's always nice to hear from another satisfied guest! We hope to see you again the next time you find yourselves in Sacramento.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We've visited Sacramento before but were not satisfied with our accommodations until we found a room at this Vagabond Inn. Not only were the rooms clean and well maintained, but they were well stocked (with a larger refrigerator that the usual mini versions, microwave, coffee machine, magnifying makeup mirror, hair dryer and iron). The location is conveniently located with ample parking; we found it easy to walk to places we wanted to visit. The Vagabond Inn also provided a hot breakfast (eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal . . .), well-equipped exercise room, and pool. The bed and linen were just fine. We felt safe and secure in the surroundings. Plus the staff was excellent - - most especially the receptionist, Janet, and the hotel manager, David Holmes. Before booking we had some questions. Their email responses were clear, concise, and prompt. The price was very reasonable, a great value. This is a pet-friendly establishment making it the ideal place where we will always stay when visiting from Reno. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We love getting this kind of review! We're happy to hear that you found our little gem of a hotel, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers, we pride ourselves on the terrific quality and value that we are able to offer.

Hope you had a safe return trip and we'll see you the next time you're in Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

As we entered the lobby to check in we smelled the cookies and knew then that our stay would be pleasant. The staff was friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The exterior is a bit rough but appears to be a work in progress. The contiental breakfast was very good and well stocked. The jets on the hot tub did not work and when I reported it knowone seemed to care. The pool and hot tub were open for use and should have been cleaned and functional. The location, a short walk to Old Town, is excellent. Our room faced the train station and was a little noisy but not too noticable. Try too get a room facing the pool. The price was right for what you get. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your honest review. We work hard to provide an outstanding value and it's always nice to hear from another satisfied guest! We are very proud of our deluxe breakfast, great location, and the terrific value we offer. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed it. It's always nice to get our guest's feedback because we are constantly looking for new ways to improve and meet our guests' needs. I'm sorry you had difficulty turning on the spa jets, one of our staff should have explained the activation procedure. I will talk to the them regarding this issue. As you mentioned, we are upgrading our exterior with new landscaping and an expanded patio area. I'm confident these improvements will enhance your next visit.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I thought this hotel was excellent value with its clean rooms, comfortable furnishing and friendly, helpful staff. (Who would have known that you could buy beer in the "Slice of Sacramento" in the "Old" town?). The $32 taxi fare from the airport was a bit less than I expected, although I was expecting some "Information" for other options at the airport, which basically seemed to be closed down at 7.30pm.
Great location for me, with two history museums across the way in Old Sacramento, and a cinema and Starbucks across the other way in the Downtown Plaza shopping area. I don't normally eat breakfast - even when it's free! - but welcomed a coffee, apple juice and banana after my early morning workouts in the fitness room, until the bananas seemed to run out on the last two mornings. There was a cafe close by which I found to be friendly and good value, sampling the spinach and cheese omelette and the Californian (what else?) burger.
The small fitness room was really very good with a treadmill, recumbent cycle and stepper all in good working order. There was also a selection of free weights and I could do sit-ups by sticking my feet under the weight rack.
The free w-fi was generally fine, but could be rather erratic, with only a move to the lobby fixing the connection difficulty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We're so glad that you enjoyed your week long night stay with us. The hotel staff works hard to provide the best service to all of our guests and we so appreciate getting nice feedback from our guests. We're glad the room, gym and breakfast were to your liking; sorry, for the banana surprise - we alternate fruits between apples, bananas, and grapefruit. You are right, the internet was recently a bit erratic. Evidently, the problem was due to a modem that was on its last legs. It completely failed this week and has been replaced restoring the system to peak performance.

Again, thanks for the review and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town

Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town
Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.