We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived in Sacramento on Amtrak. This hotel is right across the street from the railroad station. We also spent most of our siteseeing time in Old Sacramento - stores, train museum, and river boat tours. Old Sacramento is 2 blocks away with convenient and safe sidewalks under the highways. This is an older hotel but well located. All the rooms are accessed by exterior corridors. We spent 2 nights here. The room was adequate with a king bed, desk and a comfortable chair. The bath had the tiolet and tub in one room and the sink just off the bedroom. Great breakfast that included fresh scrambled eggs, sausage and the usual muffins, juice and coffee. They have a business center just off the lobby so we were able to print our airline boarding passes prior to leaving. Nice folks and very friendly and helpful. Everything including the mall and the state capitol are within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We pride ourselves on the terrific quality and value that we are able to offer. We hope to see you the next time you're in Sacramento.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    161
    57
    23
    12
See reviews for
88
109
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed one night in Old Town on our aniversary long weekend. Arrived early but figured to just leave our car and walk around Old Town and the Capitol. Janet shared that our room was ready and checked us in. She also printed a map of directions for a restaurant we were thinking about.. The room was nice. A little age but there is a lot going on around the facility and it looks like it is being freshened up. Everything we needed or expected was fine.. The breakfast bar, fresh make your own waffles, sausage, scrambled eggs, fruit yogurt. juice was great..
They baked up chocolate chip cookies in the PM and they were fun.
Great bargain would definitely stay there again. Close to the capitol and freeway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thanks for letting others know what a great experience you had at our hotel. We work hard to provide an outstanding value and it's always nice to hear from another satisfied guest! We hope to see you again the next time you find yourselves in Sacramento.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We've visited Sacramento before but were not satisfied with our accommodations until we found a room at this Vagabond Inn. Not only were the rooms clean and well maintained, but they were well stocked (with a larger refrigerator that the usual mini versions, microwave, coffee machine, magnifying makeup mirror, hair dryer and iron). The location is conveniently located with ample parking; we found it easy to walk to places we wanted to visit. The Vagabond Inn also provided a hot breakfast (eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal . . .), well-equipped exercise room, and pool. The bed and linen were just fine. We felt safe and secure in the surroundings. Plus the staff was excellent - - most especially the receptionist, Janet, and the hotel manager, David Holmes. Before booking we had some questions. Their email responses were clear, concise, and prompt. The price was very reasonable, a great value. This is a pet-friendly establishment making it the ideal place where we will always stay when visiting from Reno. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We love getting this kind of review! We're happy to hear that you found our little gem of a hotel, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers, we pride ourselves on the terrific quality and value that we are able to offer.

Hope you had a safe return trip and we'll see you the next time you're in Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

As we entered the lobby to check in we smelled the cookies and knew then that our stay would be pleasant. The staff was friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The exterior is a bit rough but appears to be a work in progress. The contiental breakfast was very good and well stocked. The jets on the hot tub did not work and when I reported it knowone seemed to care. The pool and hot tub were open for use and should have been cleaned and functional. The location, a short walk to Old Town, is excellent. Our room faced the train station and was a little noisy but not too noticable. Try too get a room facing the pool. The price was right for what you get. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your honest review. We work hard to provide an outstanding value and it's always nice to hear from another satisfied guest! We are very proud of our deluxe breakfast, great location, and the terrific value we offer. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed it. It's always nice to get our guest's feedback because we are constantly looking for new ways to improve and meet our guests' needs. I'm sorry you had difficulty turning on the spa jets, one of our staff should have explained the activation procedure. I will talk to the them regarding this issue. As you mentioned, we are upgrading our exterior with new landscaping and an expanded patio area. I'm confident these improvements will enhance your next visit.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I thought this hotel was excellent value with its clean rooms, comfortable furnishing and friendly, helpful staff. (Who would have known that you could buy beer in the "Slice of Sacramento" in the "Old" town?). The $32 taxi fare from the airport was a bit less than I expected, although I was expecting some "Information" for other options at the airport, which basically seemed to be closed down at 7.30pm.
Great location for me, with two history museums across the way in Old Sacramento, and a cinema and Starbucks across the other way in the Downtown Plaza shopping area. I don't normally eat breakfast - even when it's free! - but welcomed a coffee, apple juice and banana after my early morning workouts in the fitness room, until the bananas seemed to run out on the last two mornings. There was a cafe close by which I found to be friendly and good value, sampling the spinach and cheese omelette and the Californian (what else?) burger.
The small fitness room was really very good with a treadmill, recumbent cycle and stepper all in good working order. There was also a selection of free weights and I could do sit-ups by sticking my feet under the weight rack.
The free w-fi was generally fine, but could be rather erratic, with only a move to the lobby fixing the connection difficulty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We're so glad that you enjoyed your week long night stay with us. The hotel staff works hard to provide the best service to all of our guests and we so appreciate getting nice feedback from our guests. We're glad the room, gym and breakfast were to your liking; sorry, for the banana surprise - we alternate fruits between apples, bananas, and grapefruit. You are right, the internet was recently a bit erratic. Evidently, the problem was due to a modem that was on its last legs. It completely failed this week and has been replaced restoring the system to peak performance.

Again, thanks for the review and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lae, Papua New Guinea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a wonderful night stay here in September '12 ... Janet at the front desk was very welcoming, and Hugo the handyman was execptionally patient answering my young sons endless questions!! The room was very comfortable and perfect for two adults and two children. We walked over to 'old town' for dinner and to check the place out ... location was perfect. We all enjoyed cooking our own waffles for breakfast and would stay again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We're glad to hear that you found the room to be comfortable and enjoyed the abundant breakfast. We pride ourselves on the value and amenities that we offer. Please note that we are constantly updating and improving all aspects of the hotel and we hope that the location and value might encourage you to stay again in the future. Also, bring along your son, Hugo is always looking for a good helper.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

You can't go wrong with great staff, great location and the smell of fresh Chocolate Chip Cookies. Never had a problem here and it's always our go to Hotel. Our room has always been super clean and you can't beat the free breakfast. Since we stay often we've gotten the same room on several occasions...very nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We're thrilled to receive your high praises! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for other travelers. I will take great pride in sharing your nice sentiments with the staff. We hope to see you back in Sacramento soon!

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town

Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.