We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and staff and value in Sacramento” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and staff and value in Sacramento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

The staff here are wonderfully friendly and efficient. Patty, Julio, Janet, Amanda and Doug are always helpful and accommodating at the front desk. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and well equipped. Great downtown location. It's a short walk to Old Town, downtown, the Capitol, the K Street Mall; the light rail is right across the street at the Amtrak Station. Decent continental breakfast. Good restaurants nearby-the 4th Street Grill is delightful. I don't want a lot of fluff when I travel but I value cleanliness and a cheerful staff. This Vagabond has both. I stay here at least 5 nights a month when in Sacramento on business, and I'm so glad I found this little gem. .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Its always nice to hear when our guest enjoy themselves. I appreciate you letting me know the staff is taking care of our guests needs.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    153
    54
    22
    11
See reviews for
85
105
38
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

The location of the hotel is actually quite good because it is just a few yards from the Old Town and also in walking distance to the downtown area. However, the hotel is right under the I 5 which on the other hand makes it extremely noisy. They have a nice outside breakfast area and even a little pool which I would never have used because I couldn't stand the constant sound of traffic. Even inside the room you could still make out the highways's background noise. For people who are not as susceptible to noise it might still be a good place to stay at, since the room was clean and altogether comfortable. Besides, the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Thank you for your comments. Sorry about the noise but with the freeway and train station, at times it can be noisy.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

The hotel is very well-placed with easy access to the Westfield Mall, Old Sacramento and all the museums downtown. Be careful when you approach the hotel from the freeway though as it's very easy to miss the car park entrance! The rooms are suprisingly nice for a budget chain- contemporary fabrics and furnishings and light and airy. When we checked into our room, it was disappointing to find long black hairs in a dirty tub and a lack of toiletries, but a call to reception and it was quickly remedied. We had a reasonable night's sleep, but proxemity to both the freeway and train station meant some noise was inevitable. Breakfast was basic and the breakfast room was extremely small for such a large hotel, but there was space outside by the pool. As a first experience of a Vagabond Inn, we were pleasantly surprised but it's all about the value at the end of the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We hope you will come again .

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I am sorry that I cannot provide a more favorable review but the place is in desperate need of maintenance. We arrived late on a Thursday evening and were told that a room was available, but since they were nearly booked up they were not offering the AAA rate which I thought was odd since I was not aware that the AAA rate varied with availability, but apparently it does. By the time we arrived at our 3rd floor room it was 11:45 pm and we were exhausted. When you opened the door the room absolutely wreaked of urine, and the carpeting outside of the bathroom was damp. We actually were going to just try and ignore it as rooms were limited and we just wanted to get some sleep and get out of there first thing in the morning. The smell was just too overwhelming so we complained and the front desk man seemed surprised because records indicated the room had been cleaned. Anyway, he was nice enough and offerred to move us to a room on the first floor and met us at the room with the key- good enough. Unfortunately, lights in the new room were burned out/not functioning which was frustrating because it was extremely hot and we could not see how to operate the air conditioning and in addition and kind of wierd the carpeting in front of the door for about 3 feet out was damp, not quite wet but definately damp. Anyway, we slept. In the morning we discovered that no hand soap or shampoo had been provided, there was a coffemaker but no cups and the area in front of the door was now soaking wet. Clearly there is some sort of pipe problem going on there. Eventually we got some soap and shampoo, and they did take $30 off the rate which was nice but I wish we had stayed at the Nearby Holiday Inn instead.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
I'm very sorry to hear about problems you had at our Inn. I hope you will try us again.
I was glad to hear the problem was corrected immediately.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed at the Vagabond Inn at 3rd St, just across Amtrak station as we came from San Francisco by train and would be moving on to Fremont by train. Room was clean, very spacious, 2 full beds, own T/B, comfortable and practical. walking distance to Old Town so easy to enjoy old town Western living and see workers in period costumes there. Took a horse carriage to the Capitol and downtown within a full hour. Near enough shopping area. Breakfast good enough. Internet service at lobby. Had a chance to eat at Biba Ristorante Italiano of Chef Biba in downtown Sacramento at night and a simple lunch at Denny's just beside it. Front desk staff attentive enough but not too friendly. Young working student maybe. Answered questions when asked but didn't know if there was a convenience store nearby. But we found a general store in Old Sacramento that provided our needs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msacoldtown, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Thank you for your comments. Hope you will visit again when you're in Sacramento.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

If you want to visit Old Sacramento and the train museum then you cannot better this hotel for location or value for money. We had requested a quiet room ( we booked on-line well in advance) and although the hotel was full, we were given a room at the back of the hotel away from the road and swimming pool area and it was extremely quiet and very comfortable with all amenities incuding a fridge. The breakfast was reasonable although ( as with more expensive hotels) the breakfast area is far too small for the amount of people staying. Old Sacramento town is less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel, and after an extremely hot day seeing the sights the outdoor pool was a welcome bonus. We usually veer away from hotels with outdoor corridors but as the only other option was the very expensive Holiday Inn across the street we decided to take a chance....pleased we did, and would return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting the tourist sights of Sacramento. Check in was fine, the room rate was reasonable and the room was a good size with a comfortable bed. The old town was a short walk though the car park opposite the hotel, and though the choice of restaurants was limited there (we had a very poor meal in the Mexican restaurant on the first old street) we did have a good night in the bar there. The facilities were good, the only problem were other guests sat around the pool area under our room who were talking very loudly and at great length early the next morning-a room on the opposite side may have been better, though is nearer the road.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town

Address: 909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#23 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#27 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn Executive hotel in Sacramento (Old Town) is located just off I-5 and a half block from Old Town Sacramento. From here you can walk to the Capitol, Crocker Art Museum, and Downtown Plaza. Our Old Town hotel is only minutes to the Sacramento Zoo, Fort Sutter and outdoor recreation activities in the Sacramento Area. Our hotel in Old town Sacramento serves a daily, complimentary, continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. At the end of a long day take a swim in our pool, soak in our spa, get in a work out in our fitness room or watch cable TV with HBO. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space and a large TV with remote control. We also have rooms that are handicap accessible. Please inquire with the hotel about availability. For your added convenience, the free high speed Internet is available in all rooms. There is a restaurant on the premises and a complimentary shuttle to Sacramento International Airport, train and bus stations. Great value, friendly people- it's how we do things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Sacramento
Vagabond Hotel Executive Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.