We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service is located at this Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Canterbury Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sacramento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Canterbury Inn
1900 Canterbury Road, Sacramento, CA 95815   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Sacramento
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Customer Service is located at this Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

My wife was commuting to work and had a tire almost blow out. She made it to the parking lot of the Canterbury Inn in Sacramento, Ca.
While using there outside pay phone to call me my daughter informed my wife that she had to go potty really bad.
My wife took her inside the front office and asked the man (who is the manager of the hotel):"Hi, I'm sorry but i have just broken down in your parking lot and my daughter has to go potty, can I please use your bathroom." The manager replied with a one word heartless answer "NO".
My wife obviously shocked figured he misunderstood her and asked again if her 3 yr old daughter could use the bathroom.
The manager responded with "we don't have a bathroom".
Then my wife said "What would you have her do pee in the parking lot?" he responded "Yes, that would be fine". CAN YOU BELIEVE IT!
Please tell everyone about this horrible place and never patronage it.It is a privately owned hotel. And I believe that the manager is also the owner.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    0
    6
See reviews for
1
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma city ok
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

Terrible property, we ask for a refund as soon as we saw the room it was horrible. Dirty, scary, seemed like somewhere in a horror movie. Just drive by, don't stop.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stop
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2006

If you plan on staying at this hotel you are very brave. my husband and I just moved to the Sacramento area and need a place where i could have our pets for a week until our Apartment was ready. And during this week there were alot of durgs being sold and the police would drive though at least 5 times during the night. We had to pay 30.00 for our pets and the hotel came with pets (roaches). And when you call up to the front desk to complain about you neighbors making to much noise during the night nothing was done about it even if you have to call a number of times. Your better off calling the Police you'll get faster service. while i was there a man past away in room 150 and body fluids well all over the matress and they never got rid of it the just turned it over and made up the bed and rented it out. How sick is that. The owner was racist, rude.
So if you are planning to stay at the Canterbury Inn please DONT. There are a number of nice hotels close by. Please stay far from the Canterbury.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

We were looking in the travel coupon book and found this hotel. After a long day of driving we decided to stay here. We asked to see a room which seemed OK, but when we got our keys, they were to different rooms. We were with another family. On examination of the room we were in, above the door where glass should have been, was a board of wood that had buckled from weather (I'm assuming) which allowed large gaps for "anything" buggish to gain full access of your room. There were also large vents inside where more creatures could spend the daytime and come out in the night when it was nice and dark. The tub was literally black on the inside. The curtains were coated with yellow dirt (probably from smoke) although we were "technically" in a non-smoking room. The cover bedspread was also dirty and looked like it hadn't been washed in months/years! Our friends pulled back their sheets to find large baseball sized holes as well as a footprint and long hairs! We actually looked at 3 other rooms but couldn't allow ourselves to stay there and luckily, we were given a refund (we'll check out charge card though). We were told that the maid hadn't been there for a few days! The pool and hot tub were also closed for "cleaning", although after looking at the rooms I wouldn't have wanted to see the conditions they could have been in if they were up and running. Even our children were disgusted. We actually got back in our car and headed on to the next city! Please believe me when I say this is NO exageration...find another place to stay!

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2005

We stayed at the Canterbury Inn because it was advertised in the traveling coupon magazine. It advertised $40, but we ended up getting the room for $57, including tax. We got stuck in a snowstorm in the mountains, and it was too late for us to return our rental car at the airport, so we had to find somewhere cheap to stay at until the rental place opened in the morning.

It was worse than a motel 6. There was a cockroach running around our room. They charged us $10 for the extra bed that we didn't need, because supposedly they were sold out. Everything was old, and the bed & sheets were dirty.

This place is best for a trucker passing by who just needs to sleep and shower. Otherwise, it was filthy, nasty, disgusting.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2002

Older property that has not been well maintained. Sits in a part of town not does not seem as safe. Raddision accross the hiway in walking distance is well worthe the extra $$.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Canterbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canterbury Inn

Address: 1900 Canterbury Road, Sacramento, CA 95815
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Canterbury Hotel Sacramento
Canterbury Hotel Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canterbury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Canterbury Inn to your Saves list