We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost not ok to stay here at all” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel Florin Road

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Motel Florin Road to your Saves list
Super 8 Motel Florin Road
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Motel Florin Road
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7216 55th Street, Sacramento, CA 95823   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Almost not ok to stay here at all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The people at the desk could not speak english, there was smoking in non-smoking rooms, guests was smoking in the hallways. The worst was the pool. It was smaller than a bathtub. The pictures at the website shows a nice big pool, it was not.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    22
    13
    10
See reviews for
26
18
15
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I has been a long time since my last visit to Super 8s. Motel 6s are my style but I decided to move up in the world and booked at room at Super 8 Sacramento. OK, a quick friendly check in; very nice king sized bed with four pillows; more room than I can use; fridge and micro--nice touch. I could get use to this. Overall, impressive for what I paid for. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Many of the pros and cons of this "budget" chain are so well-known, no need to repeat the general ones. This property is convenient for people on their way to South Tahoe and who would want to get mostly through Sacramento before heading into cute-old-restored-gold-mining-town territory. Good things: mini-refrigerator, microwave, WiFi included in room rate, plenty of hot water in a strong shower, and the best anyone could expect in a breakfast selection, including one of those waffle machines you rotate by yourself. Less good things: the WiFi had limited bandwidth and wasn't very strong; the toilet was blocked before we used it; and there is nothing at all attractive about the location of the property. The common areas could have used a good cleaning. The room price seemed to be higher than similar properties in similar areas. But overall, no real problems and I would stay there again--if I ever planned to be in that area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I had a two week service job at Sacramento downtown and I needed to find a hotel nearby. Like everyone else who stays at budget hotels, I had some bad experience in the past. I found this Super 8 from Tripadvisor, and it easily exceeded my expectations. first of all, the room was very quiet. I don't know if because I was staying on the third floor, but I heard no noises from other guests or from the roads. I also like the fact that the room had both fridge and microwave as well as a very fast Wi-Fi connection. The bed was big and comfortable and room service privided new clean sheets everyday. Plus, a Denny's, a Chinese restaurant and a Mexican restaurant are all walking distance. For me, this is where I am going to stay whenever I am in Sacramento. Thanks, Super 8.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This place is clean and well-kept. I was afraid the given the price I paid, I wasn’t sure what I would get. To my surprise, I got a great room. The king one bedroom was very quiet and everything worked! For dinner, I walked to IHOP and checked out the local mall. Everything was new there. I saw a security guard during the night time. I wouldn’t stay anywhere there wasn’t a security guard. There are so many low life junkies breaking into cars now these days. If all budget hotels were like this, they would put Holiday Inn Expresses and Hampton Inns out of business. Overall, excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Agree with other reviewers. I found the Super 8 Florin to be clean and comfortable, except.....you have to be able to tolerate smoke (of all kinds). I was happy to be assigned to a room on the 3rd floor, away from the 1st floor 'smoking section.' Amazingly, the 3rd floor hallway is virtually devoid of any smoke smell. As soon as I entered the room, WOW, the smoke was a complete assault. I returned to the desk asking for another room farther away from the stench. I was given a room more toward the end of the hallway. It had been meticulously 'Febreezed' and I was surprised I couldn't discern any smell of smoke at all. Unfortunately the Febreeze effect lasted only until about midnight (5 hours). I put up with the stench as long as I could, but ended up leaving at 3am. Bottom line: if you smoke, or don't mind smelling smoke, this place is a great deal. If you cannot tolerate smoke, stay elsewhere. Location is right next to 99S; there is discernable freeway noise, but the smell was infinitely more intrusive than the passing cars. Close to Methodist Hospital and Kaiser South Sac.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker, this place is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

There is a saying "You get what you pay for" and the Super 8 Florin is no exception. If you want a modern, super clean room then you'll want to stay elsewhere such as the Marriott or Red Lion and cough up the serious extra clams to do so I might add. On the other hand if you are looking for a great bargain and just want a place to crash for the night then the Super 8 Florin provides a good value for the dollar.

Now for the cheap price you might expect a dive but thankfully the motel is OK. While the inside looks like the building could use more then just a fresh coat of new paint what really matters is how comfortable the sleep is -- the bed and pillows are fine. Since the motel allows smoking, you may notice some of the rooms tend to exhibit a strong smell. Turning on the AC thankfully cleared up the air in the room; the low temperature setting was great. Power outlets seem to be lacking and/or very inconveniently located which is mildly frustrating if you are wanting to charge your laptop or phone. The bathroom is OK - it is clean which is the most important thing. The TV is an old CRT, so it is not possible to use it as an external HDMI monitor.

Service was friendly.

Bottom Line: Average motel, with a great price.

Pros:
+ Inexpensive.
+ Quick access off the 99.
+ AC freshens the air.
+ Denny's restaurant is next door; open till midnight.
+ Shell Gas Station is across the street.

Cons
- Outdated / worn down inside, bordering on run down
- 2nd floor has smoke smell
- No smoking rooms fill up fast; only rooms available may be smoking.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor to avoid the smoke smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Motel Florin Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel Florin Road

Address: 7216 55th Street, Sacramento, CA 95823
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel Florin Road 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Motel Florin Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Florin Road Hotel Sacramento
Super 8 Sacramento
Super Eight Sacramento
Super 8 Florin Road
Sacramento Super 8
Sacramento Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel Florin Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.