We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Some Love” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Howe Ave, Sacramento, CA 95825   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Needs Some Love”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Residence Inns are our favorite places to stay for extended family vacations. I wish there was a 3-1/2 rating (Good, not Very Good, but better than Average), because the service was good and that means a great deal to us.

Sacramento was the 3rd leg in our annual holiday trek, and our longest stay (5 nights). We reserved in the Arden-area Residence Inn because the one we stayed in last year posted much MUCH higher room rates this year. We called en route from San Francisco to ask if there was any way to get an early check-in, since our car was full of luggage and Christmas gifts, and we had more shopping to do. The front desk clerk checked her room availability and responded almost immediately that there were plenty of open rooms, and that we should come right in. We thanked her and said that we would be there in about an hour.

My disappointment came after entering our room. It was not what I had expected. We have reserved one-bedroom units, two-bedroom units, and loft units for our traveling groups of between 4 and 6 in the past. I seem to remember there always being at least one sleeping room with a door. The penthouse unit we rented had a loft at the top of some very steep stairs (the girls ran up and claimed it immediately), and a double-sized (Queen-sized? Is this different?) Murphy bed in the living room. I returned to the front desk to ask if there was a different configuration of the room, and she said that there was not.

The Murphy bed was not comfortable - especially for two adults, and except for the lack of a bar in the middle of your back, it felt just like a sofa bed. With the bed pulled down, there was insufficient space to sit squarely at the desk (I worked most every morning while the rest of the family slept), or to get around to the downstairs bathroom. The girls' king-sized bed, on the other hand, was very comfortable. Too bad for the parents!

There were two decent bathrooms (with doors), the fireplace was nice, although matches would have been helpful. The kitchen was sparsely appointed by comparison to similar properties. The drapes were fine, but the sheers inside were weather-worn and tearing. The sofa had a visible stain on it, so we just avoided sitting on it. The fire alarm started beeping the first day we were there, and my husband passed one of the hotel engineers on his way back from getting a new battery at the front desk. He said that he would have been happy to come in and replace the battery, as I am sure he would have done with our plugged toilet if it hadn't cleared after the 10th flush.

Because our gifts were everywhere, we did not have housekeeping in during our stay. We did have one knock on our door (the DND sign had fallen off), and the housekeeper offered to trade out our towels for us. Another saw us unloading boxes from our car and offered to help get them to the room. We did not accept her offer, but were hugely impressed with the gesture.

We were out late most nights, so did not take advantage of the spaghetti dinner, and slept through breakfast most days. Some of our family members did go down to breakfast on a couple of the mornings and said that it offered more than a continental.

All in all, the location had easy access to all freeways, and was very convenient for us to visit family in all corners of the county/counties. There seemed to be a lot of "street" people in the area, but we never saw any of them on hotel property and our car remained undisturbed. I see in other reviews that this property will be undergoing some renovations, and that would make it very attractive for a return stay (in a 2-bedroom unit, not penthouse loft).

Room Tip: Be sure you are clear that the penthouse "suite" is a completely open space, and does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D, Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and Thank you for staying with us on your most recent visit to Sacramento. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the srevice from our staff here. We take pride in providing excellent and welcoming service to all of our guests. Our property is a little tired but the rumors are true, we are getting a renovation next year! We are so excited to present a new product to our guests and a new congifuration of our suites. We will no longer have the murphy beds in our penthouses as well. So please try us again the next time you guys come to Sacramento because I am sure our new rooms will not disappoint you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    44
    21
    16
    3
See reviews for
34
7
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We have now stayed twice, this December and December a couple of years ago. The rooms are spacious, and great for an extended stay. We were there for 4 nights this visit and 3 nights the prior visit. It is located close to good restaurants and some great shopping at Arden Fair Mall. It is feeling a little 'old', but it is clean, spacious, the breakfast room and other amenities make this a great value stop. We have stayed in loft suites both times. We have not tried the fireplace ... but wish we had -- perhaps next time. We will likely be back again next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D, Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for continuing to be a loyal guest of ours. We are pleased hear that you have enjoyed your second stay with us. I am pleased to tell you that by next December we will have a brand new product to present to you. We are starting a full room renovation early next year and it is projected to be complete by June 2014. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The staff is very kind and helpful. We stayed in a penthouse and the rooms are very outdated. The carpet, appliances and couch were worn and dirty. This property is in dire of upgrades. The chair in the living room was absolutely filthy and we covered it with a sheet so we did not have to look at the chair. The drip pans on the stove did not fit properly so you could not use the top of the stove. There was a musty old smell in the room. We could not wait to leave the room and actually decided to check out early because we dreaded going back there. It is a shame what you charge for a room when the conditions were so poor. As a Marriott member it is disappointing to stay at a property like this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D, Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for your most recent stay with us and for being a loyal Marriott Rewards Member. We appreciate your business. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is feedback such as yours that helps us refine our business and helps us identify the areas that we need to work on.

I apologize for the state of your room and that you felt that you needed to leave our property. It is not our intention to provide our guests with a room that is sub-par. I would like to inform you that we are scheduled to start a full room renovation by January 31st. We are excited for the new change and can't wait to have a brand new product for our loyal Marriott Members as well as other guests. Please try us again the next time you are in Sacramento because I am sure our new rooms will not disappoint you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I were first-time guests to the Residence Inn and were happy to find the little amenities--coffee and tea all day, complementary newspapers in the morning, fully equipped kitchens with popcorn and coffee, and even a wood burning fireplace. Staff were helpful and efficient, check-in and out was a breeze, and they provide a full breakfast included in the room rate. They held a large package we had delivered from Amazon for a few days until our arrival, with no problems. We were surprised when our Sacramento-based grandkids found the pool to be quite warm and the hot tub even warmer, so in they went for a swim (notwithstanding Sacramento's temp in the 50's). Lots of towels, clean room and quiet. Don't know how this would be in the summer, but it was very comfortable on a (dry) winter weekend. Because some of the buildings are in the center of the property, you need to walk outside so be prepared for some wetness if it's raining. We have stayed in several comparably priced hotels in Sacramento and this one is definitely the best, and a real bargain.

Room Tip: For couples, the rooms are on the ground floor. Check out the upstairs rooms for larger families.100...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D, Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for your most recent stay with us and for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities with your grandkids. It is our intention to help you make lasting memories while you are staying with us. Our staff here work very hard to provide an excellent stay and it is always nice to hear when their hard work pays off. We hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again soon and Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days around thanksgiving this year. The staff was pleasant and courteous and very friendly/helpful. Our penthouse suite was large enough for our family of 5, and everything was in working order. The beds were very comfortable and the complex itself was very quiet. The breakfast and happy hour were very nice compliments to our family who are big eaters and they had a wide variety of choices, many healthy options, fruit, low sugar yogurt, oatmeal and hot food choices of eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles. The breakfast and happy hour staff were very nice and helpful with certain requests. There are a lot of choices for restaurants and shopping within walking distance and is kind of "center" to all the things to do in Sacramento. My only con would be the rooms are very old and outdated. The carpet and appliances, couch were worn and dirty and needs desperate upgrades. Will stay here again with the family when we are back in town.

Room Tip: away from the street, mid way back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D, Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us and that our staff here lived up to the Marriott expectation of service. We take pride in our service here at our hotel and it is nice to hear that our hard work has paid off. We are very aware that our property is dated and in need of updating which is why I am pleased to tell you that we are starting a full property renovation February 1, 2014. By the summer of2014 we hope to present the Arden area with a brand new hotel. So hopefully the next time you visit us we will have a brand new product for you.

Thanks again for taking the time to reveiw our property and we look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am a Marriott Rewards Member & this was my first time staying at a Residence Inn. Upon check in the front desk was very nice & helpful. Continental breakfast was also a plus. Rooms are very roomy. I didn't like the rooms at all. The rug looked old, bathrooms looked old & the kitchen and furniture just looked old. Really wasn't what I expected for a Marriott hotel. I think this hotel maybe just needs an remodel. It just seemed like a lot of ppl lived there as their residence. But than again, it is a Residence Inn lol so I think ppl actually live here. The pool area wasn't all that great either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D, Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
First and foremost, Thank you for being a loyal Marriott Rewards member. We truely appreciate your patronage and feedback from your most recent visit. I am very happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our front desk associates. I am please to inform you that our rooms are due to be fully renovated by the Summer of 2014. We are really excited to get a brand new gatehouse and rooms. So thanks again for being a Marriott Rewards member and we hope that you chose us again the next time you are in Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had to book this hotel for business as all the other hotels were booked solid. The area was a little suspect and hotel was very tired. Front desk staff, and other staff I ran into were extremely courteous and very friendly. The room had been "renovated" which comprised of installing granite on very old cabinets, old worn out couch, new desk in the kitchen (strange layout), the same appliances my parents had in the 1970's (not kidding) and a very small bed. Between the noise coming from the fridge, the AC and the AC units outside my room, it was not a peaceful nor restful night's rest.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D, Manager at Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for chosing Residence Inn Cal Expo during you most recent visit to Sacramento. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience with our staff during your arrival process. In regards to our property, I am please to let you know that we are on the brink of a complete renovation. I believe while you were here we were repairing our staircases which was the renovation that was spoken of. So please know that we are expecting to be fully renovated and brand new by the summer of 2014. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope you choose us again the next time you are in Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo

Address: 1530 Howe Ave, Sacramento, CA 95825
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.