We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Convention Center*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Howe Ave, Sacramento, CA 95825   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location for Convention Center*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

*For folks who prefer to get a bit of exercise before and after sitting in meetings all day.
I added the qualifier because some may equate "great location" with being closest to the Convention Center; there are at least two hotels that are within "spitting distance" of Convention Center. This hotel is approximately a 7-10 minute walk to the front door of the Convention Center. The staff and service were excellent. A buffet breakfast is included in the price of the room. (I don't know whether eggs can be cooked to order. I was always running late and preferred to use the buffet service.) I have stayed at two or three other Residence Inns and found the service in Sacramento to be the best. The hotel also offered a limited room service menu for dinner. There is no formal restaurant or coffee shop on the premises. There are two large hotels with restaurants within walking distance, and I walked by several small places on my way to and from a CVS drugstore.

The room was very clean and included a kitchenette. The lighting was adequate; wifi and high-speed internet service were free. (For those who don't travel with computer (ipad), the computers in the business area offer unlimited free internet access.) My room was quiet. There is an excercise room on site. It looked to be reasonably well-equipped, but I didn't have time to look closely.

The rate using my AAA membership discount was virtually the same as the convention rate being offered for my organization. [But, the convention hotels were full-service (i.e. had restaurant/coffee shop, which was not included in room rate of course), and they were across the street from the convention center.]

If one is looking for luxury, one should look elsewhere. Otherwise, I would definitely recommend highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    44
    21
    16
    3
See reviews for
34
7
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. This hotel has nice staff, rooms are clean and spacious with fireplace and full kitchen. Good location close to access roads, shops, restaurants. Breakfast and dinner are not bad and included (dinner mon-wed). A few areas that need improvement, however: 1) the wireless is slow, the sign-on process is tedious and required daily. 2) Ask for a room AWAY from their main water pump room, it's LOUD and the motor roars on/off all day/night. 3) the "gym" is really just a very small room with 3 cardio machines squeezed in, should not even call it a gym. There is, thankfully, a full service gym near-by for $5/d with hotel discount card, provided at the front desk. The hotel should really offer a free trade-out until they can renovate a real "gym". Overall just an average stay, would have been much better with a nice fitness room and a room away from the water pump (they kindly offered to move me, but I was settled in and staying only 3 nights).

Room Tip: Anything away from their water pump room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed at this property several times for leisure and I have always been pleased. The front desk staff have always been very friendly, esp. Tanya-they always try hard to get me the specific room I want-the rooms are always remarkably clean and spacious and it is in a location that is close to surrounding stores and food places. I always look forward to staying at this facility.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was late to planning for an event and all the other Marriott facilities within 20 miles were booked. So even though it did not have the best ratings I chose this place. It seems like they took an old run down apartment complex and made it into a residence inn. The staff was great but the flexing stairs and floors and the oooold rooms left a lot to be desired. That being said, there were no bugs or too much noise. Almost forgot, I put a do not disturb on the door as I had equipment out that I did not anyone to see or try to manipulate. Sure enough, someone went right in to the room while I was gone and made up the room. Now all of my gear was still there but it was annoying.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs rooms, 50% of them are a two level loft setup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My family of five booked a two bedroom for one night. I had stayed in this hotel before although it had been many years and was surprised, as other reviewers have noted, that the surrounding area had taken a turn for the worse. We had reserved a two bedroom loft. The master bedroom was upstairs in the loft and had it's own bathroom. There were two queen beds in the second bedroom and a sofa bed. I had two complaints about the room. The first; the sofa bed. When my son and I opened the sofa to take out the bed and unfolded it, there were crumbs and who knows what else under the mattress. The other complaint had to do with the light in the stairwell going up to the loft. I understand the need to have one but it was so bright, I thought I was sleeping in the daytime- it would've been nice to have a switch to either turn it off or a dimmer switch to lessen the brightness. If there was one, I didn't see or find it. The breakfast was OK - better than most continental breakfasts as there were scrambled eggs, sausage and potatoes. Overall, the room was very comfortable and very quiet and if in Sacramento again, I would consider another stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

after being on the orad for 5 days, this was my last stop for this tour. The hotel was ok, but the area around it was a little run down. There are a lot of transients around and some fo the food areas look unappealing. When you get about two to three miles away, the entire area changes, food places look better and shops are in better shape. It is close to the highway and about 20 minutes from Sac International.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle fo the complex and not up front. Rooms in building 10 and lower are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Have stayed here for one night for the past few Saturdays due mainly to the location of this hotel. (Been visiting a family member) Although the front of the place looks like a motel, the inside of the rooms were very nice. Huge kitchen area with all appliances if you need them and also fully stocked with pans, dishes and silverware. The one king bed we had upstairs was very big and comfy, however the queen bed that we were supposed to get was a pull down bed from the wall which was small, low to the ground, and very springy. Our last stay on Saturday was a little miserable because it was 106 outside and the A/C was not working properly. We could not get it to come below 80. They have it programmed so you cant mess with it, which I thought was ridiculous. I should be able to adjust the A/C if I want-I am paying for my stay. Of coarse the A/C didnt turn down until the middle of the night and then we were all freezing. We couldnt get the A/C to go back up either. So it was hot then freezing. Breakfast room was packed and not many choices even first thing in the morning. Pool area is OK-not very big. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Overall, this place is a 3 out of 5. I think if they do a little remodling and fix the A/C issues, and get better beds then this place would be a 5.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suites are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo

Address: 1530 Howe Ave, Sacramento, CA 95825
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Sacramento Cal Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.