We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel looks dated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Leisure Lane, Sacramento, CA 95815 (Formerly Woodlake Hotel Sacramento)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Free Night Offer
Ranked #58 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Sacramento
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This hotel looks dated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Things didn';t look right when I could not find a place to park when I arrived as most of the spaces had a sign saying casino parking. I didn't see that many playing cards so I don't understand why they do this. Everything looks old and need of repair lots of junk on the sidewalks. Dogs barking and running around in the rooms above me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the condition of the hotel itself and that you were unable to locate any close parking due to the casino parking.
Thank you for being a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    45
    52
    46
    52
See reviews for
31
29
22
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is not your normal Red Lion. Felt like an old motel, one level with doors to room accessed from outside. All the furniture appeared to be 15+ years old, sleep number bed was a plus. Patched up holes in the walls, just everything looked and felt old and "edgy". My wife would have left...!
All I can say is old motel with Red Lion "lipstick". May have been a bad part of town also.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the condition of your room. Please be assured that this is something that will be addressed with our staff.
You are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Attended a dance conference. The conference facilities, bar area, outside lake area were excellent. The rooms need an uplift. The smell in the rooms way out, were musty and there were dead bugs in bathtub, asked to be moved, rooms were better, but need some help.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding cleanliness in your guest room and that you had to be moved to a different room. Please be assured that this will be addressed accordingly with our staff.
Thank you for your feedback you are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I've been attending this hotel for a dance convention for 10 years. My business is traveling & this is the worst hotel I've been to. We checked in, the room wreaked of mold so we switched, the beds are terrible, the chairs in the room are more comfortable, the staff laughed at requests I made, there was blood on the curtain that we noticed at checkout. There is a new casino in the hotel which brings around the most sketchy people, which isn't ideal when it's an outdoor hotel. Also people attending the casino were then passing out in the lobby and hallway. I honestly couldn't believe when a resort fee was charged onto my bill, this is a campsite on I-5. By far, the worst experience at a hotel that I've had in a long time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay with us as your feedback is important when providing excellent service to our guests. I apologize greatly for the experience that you encountered with the patrons from the casino. We make every effort to ensure our guests are safe and comfortable and address situations that arise when other guests infringe upon that. I also like to apologize for the condition of your room as well.
We do value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The front end of the hotel is very nice, the check in area looks very fancy and what-not. Then you drive around to your room which looks like a very old 70's motel, then you get inside your room where it still looks like a 70's motel. There are extension cords and six plugs in every outlet, if you turn on the iron the entire room dims.

The room did have a wonderful view of a pond that I was not anticipating.

There is no microwave and a fridge is ten dollars extra a night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I came for the poker and discovered the hotel. The Red Lion houses the Casino Royale -- a four table poker room that moved here from downtown Sacramento about half a year ago. The poker was okay, but the accommodations were terrific. Comfortable adjustable-firmness bed, nicely appointed, clean, and far enough away from the noise of the casino but close enough for an easy 2 minute walk. I enjoyed my stay. There was also a great restaurant that served up a finely prepared sea bass, just to my liking. I'm eager to try it again when I go back to the Sacramento area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Pros: comfortable bed, easy access to highway, restaurant on location not overly priced, friendly staff

Cons: We only had approximately 10 tv channels (most of which were local in Spanish or shopping), no complementary breakfast or discounted breakfast for guests, no refrigerators (or mini fridge) in room so we couldn't keep drinks or leftovers cold, the thermostat seemed all or nothing for both heating and cooling.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyFotovat, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We apologize that you had an problem with your Television. The problem has since been resolved. We do offer rates that include breakfast, however it appears that you chose a rate without it. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again as guest satisfaction is our main focus.

Thank you again,

Jenny Fotovat
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento

Address: 500 Leisure Lane, Sacramento, CA 95815 (Formerly Woodlake Hotel Sacramento)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento features the finest accommodations in a luxury setting. We are located just five minutes from the California State Capitol and Old Sacramento and offer our guests the finest in service and comfort.We offer 306 spacious and exquisitely designed sleeping rooms along with 29 hospitality suites. Our onsite facilities include our lakeside pool & spa where you can be pampered in the most relaxing atmosphere.Dine in the Lakeside Bar & Grille and enjoy fine Mediterranean and California Fresh cuisine, while taking in the beautiful lake view.Planning a meeting or wedding in Sacramento doesn't get any better than the Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento. We offer over 50,000 Sq. Ft. of meeting and event space and catering professionals on site to attend to every detail. Our professional event planners will ensure your meeting, social event or wedding will be a smashing success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Sacramento
Sacramento Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Woodlake Conference Center Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.