We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Sacramento North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Sacramento North to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Sacramento North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4604 Madison Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95841-2515   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was the most horrible one night stay for my family and I. This hotel was very old, very dirty and the staff looked like homeless picked up from the streets. The complimentary breakfast was a joke, they served muffins, frozen waffles, nasty coffee and OJ. Do not stay at this place, its surrounded by ghetto people.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    50
    45
    35
    33
See reviews for
78
33
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived to find a room that stinks. A dirty bathroom. Down the hallway to the pool were people with a lot of kids smoking cigarettes with the door and windows open. Cigarette butts all over.
On the entrance to the pool says if you have diarrhea or have had diarrhea in the last 14 days do not go in the pool. OMG who crap in the pool to get a sign like that put up.
Breakfast consisted of muffins stale bagels dry cereal and bread. Wow this is the WORSE LaQuinta we have ever
stayed in. I would give it a no star if I was able to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfair, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We generally like staying with La Quinta when we travel as we have a cat and they are usually a very clean hotel. First arriving I had to go down to retrieve my own remote for the TV, maybe the maid took it home with her as our TV was on when we first entered the room (#222). The bottom of the bathtub was disgusting. It looked like 100 little kids with mud on their feet had done the twist on the tub floor. Ground in dirt. Doesn't bleach take this out??! Then it was time to use the Internet. (Free wi fi).... But NO Internet. The woman at the front desk gave ME a phone # to call to a help desk. After spending about 15 mins. With them, they couldn't figure out the problem, so told me they'd research the issue, and call back. They did but nothing worked...when asked in the morning at the front desk I was told that some one had stolen a router and cut lines......hummm, would that be an " inside" job? It should NOT be the customers problem to find out why the Internet is not working... The hotel is the customer of the Internet provider! Go after them! Make Them accountable and your customers happy! It's not rocket science, no such thing as accountability OR customer service anymore....a sad day America.
PS...a positive, our bed was very comfortable!!!

Room Tip: Check your room over before unpacking to be sure it's clean enough! If not, asked to be moved AS...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very large motel (165 rooms) that has been there a long time. It has been well kept and updated, but the rooms are still small. Very pleasant staff, good breakfast. It is located just off of I-5 and short distance for I-80. You can walk to the Sacramento/American River.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights recently, reserved via an online service. Probably won't use that service again since I'd stayed here 5 years ago via another online service and didn't like it then. Still don't. I thought it was going to be a different hotel based on the area.

The only good things about it is that it was close to where I had to be and it smelled nice (some kind of cleaning product) and the bedding (mattress/pillows) were quite comfortable and cozy.

Staff was non-descript except the woman who checked me in was friendly, except that she mistakenly programmed my key for only one night so I ended up wasting a bunch of time, when I was in a hurry and had luggage in my hand, having to walk all the way back to the lobby and get an extra day put on my key.

What I didn't like was that it's right next to Highway 80 (corner with Madison ---- also very busy) so you can hear the noise. Also, the A/C was really loud. I could sleep but it had virtually no ambience. My room (343) was right across from the ice maker (loud) in an outside hallway. Traveling as a solo female, the outside hallways don't give much sense of security. I much prefer a quieter hotel with indoor hallways which have carpeting.

In addition, the "breakfast" was spartan ---- just bread/cereal products, fruit, juice, coffee. Nothing like what some hotels serve as an included breakfast these days. Also the eating area takes over the lobby so there isn't much in the way of a lobby. Not very welcoming, on the approach.

In the room, the best signal I could get on the wireless said "good." Not "excellent" as I'm used to. Thus, the service was so slow that it may as well not been available. Also, no business center so if I'd really needed the internet, I would have had to drive down Madison Avenue to a nearby FedEx Office. Also, electronics-wise -- there were almost no channels of interest on the TV. For a sports fan, there was nothing. It was a 32" flatscreen though, despite not much of a selection.

The bathtub looked so dirty brown-ish (stained, I believe) that I didn't want to take a shower. There was a small one-cup coffee maker in the bathroom. I'd been promised a "micro-fridge" when I called several days in advance. Not there.

I didn't use the pool (no ambience there either ---- just a bunch of kids doing cannon balls and no place to relax and read) ---- didn't look appealing at all.

As above, I'll give them credit for having comfortable and clean bedding but can't think of any other reason I'd ever return. There is a new In-N--Out Burger right across the parking lot (which we enjoy at home) but never made it there, not wanting to spend much time in the busy area around the freeway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Where do I begin? Stayed here 3 years ago with no problem -- it's gone seriously downhill since then. Non-smoking room stank of cigarette smoke; NO fridge or microwave in our room, nor functioning internet; gross bathroom and less-than-clean room. Had to laugh when on reporting internet problem, the front desk gave us the number for their CORPORATE IT provider. Won't make the mistake of staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#46 of 83 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
8.9 mi away
Governors Inn Hotel
Governors Inn Hotel
#17 of 83 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo
Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo
#49 of 83 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
8.0 mi away
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
Good Nite Inn Sacramento
#39 of 83 in Sacramento
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
6.6 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#11 of 83 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Sacramento North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Sacramento North

Address: 4604 Madison Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95841-2515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Sacramento North 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flying into a new city doesn't have to be a hassle. With our location just off I-80, it's easy to check into La Quinta Inn and then head back out onto the road. If you're staying for business, our meeting facilities are available for your taking, and each suite comes equipped with free Wi-Fi so you can continue checking those emails from your coworkers. After enjoying a full night's sleep, come down to the lobby, where our staff will prepare a free Bright Side Breakfast for you and your travel companions. To keep up with current events, you can even grab a free paper to read while sipping coffee and munching on a bagel. Then, kick off your shoes and head down to the outdoor pool for some fun in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Sacramento North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Sacramento North Hotel Sacramento
La Quinta Sacramento
Sacramento La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Sacramento North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.