We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with $17 daily parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Sacramento to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with $17 daily parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

The hotel is newly remodeled, and the rooms are nicely appointed. The room was quiet and comfortable, but the cleaning left a little to be desired. The sink countertop had not been wiped down, there were lint balls in with the sheets, and the drinking glasses were dirty. The rest of the room appeared to be clean. There is a $17 daily parking charge, and it is more if you use valet parking. Internet charges are not posted, but you have to sign up for service, so I'm thinking they charge extra for that, too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    266
    77
    23
    16
See reviews for
93
107
51
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

This is a pretty nice hotel. The rooms are clean and well-appointed, the staff is friendly, and the atmosphere in the bar is top notch. However, if you look too closely, you'll see that it's all a facade.

It starts to fall apart with the elevators. I think the parking elevator must be possessed - whenever it is going down, it stops on the third floor, acts like it wants to close the door twice, buzzes loudly, and finally goes on its way. The main elevators don't have this problem, but apparently if you don't push the button exactly right it doesn't work.

The TVs don't even have local channels. What?? I understand hotels are doing everything they can to make a buck but that was too far.

The best floors for parking are reserved for valet, and they charge $17 even for self parking.

Through no fault of their own, this hotel is very difficult to get to if you have never been to Sacramento before.

The shower is a glass stall facing a large mirror. There is no way to avoid looking at yourself in all your glory while taking a shower. I'm sure that would appeal to some, but did *not* appeal to me.

The showerhead is only average.

Internet is $9.95 (or $15.95 if you want it fast). I have no idea why all of these hotels seem to think that wi-fi is worth that much, when lesser hotels just slap together an access point and call it good.

I think this would be a great hotel if it didn't think quite so highly of itself. As I remarked in a review for another hotel, it's not the big things - it's the *little* things, and they fall short there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Our family of 2 parents and 2 teenagers stayed at the Hyatt Regency Sacramento for 4 nights in November. We were all very impressed. Above all, the staff have a "can do" attitude, increasingly rare in hotels these days. Whether we needed advice about late night restaurants in the area, or more room keys, or more keys to the parking garage, or more towels, everyone was so pleasant and personable, as opposed to impersonal.
ALL of the front desk staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, no matter how busy there were, as were the bellman and concierge.
When the breakfast order was not taken from our doorknob one night a staff, I think Jason, told the restaurant to give us anything we wanted for free. When room service delivered a too rare steak they took it back and brought another. Sadly, do to the fault of the chef, not the rest of the staff, the second steak was even more rare. The server apoligized and the restaurant comped our entire dinner, which they should have since it took 2 hours of steaks back and forth and after the two hours my daughter was ready to go to bed and didnt want to try the steak for the 3rd time. They had a convention at the hotel so I think the kitchen must have been slammed.
Our room was my standard of perfect: 1. quiet--could not hear a thing 2. had nice sunlight in the day 3. had a view (view of the capital) 4. dark at night 5. not near vending machine or elevator.
The beds were fine, tv fine except that when you change channels it take about a minute for the picture to show. Housekeeping did a terrific job.
It is a great location just next to the capital and located in the capital/downtown area.
So sad so many cafes and restaurants were boarded up down there, but we had a car to go out and eat. There is a mall nearby in walking distance with your usual department stores and shops.
Old Town Sacramento was just a few blocks away. Friends stayed around the corner at the Sheraton and their rooms were not as nice, although we did have drinks and bar food at the Sheraton that was fine. Friends had drinks and food at the bar in the Hyatt and really liked it. It looked like a very nice bar.
So, we would definitely stay there again if in Sacto on business or a leisure trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
50 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel for one night while attending a conference at the Convention Center. The location is excelent, as the Convention Center is just across the street from the back exit and is also in walking distance to the Capital and close to downtown and Old Town. Parking is located in a garage attached to the hotel and is an extra fee.

The room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. Current photos on the website look exactly the way my room looked. I had a nice view of the Capital out the window and to the side. Each room includes an ipod socking station with an alarm clock. The alarm on the one in my room was not working so I called the front desk and within 10 minutes, they had replaced it, even though it was around 10pm. Very responsive service! Toiletries provided were also good. They included shampoo, conditioner, lotion and toothpaste. The room was quiet and I did not hear the street noise from the light rail transportation below, but one of the other conference attendees commented that he could hear it late into the night. This might be based on the location of the rooms. I would definitely return to this hotel again, if staying overnight in Sacramento.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
196 hotel reviews
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

We booked directly through the hotel and got a good rate because it was on a Sunday night. Weeknight rates were considerably higher. We requested in advance an upgrade to an executive room, to be granted at check-in if available (we paid less than if we'd asked for the upgrade at the time of check-in). Got a large "corner" room with nice views of Capitol Park. The room was quite comfortable. I heard some street noise in the morning, but my wife did not. Problem with the shower faucet was quickly corrected when we called housekeeping (the maintenenace rep said they had such problems, and there was a note taped to the shower saying to pull slowly when turning on the shower). Having to pay extra for Wi-Fi (which we didn't have to do at 3-star properties such as Hilton Garden Inn, Hampton Inn and Holiday Inn), and $17 for self-parking, was a minor irritant. The restaurant was rather expensive, so we ate at the iconic Chinese restaurant, Frank Fat's, down the street. Hotel is heavily used for conferences but this presented no real problem except that the bars were always crowded.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Had a great stay here while in town for business. Service was very, very good. The room was clean and quite, the bed was extremely comfortable. Ate breakfast at the restaurant- standard, overpriced food- not terrific. But there are other restaurants within walking distance.

The location is great- just across from the capitol. Drawbacks: guests must pay for parking and internet access.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

I stayed for only night for a conference. My stay was really good for a one night stay. The room was super clean. A/C unit worked really well. Beds really comfortable. Bathroom was nice.

You have to pay for internet. They offer two different classes of internet depending on what speeds you want.

I arrived in Sacramento very late and the lobby bar was pretty good. Pricey but it was the pricing is on par for other hotels of this level.

You have to pay for parking but hey its downtown Sacramento.

Normally I stay at Marriott but this stay convinced me to join the Hyatt Passport Club and maybe try Hyatt again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#3 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.