We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Could be great, with some improvements!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Sacramento to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Business Savvy w/Internet
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersGold level
Temecula, California, USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good Location, Could be great, with some improvements!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have stayed with my husband at this location several times for business. This is my first review of this property. First the location and proximity to the Capitol is perfect. It is located right across the street from the Capitol. I think half of the rooms have great views which is a plus. The front exterior and the lobby area are nice. The bar area downstairs is roomy and pleasant, though often crowded with conference attendees. We have stayed in several different rooms, they are standard Hyatt business rooms and are decorated nicely. There are plenty of outlet/plugs, a nice sized flat screen tv, and the bedding is good.

However, I noticed during this stay as well as my last stay, that the bathrooms are starting to be lacking. We stay often in Hyatt’s for business and pleasure (We are diamond members). As such, I appreciate and grown accustomed to the Hyatt standards and the level at which they maintain their hotels. So, it is surprising when we are checked into a room that the bathroom tub is rimmed with discolored caulking (mildew?) and the bathtub faucet is in bad need of being re-caulked as well. My other pet peeve is cleanliness. The room we received was not to standard. The bathtub had some hairs in it (yuck) and I found a beer bottle behind the curtain when we opened it last night. Usually, in these situations we will call down and ask for another room or complain (which we rarely do – it isn’t usually a problem). But, we have been traveling quite extensively lately and honestly were both too tired to bother and just decided to look the other way. But it did bother us and we are hopeful that the management will read this review and look into remedying this problem.

I do want to be fair and add a few very positive comments and why we will continue to return. The Regency Club is to be complimented. The food selections (continental breakfast and appetizers) are quite nice. John (who regularly works in the Regency Club) is a huge asset to this hotel. He not only always remembers my husband and my names, but he remembers our likes as well. He always attends to each customer with very personalized care. He deserves a special recognition from the Management as I always notice that everyone he assists notices his special attentiveness and willingness to be helpful. The Continental breakfast is especially good and one of the best in the Hyatt chain. I wish the Management would consider keeping the Regency Club open on the weekends, as we would be more apt to stay a couple extra days after our meetings if this amenity was available.

The Gym is well appointed and is very clean. However, I do feel it is quite inconvenient for the customer to have to walk through the convention hall floors to the garage, go down a flight of stairs, exit the building and walk down to the next building, only to realize that you need to use your card to enter. It all seems unusual, but I am sure other customers would agree that it is weirdly situated. I found myself embarrassed when returning from a workout that I needed to snake my way through well-dressed conference attendees in my work out clothes.

The downstairs café is nice and the food is quite good. I enjoy the views of the Capitol while eating there as well.

This is a perfectly located property and could be a great hotel if attention is given to updating and maintaining a little better housekeeping and bathroom maintenance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Capitol
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for you candid feedback! I am very sorry to hear about the cleanliness of your room. If you would be comfortable contacting me directly I would love to gather a little more information so I can follow up with our Housekeeping team!! megahn.stewart@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    219
    67
    22
    12
See reviews for
60
85
47
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe, NV
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

For the 3rd year in a row we have had an excellent stay. We come down to the PBR event and stay at this hotel. Service was excellent, room was excellent and the price was below what you would expect. Great Job staff!!! See ya next year

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We look forward to seeing you next year as well! Thank you for posting your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Located convenient to everything downtown and the convention center, with easy access on/off the freeway. Stayed with extended family in a Capitol Suite & adjoining room. The staff was attentive and helpful. Plenty of on-site parking, but did not discover until the last day that parking on the roof got us closer to the parking elevator. The rooms were nice and clean, but the carpet throughout was worn. The large flat-screen TVs were nice, but we were unable to hook-up our computer or DVD player for the kids. Never understood why there is a charge for Internet in the rooms at upscale hotels, but not the lower-priced ones. Bought a Verizon pre-paid mobile hotspot for less than the cost of the in-room paid Internet. The batroom was huge and very nice. For convenience we had room service breakfast & dinner for the kids, but some of it was too exotic for them, i.e., the sun(flower) butter & jelly sandwiches had a little too much bite for them. Breakfast at the Vines Cafe was very good. Would stay here again if traveling as a couple, but not with kids.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The noise come from the atrium on the first floor, couldn't sleep until 2am.
Bathroom smelled moldy even though it looks like the top part was recently done.
The location is great.
I guess you can avoid this problems if you ask for higher rooms in the back of the property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Quiet, clean, comfortable, spacious room. Right across from the convention center. Everyone helpful. Easy to catch a cab . Food pretty good in the restaurant. Check in very efficient. Great to dash back to my room during the convention.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks for the great review! Our location is ideal for events at the Convention Center, and I'm glad to hear you had the opportunity to stop in to one of our restaurants! Hopefully we'll see you back in Sacramento soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in January. We had a capital facing room on the 8th floor. Check-in was easy, room was clean, be warned they charge $$ for everything. Super 8 has free internet, what gives. We requested a king, got 2 double beds, that didn't start things of well. A/c worked on and off, both nights it turned off by itself and we woke up hot. Not a recipe for a good nights sleep. Breakfast buffet looked good but not worth $21, steak and eggs was good and $17!

Overall we had a couple events that the hotel catered and the food was excellent. Room was clean, but expensive and they nickel and dime you for everything, oh and the staff were always nice. That would be my summary.

Room Tip: Facing Capitol is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review! I was very happy to see your high scores for the cleanliness of our rooms and our level of Customer Service. In regards to the charge for internet, we do offer complimentary wifi in the lobby and throughout our Amourath Lounge, as well as various packages that include internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
805 helpful votes 805 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here during the Sacramento Jazz Festival on Memorial Day weekend 2013.
Pros:

1. Large entranceway to temporarily park your car while checking in.

2. In and out parking privileges: use the room key to validate when entering and leaving the car in the garage.

3. Very nice almost elegant lobby area with several large rooms for meetings, music gatherings during the Sacramento Jazz festival.

4. Shuttle bus between the Sacramento Jazz festival venues stops right in front of the hotel.

5. Big spacious, almost elegant room with desk, 44" flatscreen HD ble TV, large desk, sitting area with ample lighting.

6. Relatively quiet with effective brakes on the door closing, and a good distance between bed and hallway door.

7. Immaculately clean room with no hairs in the bathtub or linen

8. Big comfortable bed with ample reading lamps, and both sheer and blackout curtains.

9. Our room 650 had a micro balcony with a sliding door that opened all the way -always ask for a room with a balcony, as otherwise you may get stuck with a window that only opens 6 inches at an angle.

10. Room 650 had a nice view of the large park next to the state capitol -a good place for a morning run with no street stops. Always ask for a view of the park or state capitol, instead of the back parking lot with old buildings.

11. Hotel grounds extravangantly decorated with shaped bushes.

12. Centrally located to old downtown and the Capitol mall.

13. 2 blocks walking distance to store on J street with $1 sodas

14. walking distance to Frank Fats and Ma Jong, my favorite chinese restaurants in the Sacramento Area.

15. easy walking distance to the Convention center.

16. Good size pool when the kids aren't taking over the place.

17. Ample lounge chairs next to the pool with refreshments served

18. Free wifi in the business center on ground floor.

19. Courteous and helpful staff with smiles and cheerful dispositions welcoming all guests during all facets of the visit.

20. Hot but pricey breakfast available in the hotel.

21. Great value. $127 for Memorial day weekend 2014 Sacramento Jazz Festival, compared to the $200+ for the Holiday Inn fixer upper by old downtown.

22. I believe they had an all you can eat pasta dinner with salad downstairs for around $15 in the breakfast room.



Cons:

1. $17 per day self park in tiny spaces -our Prius barely fit in the very narrow compact parking spots. This seems to be the norm in downtown Sacramento.

2. $25 per day valet park- mandatory if all the self park spots taken.

3. To reach the parking lot, you may have to take one elevator down to the 2nd floor, walk around the building, and take a second elevator to your parking lot floor

4. No usable refrigerator nor microwave oven -at the price of this hotel, they figure you don't need a refrigerator nor microwave.

5. Mini bar in refrigerator with exorbitant prices.

6. $4 for 12 oz soda from the refrigerator

7. $3 for a 20 oz soda in the hotel concessionaire on the ground floor

8. $10 for in room wifi, $15 for high speed wifi.

9. The 4 Elevators can be slow during busy mornings, requiring lengthy times to wait and reach your rooms or the lobby

10. To reach the parking lot, you may have to take one elevator down to the 2nd floor, walk around the building, and take a second elevator to your parking lot floor

11. To reach the fitness room and gym you have to leave the building and walk around the corner of the block.

12. Noisy A/C

13. Noise from neighbors talking through the connecting door at midnight: they stopped after I pounded on the wall -always ask for a room without a connecting door, although that may not be possible.

14. Meals including breakfast very pricey downstairs. There are a multitude of restaurants nearby for breakfast, lunch, or dinner with much more reasonable prices.


I will use this as a guide to my stay here again for the 2014 Sacramento Jazz Festival.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the park or capitol -you don't want to see the parking lot. Ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! I am very happy to see you enjoyed your stay. We do offer additional package rates, some of which include breakfast, internet, or parking. If you are interested in learning more about these packages please don't hesitate to visit our website or contact the hotel directly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;