We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Sacramento to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Honolulu
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Located convenient to everything downtown and the convention center, with easy access on/off the freeway. Stayed with extended family in a Capitol Suite & adjoining room. The staff was attentive and helpful. Plenty of on-site parking, but did not discover until the last day that parking on the roof got us closer to the parking elevator. The rooms were nice and clean, but the carpet throughout was worn. The large flat-screen TVs were nice, but we were unable to hook-up our computer or DVD player for the kids. Never understood why there is a charge for Internet in the rooms at upscale hotels, but not the lower-priced ones. Bought a Verizon pre-paid mobile hotspot for less than the cost of the in-room paid Internet. The batroom was huge and very nice. For convenience we had room service breakfast & dinner for the kids, but some of it was too exotic for them, i.e., the sun(flower) butter & jelly sandwiches had a little too much bite for them. Breakfast at the Vines Cafe was very good. Would stay here again if traveling as a couple, but not with kids.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    288
    81
    26
    17
See reviews for
103
113
56
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The noise come from the atrium on the first floor, couldn't sleep until 2am.
Bathroom smelled moldy even though it looks like the top part was recently done.
The location is great.
I guess you can avoid this problems if you ask for higher rooms in the back of the property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Quiet, clean, comfortable, spacious room. Right across from the convention center. Everyone helpful. Easy to catch a cab . Food pretty good in the restaurant. Check in very efficient. Great to dash back to my room during the convention.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks for the great review! Our location is ideal for events at the Convention Center, and I'm glad to hear you had the opportunity to stop in to one of our restaurants! Hopefully we'll see you back in Sacramento soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in January. We had a capital facing room on the 8th floor. Check-in was easy, room was clean, be warned they charge $$ for everything. Super 8 has free internet, what gives. We requested a king, got 2 double beds, that didn't start things of well. A/c worked on and off, both nights it turned off by itself and we woke up hot. Not a recipe for a good nights sleep. Breakfast buffet looked good but not worth $21, steak and eggs was good and $17!

Overall we had a couple events that the hotel catered and the food was excellent. Room was clean, but expensive and they nickel and dime you for everything, oh and the staff were always nice. That would be my summary.

Room Tip: Facing Capitol is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review! I was very happy to see your high scores for the cleanliness of our rooms and our level of Customer Service. In regards to the charge for internet, we do offer complimentary wifi in the lobby and throughout our Amourath Lounge, as well as various packages that include internet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
269 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,077 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here during the Sacramento Jazz Festival on Memorial Day weekend 2013.
Pros:

1. Large entranceway to temporarily park your car while checking in.

2. In and out parking privileges: use the room key to validate when entering and leaving the car in the garage.

3. Very nice almost elegant lobby area with several large rooms for meetings, music gatherings during the Sacramento Jazz festival.

4. Shuttle bus between the Sacramento Jazz festival venues stops right in front of the hotel.

5. Big spacious, almost elegant room with desk, 44" flatscreen HD ble TV, large desk, sitting area with ample lighting.

6. Relatively quiet with effective brakes on the door closing, and a good distance between bed and hallway door.

7. Immaculately clean room with no hairs in the bathtub or linen

8. Big comfortable bed with ample reading lamps, and both sheer and blackout curtains.

9. Our room 650 had a micro balcony with a sliding door that opened all the way -always ask for a room with a balcony, as otherwise you may get stuck with a window that only opens 6 inches at an angle.

10. Room 650 had a nice view of the large park next to the state capitol -a good place for a morning run with no street stops. Always ask for a view of the park or state capitol, instead of the back parking lot with old buildings.

11. Hotel grounds extravangantly decorated with shaped bushes.

12. Centrally located to old downtown and the Capitol mall.

13. 2 blocks walking distance to store on J street with $1 sodas

14. walking distance to Frank Fats and Ma Jong, my favorite chinese restaurants in the Sacramento Area.

15. easy walking distance to the Convention center.

16. Good size pool when the kids aren't taking over the place.

17. Ample lounge chairs next to the pool with refreshments served

18. Free wifi in the business center on ground floor.

19. Courteous and helpful staff with smiles and cheerful dispositions welcoming all guests during all facets of the visit.

20. Hot but pricey breakfast available in the hotel.

21. Great value. $127 for Memorial day weekend 2014 Sacramento Jazz Festival, compared to the $200+ for the Holiday Inn fixer upper by old downtown.

22. I believe they had an all you can eat pasta dinner with salad downstairs for around $15 in the breakfast room.



Cons:

1. $17 per day self park in tiny spaces -our Prius barely fit in the very narrow compact parking spots. This seems to be the norm in downtown Sacramento.

2. $25 per day valet park- mandatory if all the self park spots taken.

3. To reach the parking lot, you may have to take one elevator down to the 2nd floor, walk around the building, and take a second elevator to your parking lot floor

4. No usable refrigerator nor microwave oven -at the price of this hotel, they figure you don't need a refrigerator nor microwave.

5. Mini bar in refrigerator with exorbitant prices.

6. $4 for 12 oz soda from the refrigerator

7. $3 for a 20 oz soda in the hotel concessionaire on the ground floor

8. $10 for in room wifi, $15 for high speed wifi.

9. The 4 Elevators can be slow during busy mornings, requiring lengthy times to wait and reach your rooms or the lobby

10. To reach the parking lot, you may have to take one elevator down to the 2nd floor, walk around the building, and take a second elevator to your parking lot floor

11. To reach the fitness room and gym you have to leave the building and walk around the corner of the block.

12. Noisy A/C

13. Noise from neighbors talking through the connecting door at midnight: they stopped after I pounded on the wall -always ask for a room without a connecting door, although that may not be possible.

14. Meals including breakfast very pricey downstairs. There are a multitude of restaurants nearby for breakfast, lunch, or dinner with much more reasonable prices.


I will use this as a guide to my stay here again for the 2014 Sacramento Jazz Festival.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the park or capitol -you don't want to see the parking lot. Ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! I am very happy to see you enjoyed your stay. We do offer additional package rates, some of which include breakfast, internet, or parking. If you are interested in learning more about these packages please don't hesitate to visit our website or contact the hotel directly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was my first time attending a New Year's Eve party at the Hyatt. I also stayed overnight at the hotel. The party was a lot of fun with a live band and DJ. The bed in the room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed our New Year's Eve party!! Hopefully we will see you back next year as we anticipate it will be bigger and better than ever!! Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were there for a business convention in Sacramento, and this is the first time I stay at this hotel. We arrived around 12:00 pm, and of course it is too early to check in, and we requested about 15 rooms, but that didn't stop the friendly front desk staff from accommodate all of us into our rooms. At first, they put me in a room near the elevators, and I ask them (nicely) is there is a way to change my room, as we all know the rooms near the elevators have ton of traffic, and tend to bit noise. Without hesitation the front desk switch my room to a room with a beautiful view and a balcony with no extra charge. These people will do whatever it takes to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Overall, my colleagues and I are very comfortable with our overall experience, and I sure enjoy the extra TLC that was provided to me. I will definitely stay there again. Just a word of advise, there is a surcharge for WiFi, and parking is NOT free for the hotel guess.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for a room with view, the front desk with whatever possible to accommodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback! Our Front Desk agents strive to provide wonderful customer service, so meeting the requests of our guests is a top priority. We look forward to seeing you next time you return to Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Westin Sacramento
The Westin Sacramento
#22 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
4.0 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Cal Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#2 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#4 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.