We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Sacramento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Business Savvy w/Internet
Ranked #17 of 84 hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersGold level
Poughkeepsie, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The location, across from the spectacular, landscaped gardens of the state Capitol, sets the mood for a wonderful stay. The lobby is large and classic- modern in design--straightlines, dark, neutral color pallet. Comfortable couches and chairs create warm and welcoming areas that are perfect for conversation or relaxing. The staff is well trained, pleasant and helpful. Vines Cafe offers a varied and delicious breakfast buffet each morning. The best of all are the guest rooms: large, light, airy, tastefully decorated, impecably clean and extremely comfortable.
Th beds are heaven. The bathrooms bright and well appointed. A wonderful choice for your stay in Sacramento.

Room Tip: If you request a room in the front you will overlook the gardens and capitol building.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Hyatt Regency should be commende for preserving the environment without sacrificing luxury.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for sharing your review, we look forward to having you back as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    187
    59
    23
    12
See reviews for
53
74
46
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by both Sacramento and the Hyatt Regency. The hotel is located across the street from a beautiful park--more like an arboretum. Our room was very large, squeaky and quiet. We were completely satisfied with our experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the park side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I'm you had a great stay, the park is beautiful this time of year! Thank you for your review, we look forward to having you back as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Top-notch staff at this hotel, but that really only goes so far. I was put in a room adjoining some very noisy foreign tourists who kept talking loudly well into the night (2 am). Had to call down to the front desk twice and have a verbal confrontation with the offenders before it would stop. The staff was very responsive and apologetic, but that doesn't solve the real problems (most likely old construction and paper-thin walls). Otherwise the hotel was very nice.

One other complaint: the pay-to-play wireless internet. Very, very tacky for such a high end hotel. Probably wouldn't stay here again, but there are certainly worse places you could go.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry to hear about the noise disruption you experienced during your stay, but glad our Staff responded so quickly. The hotel does offer complimentary wireless internet throughout the lobby and in our Amourath Lounge, as well as packages that included wireless internet in the room. Again, thank you for taking a few moments to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Checked into the Hyatt at night. Large room, very well appointed. Soft and cushy towels. All that one would look for in a room. The staff were friendly and helpful, directing me to a restaurant I sought, and providing information on alternatives. The lobby itself was spartan and sleek modern design. A little too spartan for me, but that is the look.
On getting up the next morning and opening the window shades I was pleasantly surprised by a lush view of the park next door. Very kind on the eyes. While not a hotel full of character, it has all the amenities and a very nice setting in the capital city.

Room Tip: Get a room on the park side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed the view! Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience, hopefully we will see you next time your travels bring you back to Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Though this is my first review of this hotel, it is my 4th stay here over the past few years. The hotel has remained fresh and current to my travel needs throughout those stays. Rooms are spacious and well-appointed. There are high quality beds and linens and the HVAC, shower and toilets have always functioned effectively. The rooms have been clean and my watchful eye for signs of mold has been pleased by clean grout. Power plugs are plentiful but in my particular room on this stay, their position om the side of the nightstand adjacent to the mattress made them a bit awkward and the nightstand had to be moved to use them. The large flat screen provided a clear picture and the room safe is just a slight bit larger than many which is appreciated. Like many hotels, it would be useful to have better lighting at the full length mirror but the overall lighting is excellent. Because this is a large meeting venue, I suggest asking for rooms away from elevators, in particular on the third floor which has open hallway balconies to the lobby with high noise levels. Pricing was good for this stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
It's great that you found us to be accomodating of the needs for your visit and hopefully, should your travel plans bring you back to Sacramento, you'll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, UT
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, with a great staff to go with it. The rooms are very nice, large, and just nice like you expect at a Hyatt. The bathroom was also very nice, I might add. The breakfast and lunch buffets were also quite good. We also rented a conference room and it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
So glad that you were comfortable and we could help you & your co-workers get the job done. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Sacramento last weekend while we helped move my daughter into the dorms at UC Davis. I've only stayed at one other Hyatt (Austin) and remember it being fabulous... Therefore, we expected more from our 2nd experience with them.

The Good Stuff First: 1. Check-in went good - the service from the luggage guy (are they still called Bellhops?) was great and the front desk personnel were very professional, courteous and quick. 2. The beds were very comfy and clean. 3. The lobby bar had very good service and we loved the almonds that they served with your drink. 4. The parking was very easy to access and it wasn't too expensive to self park.

Bad Stuff: 1. We found our room to be kind of dingy... There was what looked like months worth of hair and dust along the carpet edges, especially along the wall where the bathroom door opened to, as if the door was always open when the room was vacuumed and no one ever checked behind it. There were dirty hand prints all over the interior of the room door and hair on the bathroom floor. 2. We were on the 4th floor, directly above a "smoking station" that was located outside of the pool area. Everyone would come stand at the ash tray and smoke... and of course, all of the smoke would drift up and into our open balcony door. 3. People were allowed to yell and laugh at the pool area well into the night. It was a cool night and we would have liked to have kept our balcony door open, but had to close it because of the noise. 4. The television is set to not allow you to turn up the volume past a certain point. Both my husband and I had a hard time hearing it at the low level the hotel allows. This should be the guest's decision... not the hotel's. 5. We ate breakfast on Sunday in the hotel restaurant and the service was very lacking (the food, when I finally got it was delicious). They weren't that busy, yet we had to ask for coffee and water refills and for ketchup twice. The only attentiveness we got was when they gave us the bill. 6. No plugs on the bedside table. (We were spoiled when we stayed at the Marriott last week!)

Room Tip: Don't get a room above the "smoking area"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry for the issues that you encountered during your stay. The specifics that you described are disappointing and not representative of the high standard to which we hold ourselves. I will be sharing your comments with our Directors of Housekeeping and Food and Beverage so that they might follow-up accordingly. Thank you again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt
Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#12 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.