We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, so-so experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Sacramento to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great staff, so-so experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Top-notch staff at this hotel, but that really only goes so far. I was put in a room adjoining some very noisy foreign tourists who kept talking loudly well into the night (2 am). Had to call down to the front desk twice and have a verbal confrontation with the offenders before it would stop. The staff was very responsive and apologetic, but that doesn't solve the real problems (most likely old construction and paper-thin walls). Otherwise the hotel was very nice.

One other complaint: the pay-to-play wireless internet. Very, very tacky for such a high end hotel. Probably wouldn't stay here again, but there are certainly worse places you could go.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry to hear about the noise disruption you experienced during your stay, but glad our Staff responded so quickly. The hotel does offer complimentary wireless internet throughout the lobby and in our Amourath Lounge, as well as packages that included wireless internet in the room. Again, thank you for taking a few moments to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    239
    71
    22
    16
See reviews for
68
92
49
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Checked into the Hyatt at night. Large room, very well appointed. Soft and cushy towels. All that one would look for in a room. The staff were friendly and helpful, directing me to a restaurant I sought, and providing information on alternatives. The lobby itself was spartan and sleek modern design. A little too spartan for me, but that is the look.
On getting up the next morning and opening the window shades I was pleasantly surprised by a lush view of the park next door. Very kind on the eyes. While not a hotel full of character, it has all the amenities and a very nice setting in the capital city.

Room Tip: Get a room on the park side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed the view! Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience, hopefully we will see you next time your travels bring you back to Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Though this is my first review of this hotel, it is my 4th stay here over the past few years. The hotel has remained fresh and current to my travel needs throughout those stays. Rooms are spacious and well-appointed. There are high quality beds and linens and the HVAC, shower and toilets have always functioned effectively. The rooms have been clean and my watchful eye for signs of mold has been pleased by clean grout. Power plugs are plentiful but in my particular room on this stay, their position om the side of the nightstand adjacent to the mattress made them a bit awkward and the nightstand had to be moved to use them. The large flat screen provided a clear picture and the room safe is just a slight bit larger than many which is appreciated. Like many hotels, it would be useful to have better lighting at the full length mirror but the overall lighting is excellent. Because this is a large meeting venue, I suggest asking for rooms away from elevators, in particular on the third floor which has open hallway balconies to the lobby with high noise levels. Pricing was good for this stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
It's great that you found us to be accomodating of the needs for your visit and hopefully, should your travel plans bring you back to Sacramento, you'll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, UT
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, with a great staff to go with it. The rooms are very nice, large, and just nice like you expect at a Hyatt. The bathroom was also very nice, I might add. The breakfast and lunch buffets were also quite good. We also rented a conference room and it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
So glad that you were comfortable and we could help you & your co-workers get the job done. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Sacramento last weekend while we helped move my daughter into the dorms at UC Davis. I've only stayed at one other Hyatt (Austin) and remember it being fabulous... Therefore, we expected more from our 2nd experience with them.

The Good Stuff First: 1. Check-in went good - the service from the luggage guy (are they still called Bellhops?) was great and the front desk personnel were very professional, courteous and quick. 2. The beds were very comfy and clean. 3. The lobby bar had very good service and we loved the almonds that they served with your drink. 4. The parking was very easy to access and it wasn't too expensive to self park.

Bad Stuff: 1. We found our room to be kind of dingy... There was what looked like months worth of hair and dust along the carpet edges, especially along the wall where the bathroom door opened to, as if the door was always open when the room was vacuumed and no one ever checked behind it. There were dirty hand prints all over the interior of the room door and hair on the bathroom floor. 2. We were on the 4th floor, directly above a "smoking station" that was located outside of the pool area. Everyone would come stand at the ash tray and smoke... and of course, all of the smoke would drift up and into our open balcony door. 3. People were allowed to yell and laugh at the pool area well into the night. It was a cool night and we would have liked to have kept our balcony door open, but had to close it because of the noise. 4. The television is set to not allow you to turn up the volume past a certain point. Both my husband and I had a hard time hearing it at the low level the hotel allows. This should be the guest's decision... not the hotel's. 5. We ate breakfast on Sunday in the hotel restaurant and the service was very lacking (the food, when I finally got it was delicious). They weren't that busy, yet we had to ask for coffee and water refills and for ketchup twice. The only attentiveness we got was when they gave us the bill. 6. No plugs on the bedside table. (We were spoiled when we stayed at the Marriott last week!)

Room Tip: Don't get a room above the "smoking area"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry for the issues that you encountered during your stay. The specifics that you described are disappointing and not representative of the high standard to which we hold ourselves. I will be sharing your comments with our Directors of Housekeeping and Food and Beverage so that they might follow-up accordingly. Thank you again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I spent a weekend exploring Sacramento. The hotel is across from Capital Park, 5 minute walk to the California State Capital, and 15 minute walk to Old Town. There is a bus stop one block from the hotel where you can catch a bus to/from the airport. Like other Hyatt I have stayed, the room is clean and functional; bed comfortable. The window can be opened to let in the cool air at night. The gym is not directly attached to the hotel - it requires going outside and walking a block. Not many restaurants near the hotel are open on weekends or evenings - I believe this is because downtown mainly consists of workers who are there during the weekdays and live elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience. I'm very glad that our property fit your needs well and you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, should your travel plans bring you back to Sacramento, we'll see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Was there for 1 night on business - it was decent enough place. Central to where I needed to be. Clean room. Bathroom was a bit tired and the showers did not work - had to call in maintenance. Food was ok - expensive room service. Nothing more to really add as it was a quick in and out trip. Would probably go back there if on a business trip - was keen to try out their swimming pool but due to traffic from San Fran I got delayed and just crashed as I got to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. I'm sorry you didn't get a chance to try out our pool. We look forward to having you back again in hopes that you can try it out on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#12 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.