We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - PERFECT Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Sacramento to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Clovis, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Hotel - PERFECT Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Hyatt Regency Sacramento is located directly across the street from the state capital and within walking distance of almost everything in downtown Sacramento. This hotel is usually the first choice for people conducting business at the capital (including dignitaries from all over the world) and as such the staff and accommodations are world class. The hotel is on the expensive side but given its location and service, you get what you pay for. I have stayed here numerous times on business and don't know that I would even consider staying anywhere else. This Hotel does clearly cater to business travelers but my family and I have had great experiences there as well.

Room Tip: If you plan on staying here, book as early as you can. This hotel is often sold out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Justin, Thank you so much for your kind words! We reallly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to having you and your family back as our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    233
    70
    22
    16
See reviews for
66
92
49
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Can't go wrong with any Hyatt. Great location downtown and rooms were very nice as expected. Had a view of the state capital out my window. Walking distance from a ton of stuff. Would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We look forward to having you back as our guest!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth, California, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We checked into the hotel after two nights of primitive camping so we welcomed the fantastic shower and comfortable beds. We also liked the ability to do some laundry. The hotel is very business oriented but it offers family enjoyment too. Nice pool and the location is just perfect to explore downtown.
The only disadvantage was that we were not allowed to use the luggage trolley by ourselves. We had to go with a bell boy to the parking garage. It is also not particular handy that one has to change elevators to go to the parking floors. But, not a big issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent! Camping and a stay downtown, sounds like a nice little getaway!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Starting with the front dest Mike was professional and friendly. We had a comfortable room. My one complaint of our room was the set up of the bed facing away from the T.V. my complaint was addressed and the front desk manager offered us a free movie:). My sister and I had the breakfast buffet at (Vines) the hotel restaurant. My sister requested a syrup for her coffee. Our waitress Anna went beyond the call of duty asked the chef if they carried that syrup. Without hesitation the chef went next door to Star Bucks and brought it for my sister. The experience that Anna brought to us made us feel special. I can't express enough how the the customer service we received from this Hyatt made our experience extra special.

Green Features: The food is healthy and delicious. Green friendly.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Awesome comments, thank you so much for sharing your experience!! I will be sure to share your feedback with both Mike and Anna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My family stayed at this property on a whim when we had a couple of days to take a family getaway - we had no specific plans, we just wanted to go somewhere kind of close to home and relax a bit.
The location was great - it is right in the middle of downtown near many restaurants and right across from the capitol building. We were able to walk across to the capitol and walk around the beautiful building and talk to the many available docents who showed us some of the renovated historical rooms (like the old Governor's office). We also walked to the River Cats game at Raley's stadium - a fairly easy 1.5+ mile walk.
Our room had a great view of the capitol, which is lit up at night. As a light sleeper, I was happy that we did not have too much road noise in our room (even though we faced the street) and the fan from the air conditioner was also not too loud. The room was spacious and nicely furnished. And the beds (although too small in my opinion) were quite comfortable as were the pillows.
I do wish hotels would stop using doubles and instead use queen size beds, especially when the room has the square footage to accommodate the slightly bigger beds, which this one did. The queen size beds are so much nicer for families traveling with bigger kids / teenagers.
The bathroom was nice, although I prefer a slightly stronger water stream. We did not run out of hot water which is always a good thing. The towels were fine but could have been a bit bigger and fluffier for the quality of this hotel.
All the Hyatt employees that we came in contact with were quite nice and very accommodating. We also were glad to see that there was an exercise facility and spa - although it is slightly off property, it is fairly convenient to get to and the massages were good (and the list of services was fairly comprehensive for a basic spa) - not too mention incredible prices compared to other hotels of this quality we have been to.
The pool area was quite nice considering it is basically on a street corner - they have done a good job using trees and foliage to enclose the area and there were plenty of cabanas to provide shade in the Sacramento heat. There was also good pool service with a server coming out fairly frequently to see if anyone wanted drinks or food.
The restaurant (Vines) was good for breakfast - the buffet had a lot of good choices and was reasonably priced.
We would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!! We love to hear your feedback, and we look forward to having you back as our guest!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leftcoast
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

When in Sacramento this is my home away from home. The downtown location is right across the street from the Capitol and the convention center. The hotel lobby has been remodeled recently as have most of the rooms. On the food side there is a wide availability in the hotel. The two bars offer small meals and snacks along with appetizers. The breakfast offerings are wide ranging with a large buffett as well as custom cooked to order selections. Dinner selections are varied and tasty with a solid wine list as well. The gym has a large number of aerobic machines and weight machines. There is a pool that has a very comfortable sitting area. For convenience and comfort you can't beat it!

Room Tip: For a nice view of the Capitol face the street; if you want quiet pick the opposite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was one of the better stays I have had at any hotel. I had a great time. The room was perfect. The staff friendly and helpful. I slept really well and don't always in a strange bed.

As it turned out the hotel was at capacity. There were several major events. They did a great job of managing the crowds. I was very impressed.

I would easily recommend the hotel to anyone. A pleasure to stay there and I will be back.

Room Tip: HIgher and over the pool and Capital Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.