We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Sacramento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Business Savvy w/Internet
Ranked #20 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersGold level
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A very nice business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Hyatt for work in March. This hotel was very nice. Room was very clean and modern. The staff was friendly, and helped with a couple special requests, including getting taxis, storing bags with the valet, and checking in early when our plans shifted. The fitness center was very nice, but rather hard to find. The air conditioning was very loud when it cycling on/off. I would really like to give this hotel 4.5 stars. I wouldn't give it five, because I wish the Wi-Fi was free. When the room is $200+/night, I believe the Wi-Fi should be included. It is free in the lobby area, but not in the rooms. I appreciated the extras in the bathroom: toothpaste, cotton swabs, etc, just made for a nicer touch. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    203
    63
    23
    12
See reviews for
56
82
47
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights/ 4 days for a conference. I was given a room on the concierge level (10th floor), which happens to be where the Elite members stay. The ex-governor of CA - Arnold Schwarzenegger - had a suite on the 12th floor. This is where he used to stay when he was in town.

Pretty nice and clean rooms. The extra pillows were delivered to my room before I even hung up the phone with the front desk. Nice!!!

There is free breakfast on the 10th floor. The breakfast is pretty good. They have a espresso/ latte/ cappuccino/ coffee/ tea machine. Decent pastries, too. I didn't eat in the Dawson's grill but, I had drinks at the Dawson's bar. They have a great outdoor seating area, complete with a fireplace. Pretty sweet during the desert evenings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am giving four stars to this review because it means "very good", while three stars means "average". My real review should stand at three and half star, since my found could be defined as good, no more, no less.

The pros:
- Service at reception was fine every time I went, wifi was provided free of charge and all went well at check-in and check-out.
- Rooms were clean, not too noisy, even though I was close to the elevators. Nothing to write home about, but everything you expect from a 5-star property.
- Pool facilities and service was great, we had a great time there, as well as by the lobby bar. Staff was nice overall.
- Restaurant offered a full-breakfats that was very generous and hearty, but pretty much the same throughout the four days I stayed. A bit of variety would have been nice...
- Starbucks within the hotel made it accessible for a great coffee after a morning jog ;-)

The cons:
- Conference rooms were very ordinary, same can be said about food and beverage provided during our event.
- Concierge was useless when I asked about transfers and shuttles options to SFO. I had to basically do all the research myself with my computer, and ended up finding solutions by calling Napa Valley directly (incurring call fees that could have been avoided).
- Service was uneven, sometimes in the restaurant, sometimes at the lobby bar or with concierge. Too bad, because there were some staff that clearly made the effort to exceed client expectations while others barely hit the mark.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I'm so sorry our Concierge was unable to assist you. I will be sure to have them look in to this information to assure they are able to provide options in the future. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here one night in April 2013 and had a great experience. Checkin service was excellent - they were able to accommodate all of my requests (higher floor, king bed, facing downtown) along with a slightly early checkin. I asked about Wifi fees in the room (around $10 for 24h), and was also told there was free wifi in the lobby. The room was very comfortable and quiet - I had a corner room on the 12th floor. I was not familiar with the brand of toiletries, but they seemed to be of good quality. There are the usual (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap) and also toothpaste, a vanity kit, cotton swabs, shower cap, and facial wipes. My room also had slippers, but no robe which I thought was odd.
The location is great if you're going to something at the Capitol or at the convention center. Both are across the street from the Hyatt, and there's a Starbucks next door. It's about a $35 cab ride from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our SKAL convention (SKAL is a word for a Nordic toast) of a bunch of tourism professionals had an outstanding stay at the Hyatt. Their rooms seemed to be recently renovated, beds very comfortable, and I think their bathroom amenities are the best in the business. Staff were all very professional, though I thought almost too stiff and formal at times. But no complaints at all on the service!

My only complaint was the HSIA service not available in the meeting room. I purchased it for myself each day, but it was not available in the meeting room so I would take my Ipad, run out into the lobby where it was free, send the emails to work, run back into the meeting rooms, work a little more, then repeat. So you pay for the room HSIA, get it free in the lobby, but can't get anything in the meeting room.

Room Tip: I would just ask for a room without an adjoining room door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Waiting waiting waiting for > 6 hours for a room. Hyatt needs to hire more housekeeping staff!

Cant show pic of room. Still havent seen it. They said it might be available after 5 pm. I'm gonna have to nap on a sofa in their lobby.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I'm very sorry about the long wait you experienced when you arrived to check-in. Check-in is at 3pm and we certainly do our best to have all rooms available at this time, but occasionally we find ourselves in a situation where specific bed types are not yet available. I apologize for the inconvenience and hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here for just one night on 4/11/13 but was impressed with every aspect of my stay. The staff was truly amazing and went out of their way to assist with everything. Check in was smooth. I requested a quiet room and was given a nice corner room on the 7th floor. The room itself was a typical Hyatt room and was in good shape. The bed was comfortable and provided a great nights sleep. What made this a 5 star review was the staff. Every member of the staff I encountered was friendly, professional, and concerned with the needs of the guest. In one instant a guy cleaning up a banquet room offered to assist me with finding the meeting I was searching for on the display board. In another situation I encountered the most helpful attendant in the Club lounge on the tenth floor. I couldn't even make my own coffee as he insisted on helping me. It appeared that all of the staff from top to bottom were well trained to care about guest satisfaction. That is what makes this review a 5 instead of a 4. Looking forward to staying again when in Sacramento.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to share your experience. Your kind words and recognition will definitely be passed on to our associates, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#20 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.