We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't plan on sleeping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Sacramento to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Business Savvy w/Internet
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
1 review
“Don't plan on sleeping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a room on the club level which was nice, clean and comfortable and we were planning on getting a great night sleep until the 10:00 hour came. The walls are extremely thin and our "neighbor" was playing his music extremely loud. I could hear hm on his cell phone planning his big party night. Doors kept slamming throughout the hall and through the night because the party included other hotel guests on the same floor. Security came 20 minutes after we called but the music wasn't lowered, the doors didn't stop slamming, and people were going down the hallway speaking loud until the early hours of the morning. Needless to say, I couldn't wait to get out of there and get a good night sleep elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I'm very disappointed to hear about your recent stay. We take the tranquility of our guests' stay very seriously and security should have followed up to ensure the noise was brought down to an acceptable level. I am truly sorry and hope you will consider returning should your travels bring you back to Sacramento!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    228
    67
    22
    15
See reviews for
63
90
49
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Modern, stylish decor does not make up for the fact that this "4-star" hotel is really a dressed up motel. Husband & I checked in for a one night "staycation." We would have been more comfortable staying home. What the hotel has going for it - location, ease of parking (garage is adjacent to hotel - but it's not owned by hotel so parking costs extra), Capitol views, friendly customer service - does not make up for what it lacks. Our room had paper thin walls (could hear our neighbors conversations), broken in-room iHome phone charger (an "amenity"), having to pay for wifi ($9.99 or $15.99 packages), HORRIBLY uncomfortable "Hyatt Grand Bed" bed & pillows. Woke up not being able to move my arm & my back is jacked up! Pillows are down. When you lay your head on it, it completely flattens out, leaving you w/ no support and your head on the mattress. Bar & restaurant dead on a Friday night. Nice for intimacy & quick service but empty-feeling.

Room Tip: Do not pay full price for this hotel. Take advantage of a special package or try Priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
I am so sorry to hear about the poor night sleep you experience while staying at the hotel. We do have foam pillows available upon request, but the ihome in the room should have been checked prior to your arrival! Should your travels bring you back to Sacramento please don't hesitate to contact us in advance and we will be happy to prepare a room without down pillows. Thank you for you valuable feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in the downtown area of Sacramento. It is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. There is a very nice pool with a great place to hang by the pool. We had the breakfast package that included buffet and made to order omletes which was delicious .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect from this property, and ended up being pleased with my choice. The hotel is centrally located. It's across the street from the capital and an easy walk to restaurants, museums, shopping and old town.

Check in was easy and friendly. The room was clean and well appointed, and housekkeping was efficient. The bathroom was sized properly and came with typical hotel amenities including toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion. I'm a light sleeper and found the soundproofing perfectly fine. Bed was ver, very comfortable.

There were plenty of restaurant choices in the hotel and a Starbucks directly attached to it. It cost an extra $17 to self park you car in the garage.

This s a reasonably priced hotel, with great location. You can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of the state capital. Beautiful during day and night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This Hyatt is perfectly located in the Capital of California. The rooms are more modern, but always very clean. The food is fresh and delicious both in the restruants and with room service. The lobby bar is a nice gathering spot. The pool is fine, but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: One thing to really avoid is a room that looks over th parking lot--there are some where you feel yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I were very excited to spend the night in this nice hotel. Don't stay here. The rooms are nicely decorated, but the walls are thin and we had a very upsetting situation. It seemed that our room happened to be next door to a person who was entertaining guests through the night and morning for sexual encounters. When we call security they took a long time to respond and then acted like it really wasn't a problem. No room was available to change us to and we had a pretty sleepless night. In the morning an alarm went off and clear as day heard one man say to the other so where are you from. Room was quiet until 10am and it all started again. We couldn't get out of this hotel soon enough. Enough said.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megahn S, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
I am disappointed to hear about your experience as well. Security should have responded in a timely manner, but I assure you we take the comfort and tranquility of our guest's stay very seriously. Hope you will view this as an isolated incident, and should you return to Sacramento we would love another opportunity to have you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels in Sacramento. Even though this is not my first choice, it is an easy second place. The hotel is located across from the Capitol and is within walking distance to many restaurants. Today it appeared that housekeeping was slow as there was a long wait for a room and the room was not 100 percent clean so you can tell cleaning was rushed. They also do not have an airport shuttle, which would be nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#9 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#15 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.