We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time in Sacramento” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Sacramento to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Business Savvy w/Internet
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice time in Sacramento”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just stayed at the Hyatt this past week to see a Broadway musical (Wicked) in Sacramento, with my mom and daughter. The location was great, never had to move our car after we parked it in valet parking. Valet parking was overpriced as it is in most major California cities ($25.00 per night).

The staff at the hotel were all wonderful. We recieved an upgrade so we were able to use the lounge on the 10th floor for snacks and breakfast. John was wonderful asisting us with our breakfast and answering any questions we had.

Our room was a standard room with two double beds and a flat screen tv. Bathroom was small but met our needs for one night. We had a great view of the State Capital building which was very nice.

The best part of staying at this Hyatt was the location. The theater was across the street and we had a great selection of restaurants within walking distance.

Next time we travel to Sacramento to see another musical this is the hotel we will be staying at.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at the hotel. We greatly appreciate your patronage, and especially your wonderful feedback regarding John in Regency Club. I'll be sure to pass your comments along to him, as I know he'll be delighted to hear them. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon! Maybe for Romeo and Juliet in October?

Warm Regards,

Lauren Gilmore
Guest Services Manager
lauren.gilmore@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    227
    67
    22
    14
See reviews for
63
90
48
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

If this hotel were anywhere else it would be 3 stars at most. But it's practically next to state Capitol, Capitol park, lots of great restaurants, theaters, and museums so you can spend a weekend here and be totally entertained. Lobby is nice and clean. Bar connects nicely to pool and outdoor patio. Great breakfast buffet and restaurant. Rooms are pretty average though. Had a room with nice view of Capitol Park but you could hear furniture moving around in other rooms. Pretty good value though so would definitely recommend this to people visiting Sacramento.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Internet is a minimum of 10$ per day. Printing four sheets of paper from a USB key was $10 as there is a minimum $7.50 charge to use a computer to print in the self serve business centre. A plate of pasta and a beer was $42 before tip via room service. The worse part is that I was booked in a room with a terrific view of the hotel parking lot (room 911) and this is an adjoining room with a connecting door to another room. I could hear all of the details of the man next door's personal business calls and him taking a shower. I felt as though we were college roommates, except this doormroom was $200 per night!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I apologize that your stay was not the relaxing and peaceful experience we are accustomed to providing. We do have many rooms with spectacular views of the Capitol building and park, as well as some rooms with a nice view of the Cathedral, and I'm sorry to hear that the view from your room was unsatisfactory. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly if we can assist with ensuring your next stay with us is an enjoyable one.

Lauren Gilmore
Guest Services Manager
lauren.gilmore@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

There is a blatantly artificial odor upon entering the lobby and that is the worst part of the visit. The room is clean and modern. It has an oversize flat screen TV. Some rooms have a great view of the Capitol and its surrounding park. The restaurants are very good, but pricey even by hotel standards. Great lobby bar. Checkin was automated and very easy. Without fail, every staff member was friendly and helpful. One of the nicer business hotels I've stayed in for quite awhile.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at the Hyatt Regency Sacramento. We do appreciate your feedback! I'm not certain what would have caused the artifical odor upon entering the hotel, but will have our housekeeping team investigate; perhaps there was some project cleaning going on during your visit. I'm glad you were able to experience some of our exceptional staff, and we certainly hope to welcome you back in the future!

Warm Regards,

Lauren Gilmore
Guest Services Manager
lauren.gilmore@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Staff is extra friendly. Several lightbulbs were out in my room, but they have plenty of lamps, so not really a big deal. Ideal location, close to old Sacramento and several restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at this property one time before a few years back and believe that they have gone through some recent updating. I arrivedaround 1:30 pm and had no problems getting my room early. The staff all the way around was very friendly. Checki-in was smooth and I quickly found myself in my King room. The room is well appointed and I had a great view from the 6th floor of the Capitol. The bathroom only had a shower, which was not a problem but if you are wanting a tub you may check with the front desk. Bed and ammenities were great.

This hotel is right across the street from the Capitol park - a great place for an evening stroll. There are lots of great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and the staff will point you to some great ones.

You won't go wrong staying at this property.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thanks for the review! We're glad you found some good eats near the hotel, and that the room was to your liking. We do offer rooms with bathtubs as well, and, as you noted, a guest need only mention this preference upon check in. We'd be delighted to have you back for a future visit!

Warm Regards,

Lauren Gilmore
Guest Services Manager
lauren.gilmore@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
843 helpful votes 843 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We arrived at 2pm on the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend. Our room was
ready (4pm check in), so we used the self park at $17 a day, instead of the
$25 a day (plus tip) valet service.

Some reviewers have noted that at times self-park was not available. One could park at the 10th street Capitol Garage for $5 per day weekends and $5 per night. By contrast the Embassy Suites charges $25 a day to park, and $6 per hour to
valet park. On street parking is $1.25 per hour 8am-6pm Mon-Sat with a 1 or 2 hour limit and very scarce.

We found all 150+ self-park spaces on the lower four levels of the parking
garage were filled, although many of the 100+ valet only spots on the lower
levels were vacant, but not available to us. On the fifth level, we were
able to find a spot, but the parking spaces were tight, even for our small
Civic sedan. Later we went out in the car that evening, and
came back late at night to fit into an even tighter "compact" spot -it was
so tight that my wife had to get out first, before parking. If you have a
choice, bring your small car to park, and expect new door dings .

We stayed in room 720 during Memorial Day Weekend May 26-28.
The room was huge. It had a king sized bed, but could have fit two full
sized beds if needed. Two glass covered night stands, each with lamps on
both sides of the bed. A chaise lounge with a standing lamp, and the usual
5 wheeled leather desk chair next to a desk with still another lamp. A 44"
flat screen HD TV for watching all the ESPN channels. Sliding glass window (it slides 2") with a view of the Capitol and Capitol Park, but no balcony.

There is the usual infamous mini bar refrigerator ($4 for a 12 ounce soda,
$9 for 4.5 ounces of cashews), but no refrigerator, nor microwave for our
own food. I guess if you can afford the $169 room (the lowest online price
available on this Memorial Day weekend) they don't expect you to need a
refrigerator or microwave. There is a small shop on the first floor where you can get snacks -only $3 for the 20 ounce soda, and open until 11pm. Walk 2 short blocks to J street, and you can get a 12 ounce soda for $1. The price of convenience

The place was immaculately clean- even the toilet seat and the insides of the toilet bowl
shined! Only two high quality bath towels, but the used towels were
replaced daily. Ultra modern state of the art, low water usage, high flush
toilet. No bathroom vent, but the bathroom and shower were spacious enough that they didn't need a vent. Individual packaged shampoo, soap, head cap for showering, and even toothpaste provided. You can ask for a newspaper to be placed at your door.

We were far from the elevators and far from the ice room, and never heard
our neighbors except when I was in the bathroom, when the neighbors ran a
shower. Very good noise insulation, even when we turned off the noisey A/C
and heater. The sound of even closing the front door was muffled. And we heard no noise through the locked attached door to the neighbors. Remember this was a fully booked hotel.

I had a good night sleep both nights, although the bed sagged in the
middle. And the digital readouts of the clock were not luminescent at night.

They had a $20 per person breakfast buffet, which we passed. We walked through the garage to eat a $7.50 breakfast at Magnolia at 1200 k street. We also skipped the in house restaurant. Lunch or dinner at Frank Fat's 800 L street, or Ma Jong 1400 L street.

Good sized pool for wading and even lap swimming -no diving as only 5' deep. Also a hot tub. They had misters on the sunny side of the pool to keep people cool. Immaculate landscaping on the grounds, including bushes cut into figurines shapes.

Exemplary customer relations. The maid and the parking attendant smiled and greeted us on our way out, and thanked us for staying at the hotel. They allowed us to park after the noon checkout time, until 4pm Monday, when the parking garage was about a quarter full. We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible, preferably farther away from L street, and as far away from the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thanks for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to comment, and are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, the room, and the views. We hope to see you back next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#9 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.