We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you ask for?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Sacramento to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Business Savvy w/Internet
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersGold level
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
805 helpful votes 805 helpful votes
“What more could you ask for?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We arrived at 2pm on the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend. Our room was
ready (4pm check in), so we used the self park at $17 a day, instead of the
$25 a day (plus tip) valet service.

Some reviewers have noted that at times self-park was not available. One could park at the 10th street Capitol Garage for $5 per day weekends and $5 per night. By contrast the Embassy Suites charges $25 a day to park, and $6 per hour to
valet park. On street parking is $1.25 per hour 8am-6pm Mon-Sat with a 1 or 2 hour limit and very scarce.

We found all 150+ self-park spaces on the lower four levels of the parking
garage were filled, although many of the 100+ valet only spots on the lower
levels were vacant, but not available to us. On the fifth level, we were
able to find a spot, but the parking spaces were tight, even for our small
Civic sedan. Later we went out in the car that evening, and
came back late at night to fit into an even tighter "compact" spot -it was
so tight that my wife had to get out first, before parking. If you have a
choice, bring your small car to park, and expect new door dings .

We stayed in room 720 during Memorial Day Weekend May 26-28.
The room was huge. It had a king sized bed, but could have fit two full
sized beds if needed. Two glass covered night stands, each with lamps on
both sides of the bed. A chaise lounge with a standing lamp, and the usual
5 wheeled leather desk chair next to a desk with still another lamp. A 44"
flat screen HD TV for watching all the ESPN channels. Sliding glass window (it slides 2") with a view of the Capitol and Capitol Park, but no balcony.

There is the usual infamous mini bar refrigerator ($4 for a 12 ounce soda,
$9 for 4.5 ounces of cashews), but no refrigerator, nor microwave for our
own food. I guess if you can afford the $169 room (the lowest online price
available on this Memorial Day weekend) they don't expect you to need a
refrigerator or microwave. There is a small shop on the first floor where you can get snacks -only $3 for the 20 ounce soda, and open until 11pm. Walk 2 short blocks to J street, and you can get a 12 ounce soda for $1. The price of convenience

The place was immaculately clean- even the toilet seat and the insides of the toilet bowl
shined! Only two high quality bath towels, but the used towels were
replaced daily. Ultra modern state of the art, low water usage, high flush
toilet. No bathroom vent, but the bathroom and shower were spacious enough that they didn't need a vent. Individual packaged shampoo, soap, head cap for showering, and even toothpaste provided. You can ask for a newspaper to be placed at your door.

We were far from the elevators and far from the ice room, and never heard
our neighbors except when I was in the bathroom, when the neighbors ran a
shower. Very good noise insulation, even when we turned off the noisey A/C
and heater. The sound of even closing the front door was muffled. And we heard no noise through the locked attached door to the neighbors. Remember this was a fully booked hotel.

I had a good night sleep both nights, although the bed sagged in the
middle. And the digital readouts of the clock were not luminescent at night.

They had a $20 per person breakfast buffet, which we passed. We walked through the garage to eat a $7.50 breakfast at Magnolia at 1200 k street. We also skipped the in house restaurant. Lunch or dinner at Frank Fat's 800 L street, or Ma Jong 1400 L street.

Good sized pool for wading and even lap swimming -no diving as only 5' deep. Also a hot tub. They had misters on the sunny side of the pool to keep people cool. Immaculate landscaping on the grounds, including bushes cut into figurines shapes.

Exemplary customer relations. The maid and the parking attendant smiled and greeted us on our way out, and thanked us for staying at the hotel. They allowed us to park after the noon checkout time, until 4pm Monday, when the parking garage was about a quarter full. We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible, preferably farther away from L street, and as far away from the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thanks for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to comment, and are so glad you enjoyed your time with us, the room, and the views. We hope to see you back next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    219
    67
    22
    12
See reviews for
60
85
47
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night on business.
The location is great.
Our room was average, the bathroom was small with a very small sink,
no mini-fridge-only a mini bar. There was noise all night.
You have to pay $17.50 per car for self-parking.
They give you only 2 towels.
For the price, you are basically paying for the location.
I have stayed at other Hyatt hotels that are much nicer.
The front desk staff was not entirely welcoming either.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice, ca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I have stayed here many times and it is always reliable. Excellent rooms always clean, good staff, vibrant bar etc.. Good location if you’re going to the capitol otherwise you’re in downtown Sacramento so unless there for business don’t why else you would stay here.

Booked a corner executive room they were sold out so the check-in computer gave me a suite. What a great suite would have been great if I was entertaining some folks or got a chance to use it more. But all the rooms have always been great.

Ate at Dawsons restaurant this time in the hotel I think I ate their last time a few years ago. Service was great food was just so-so probably better options around nothing impressive about the food.

Room Tip: Corner room or suite is always good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1209LStreet, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for the great review! I'm glad you were able to enjoy one of our Park Capitol Suites, they're great for entertaining. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This hotel is located right across the street from the state capitol building. The grounds are lovely, the rooms are spacious, the housekeeping staff does an excellent job, and we were very pleased with each encounter we had with any staff member in the building. They are very willing to help with any need one has, and it is done professionally and most often with a smile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at least 8 floors up overlooking the Capitol grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1209LStreet, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sacramento, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Hi Deborah,

Thanks for the great review! I agree that our location is tough to beat, and am glad you've been able to experience some of our wonderful staff. We hope to have you back to visit soon!

Warm regards,

Lauren Gilmore
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Was in town on business and decided on this property given its location near the capitol. Really had a pleasant stay overall. The room was clean and bed comfortable, and the shower was amazing. The restaurants onsite were easy to take part in, and the open bar in the lobby had a fun, busy vibe.

The hotel is a pretty long cab ride from the airport, but if you'll be in the city anyway then I'd recommend staying here.

Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Ive stayed here for past ten years hen I need a get away from the hectic day to day city life.the hotel just went through major remodel and the rooms are great , nice hot to relax after a great meal at Dawson's in the hotel ,I recommend there four star prime rib yummy . The pool is nice and there is a great bar in hotel as well. It's located in capital park right across the street. There's great fire places outside to relax unwind while having some nice hotel cocktails . Beds are comfy and rooms have large flat screen tvs, everything you need to unwind.

Room Tip: Ask for room with small balcony that overlooks pool or capital both great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

comfy beds and big bathrooms, great shower. Otherwise, it has the standard style of a Hyatt that isn't much to write home about. Good location. Great park to walk/run around. I don't think I would stay here for a non-business reason, but I can't complain about it. The parking situation was good. There is a large lot this is attached to the hotel. $17/day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.