We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel BUT beware the Mini Bar!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Sacramento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Business Savvy w/Internet
Ranked #20 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersGold level
Bonney Lake
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A nice hotel BUT beware the Mini Bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in July 2011 for a Train Collectors Convention. Several weeks before I traveled there was all kinds of news stories about Arnold Schwarzenegger's affair with his maid and how all of that occured here at the Hyatt. Sure enough, when I got into my room on the eight floor the housekeeper neglected to pickup the empty condom box on the floor! So maybe Schwarzenegger was here! I paid $130.00 per night which was a special rate the Train club got us plus $17.00 a day for parking. The hotel is right across the street from the California State Capitol and I could see it from my balcony. Room was decent size and featured air conditioning and a big screen TV (volume only goes up to 31). There was even a safe in the room for storing valuables. Bed was soft. The Hyatt gets 4 stars instead of 5 for 2 reasons. Number 1, in the bathroom there was only 1 towel bar. I bring some special cloths for cleaning my glasses and like to have extra towel bars. The other thing you have to watch out for is the mini bar. it is sensor activated and if it senses you pull out a bottle of drinking water $4.00 is charged to your hotel bill. If you pull out the bottle of wine $28.00 is charged! If you go downstairs and to one of the mini markets in the neighborhood you can get the same bottle of wine for $8.00. Otherwise the location is great. Many fine restaurants are withing walking distance and there are a lot of sights to see in Sacramento such as the Train Museum. Try to avoid the Hyatt's restarants, they are pricey! Yes I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book early if going to a Convention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    212
    67
    22
    12
See reviews for
59
85
47
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Overall we like Hyatts and seek them out as possible. This was just a quick get-away weekend... both have stayed here before and liked it enough to return. Rates favorable on the weekends, especially to state employees. Most amenities and qualities at this property are commensurate with what you would expect from a Hyatt - excellent service and nicely appointed, clean common areas. This property is convenient to the capitol, capitol park and local restaurants. Easy on and off freeway. But to nit-pick a little - we got away to sit pool-side one full day. The weather cooperated but we, and others at the pool, were disappointed to find this heated pool to be very cold. Furthermore, our bathroom had some splatters on the door and the vent in the shower needed cleaning. Internet access is an additional charge.. Otherwise it was a fine experience and we'll be back once Hyatt decides to crank up the heat in the pool.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The Hyatt Regency has a very good if not the best location for downtown. Right across from the Park and capital. Rooms seem like they are recently updated, very modern and comfy. I love the mini bar and snacks in the room - great selection. Many hotels do not offer this anymore. I love the option to buy snacks right out of my room. My only complaint about my stay is that I had to move from my Regency Club room to the 5th floor because the noise on the club level was too loud, kids in nearby room kept playing in the stairwell along side my room. When I got my room on the 5th floor I arrived back later in the afternoon to find the A/C was not blowing cool air. I stopped by the desk to report it but nobody ever came to fix it. I left for a few hours and came back, still broken. It was 98 outside this day and the room was hot. I did not sleep well. The other complaint is that I learned that my room package included breakfast for two daily once I checked out after 2 days. They never told me at check-in, you'd think they would tell you where it is served, etc. Oh well. Other than these items the stay was good and I'd return again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I travel a lot and have had some of the best customer service ever at the Hyatt in Albuquerque. They need to send their staff to train the staff at the Hyatt in Sacramento. The gal at reception was bored and boring. Chipped nail polish, poorly trained with information regarding the hotel and surroundings. She didn't give me the conference rate even though I told her why I was there (corrected later by management). To me, reception is the most important part of my experience. I had been traveling 8 hours was beat and then greeted by her.

Not a good start.

The room was lovely, parking expensive and not great, noise (I was on 6th floor) from street loud most of the night, poor directional sings to conference.

Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Loved our stay. Traveled with my husband on his business trip. Room was comfy and clean, great tables and chairs, seemed newly redone. Great location - across the street from the state capitol, next to the convention center, a short walk to a mall, plenty of dining. Great food in the restaurant, lovely fireplaces outside for evening cigars and socializing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We booked four nights in the allergy friendly Respire Rooms. To our dismay, even thought the tea tree oil cannister was removed from the room, the residual oil odor filled the room and we had to leave the hotel in the middle of the night because I was having difficulty breathing and no other rooms were available. Although, many of the features of allergy proofing were followed, the fragrance from the oil and some fragrance found in the soap, etc. in the bath made this room uninhabitable.

Just wanted to warn people sensitive to fragrance that the rooms are a nightmare!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The HR Sacramento is a large hotel with numerous amenities including conference facilities. It is located across the street form the State Capitol and within walking distance of plenty of restaurants, nightlife and tourist sights. It is also near the light rail. Rooms are a generous size and modern with comfortable beds and windows that open. We found very reasonable weekend rates, but budget $17 if you plan to self-park in their garage.

I tend to hold a hotel like the Hyatt to a high standard, but frankly this one fell short. Housekeeping was poor, leaving blue toothpaste on the counter and door, pills unvacuumed on the floor, dust bunnies you could cut with a knife in the bathroom air vent, hair and soap in the shower, and a stale smell of cigarettes in the hall and elevator. To Hyatt's credit, when we mentioned these shortcomings without any drama, the receptionist kindly gave us a generous discount and took notes for a manager. It is to be hoped that in the future, housekeeping is not so overworked that they cannot perform their duties.

I would recommend the hotel with reservations.

Room Tip: corner rooms like 622 are bigger than average
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sacramento

Address: 1209 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sacramento 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier hotel beckons with world-class amenities located adjacent to the convention center and the State Capitol. This mediterranean-style hotel is an ideal setting for meetings and receptions. Fresh from a $15M renovations, the hotel sets the standard for business excellence with 503 elegant rooms, including 17 suites, Hyatt Business Plant and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sacramento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.