We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Sacramento

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Sacramento to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5321 Date Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95841 (Formerly Holiday Inn Northeast Sacramento)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is a very nice, clean hotel. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and provided for all our needs. The lobby provided a nice place to hang out and relax. Everything about the Room was designed for comfort.

Had it not been for the overpriced and awful (and I mean awful) breakfast buffet, this might have gotten 5 circles. It was so bad, I almost gave the hotel only 3 circles. If you don’t get my meaning here, DO NOT EAT THE BUFFET BREAKFAST.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're very glad that you liked MOST of your stay. We're sharing your comments with our Executive Chef and our Food & Beverage Director. Obviously; we need to re-examine our breakfast buffet. Thank you for helping us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    49
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
23
12
12
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days for a business trip. Good customer service. Nice hotel. The bed was very comfortable. Downfalls..... No fridge or microwave in the room. There is a Target within walking distance in case you forget anything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We're very glad that you were happy with our staff and your accommodations. Please note that we do have some mini fridge/microwave units available. Please let the Front Desk agent know that you would like one.
Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a death in the family and needed a hotel for all family that was traveling to get to the funeral. The rate was very good and the customer service to set up the block of rooms was excellent. I stayed 5 nights and the rest of the family stayed one or two nights. My room was on the 6th floor which is the designated quiet floor - it was great as I had to work most days. So I was thrilled with the rate, room and quiet. My other familiy members were not that happy. They also were on the "quiet" 6th floor, but near their room there was a party going on. Apparently they called 5 times to the front desk to no avail so they were upset at the funeral and exhausted after traveling so far with no sleep. Family members on other floors liked their rooms. but also complained about noise level. I think it was my room position that kept me so quiet. I guess if you are looking for quiet, this might not be the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the end of hallways (only people on one side) and NOT near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Were very sorry for your family's loss. While we are happy that YOUR stay was comfortable and quiet; please express our sincere apologies to the members of your family that were disturbed by the noisy group. There is no excuse for our staff not quieting the group down so that they were no bothering our other guests. We are sharing your comments with our Rooms Director to review with his Front Desk and Security staffs. Thank you for alerting us to the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights here for Navy ship reunion...my husband has some mobility challenges, staff went out of their way to accomodate his needs.....we had nearly all of our meals there including terrific breakfast buffets...the best part of the stay was the personal touch that staff brought to each guest, from the front desk to housekeeping and dining staff . We would definitely stay there again...

Room Tip: Ask to be on the inside of the building to avoid some freeway noise
See more room tips
Green Features: Attention was paid to conserving natural resources
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We were honored to have your reunion at the hotel. We hope you can visit us again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

And a great time was had by all!!! Another one of our great reunions with the USS FLOYD B. PARKS DD884 shipmates and families. This hotel was just top notch from beginning to end. From the gorgeous hotel lobby to the large and spacious hospitality room and on to our sleeping rooms. We were greeted by the wonderful people at the front desk who checked us in flawlessly. Great job Parveen & staff. On to our sleeping rooms where we had plenty of room to spread out and the beds were awesome to rest on. Gave us a really good nights sleep. The restaurant served a great buffet breakfast and our gang took advantage of it daily. Be sure to try the "Turkey With An Attitude" sandwich for lunch....great!!! Of course everything is prepared by "Chef Troy" who is just the best ever. He does all sorts of amazing desserts and especially chocolate!! For our stay there, we worked with Convention Services Manager, Karen Grenz who was one step ahead of us at all times. If she can't do it, it can't be done. Brad Ross is the very best Director of Sales that we have been in touch with. Always, always, he made it possible in every way for us to stay at the Crowne Plaza in Sacramento. And finally, hotel manager, Tom Hagreen did it all including helping to serve our morning buffet to get us all on buses early for our trips and tours. If you are looking for a one stop hotel, this is the place. They will pamper you like you've always dreamed of and make sure you are taken care of completely. There is a neat swimming pool that many of our crew and their families took advantage of daily. They loved it. The lobby of this hotel is extremely spacious and has a media center in it also. Wi Fi is available throughout the hotel which was handy for all of our shipmates. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job on our rooms each day and were very friendly. This hotel is right off the freeway but not surrounded by the noise. Easy to get to and lots of parking. So if you are headed anywhere near Sacramento, please visit this Crowne Plaza on Date Ave and they will take very good care of you. Thank you so very much to all who took great care of our veterans and their families....you are THE BEST!!!.....hugs to all, Bill & Sue Birdsong

Room Tip: All rooms are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Wow! How would you like a job helping us write our next brochure? We were honored to have your group with us. We could not have asked for a nicer group of people. Please, please, PLEASE come back and see us whenever you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was nice and quiet, well-maintained. Sadly the pool was closed for about 36 hours during our stay because of some maintenance issues and I had really counted on it. I selected this place because it was near my aging mother's house and I flew down to visit her. I didn't want to rent a car and I am strong and it was in walking distance. There are lots of fast food places and chain stores which I do not consider a plus, but some do. There is some open space nearby and even a playground if you know where to look in the neighborhood. Restaurant in the building and a free drink as a welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're very sorry that the pool was unavailable during your stay. We understand how frustrating that can be. Unfortunately; the work was necessary. We hope the weather will be nice enough for you to use the pool the next time you come to see your mother. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night with the hubby. It smells fresh and clean, the bed was comfy as we stayed in an executive king room, nice pool area. Only complaint is the place a $100 deposit on top of what the room is.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pchand, Manager at Crowne Plaza Sacramento, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay. The $100 deposit is in lieu of having a credit card on file for incidentals. We hope that it wa not an inconvenience for you.
Thanks again and please come see us whenever you're in Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sacramento

Address: 5321 Date Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95841 (Formerly Holiday Inn Northeast Sacramento)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Sacramento 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****The Hotel just finished multi-million dollar renovation*****Centrally located off I-80 and Madison Avenue, the Crowne Plaza Sacramento is situated between downtown Sacramento and Roseville. This Sacramento hotel is just 15 minutes from the Sacramento International Airport (SMF), and six miles from Cal Expo. The Crowne Plaza is a preferred hotel for McClellan Business Park travelers and those visiting the Natomas Business Park. Join us in our Arbor Grille© for fantastic California cuisine. Enjoy Arbor Grille for your favorite beverage and nightly drink specials. In-room dining is also available. Maintain your exercise regime in our workout room or visit California Family Fitness across the street at a special guest rate. Swim year round in our outdoor pool and relax in the whirlpool spa.Businesses near hotel: Northrup Grumman, Raytheon, Sears, Lowes, SBC, Hewlett Packard. Points of interest near hotel: Thunder Valley Casino, Sunrise Shopping Mall, Galleria Shopping Mall, Arden Faire Mall, American River College, Historic Old Sacramento, Cherry Island, Freedom Park, Maidu Park, Skatetown, Arco Arena, Sacramento State University. Recreation near hotel: Century movie theaters, Haggin Oaks Golf Courses, Scandia Miniature golf and batting cages, Mardi Gras Bowling Lanes, McClellan Aviation Museum, Discovery Museum Science & Space Center. Earn $25 of free gas daily reserve our Gasoline Packages today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sacramento Hotel Sacramento
Holiday Inn Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Sacramento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.