We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good location for old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Walk right out the door then under the freeway and you're at old town in 3 minutes. Hotel facilities were acceptable. WiFi was good. Pool was small but good enough for the kids. Restaurant was reasonably priced and the bread for my sandwich was rather hard but the service was good. Hotel had plenty of parking and well lit but never saw any security. It's possible for someone to enter the parking structure from "I" street and exit without any view from the hotel or even the parking attendant so I had some concerns about the security. You can walk to the Capital within about 15 minutes but be prepared to pass many homeless and mentally ill on the streets. Room was clean and everything worked as expected. Based on your needs, it's reasonable for the price.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    94
    49
    12
    12
See reviews for
37
44
15
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel only because the conference I was attending was at their facility. I was very pleasantly surprised. I have been in some old tired HI's but my room was updated and fresh. They also let me check in when I arrived around 11am although I did hear them telling other people that they would have to wait until 3. Apparently because I was checked into the "executive floor" I got special treatment. Good to know. With the floor I was also supposed to get turn down service with a "treat" but that never happened.

The executive floor came with a small suite I could use in the evening for a glass of wine and a snack and in the morning for a continental breakfast. It was really just a hotel room with the beds replaced with a few tables and chairs, a couch with a big screen tv and a little array of food. In the evening there were chicken wings, cheese, fruit and wine. In the morning there was coffee, cereal, fruit salad and some danishes. When I asked about yogurt there were just 2 of the 4 oz ones- which was fine for me all I wanted was a little something and coffee. But my male traveling partner wanted something a little more substantial- asking (jokingly) where the omelette station was.

I like the fact that I could walk behind the hotel to a little shopping area. There was a Macy's,Forever 21 & a Hallmark Store. There was also a movie theater and several places to eat. It certainly wasn't huge but large enough to kill some time before heading out to dinner.

Also right outside was a little longer walkway under the freeway which lead to Old Sacramento town. This is a few scruffy city blocks with a wild assortment of shops ranging from the fun (a costume store) to the just odd (Peruvian Crafts?). The nice thing is all the shops are independently owned. It was ok to wander around with an ice cream after dinner but there wasn't anything I wanted to buy. It might be what they were going for in atmosphere- but the whole place had a very dusty, rundown feeling.

My only complaint abut the hotel is a minor one- I had to physically "check out" to get a receipt. When I asked why there wasn't one under the door I was told that was just for their club members. I belong, but because my lodging had been prepaid by my client I just hadn't thought to give them my # and wasn't asked about it at checkin.

Green Features: Sheets and towels were all optional to be replaced daily.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Almanor, Ca
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Went to this hotel for a two day business trip. Walk out the side door and you are steps away from Old Sacramento. There used to be a two story mall but everything is almost abandoned. Macy's and a few small stores are left. I heard a basketball stadium is moving in. The rooms are average size. The rooms don't have refrigerators or microwaves. The room is clean and the bathroom has lots of counter space. Parking costs $16.00 per day and valet is two dollars more. Staff was very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: The California Cobb salad at the hotel restaurant was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This facility is two blocks from the Amtrak station which also is an inter-modal station for the local light rail system. They have a restaurant, bar, and a convention center on the premises. A short walk to the North is the city historic district with numerous restaurants/bars and a rail museum. The rooms are as expected for and IHG property, my stay was for two nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I booked this hotel through Priceline, not sure exactly what to expect. The workers were all very pleasant and willing to provide ideas for sightseeing and restaurants. Our room was decorated with new furnishings and an updated bathroom. We heard little noise from surrounding rooms. Beds were very cozy. Location was a quick walk to the downtown shopping area and Old Town Sacramento district. We were flying out the next day, and getting to the airport from the hotel was a breeze. If we're back in the area, I will definately book this hotel again. Thanks for the great stay, Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weed, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Had a reservation lost at another location and Priceline hooked us up with this last minute deal. A short family meeting with our daughter ended up being a wonderful evening spent eating wonderful food at the Brewery next door and then walking to Old Sacramento and enjoying a beautiful evening in October just before Halloween. This is the best location in Sacramento. Next to a mall and a large Macy's, a food court and theatre and of course Old Sacramento which has a life of its own at night. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Nice view from higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Clean, nice staff, easy off and on the I-5; on site cafe is nice and one of the best options for lunch as the down town is busy during the work day lunch hour with all the state offices near the Capitol. Let them park your car, for two bucks more it is well worth as self park is a public lot which is very close but if you return late at night it is worth letting them take cRe of you! Which, they do very well! The mall next door (so close!) has a nice Macy's but is in the process of a remodel starting soon which will include the new stadium for the Sacramento Kings. This hotel will be in prime location once that is complete. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza

Address: 300 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#24 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Sacramento Capitol Plaza-Downtown/Old Sacramento caters to both corporate and leisure travel and is set in the heart of vibrant & historic downtown Sacramento. Always remember - 'Green is INN'! Our Sacramento Hotels Old Town has attractions you won't want to miss located within 4 blocks of the hotel include; Historic Old Sacramento, and Sacramento Hotels Downtown complimentary wireless and pillow top bedding to provide relaxation after a full day. Other attractions you won't want to miss are: Sacramento Zoo, Arco Arena (Home of the Sacramento Kings), Sutter s Fort. The Sacramento, CA Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza is close to the University of Davis (Go Aggies), California State University of Sacramento (Go Hornets), Kaiser Hospital, Sutter Hospital, Wells Fargo, SBC, Siemens Inc., Wachovia Financial. Our Sacramento Hotels on the River offers 359 guestrooms and 16 stories for the perfect view of the Sacramento River. We are located 12 miles from the Sacramento Airport . Experience for yourself why the Holiday Inn Sacramento Capital located in Sacramento County is truly the 'Capitol of Excellence'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.