We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Great customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Always great customer service especially at the Cypress Grill. Staff is very friendly and attentive. The hotel is located at the end of the downtown mall and next to Old Sacramento. Great place to stay if you're traveling for business and need to be downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    85
    43
    12
    12
See reviews for
33
39
15
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here a few years ago before they renovated so when I could not get into my usual hotel in Sacramento I decided to try this property again.

The front desk and all the service staff here are great, well trained and happy, good sign.

Bad sign is the really outdated interior rooms and in my opinion lacking in imagination for a downtown location in a capitol city. Just my opinion. And the rates are comparable to the "other" flag hotels.

The food is standard fare and fairly tasteless. Again, a great opportunity lost.

Having said all that it is well located, safe and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizjqh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear the positive comments about the staff. We try to ensure we make our guest feel welcome. Your comments regarding the rooms and restaurant will be taken seriously and we will work to make improvements. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Sacramento and also my company hosted a two-day meeting there. I was very surprised by the awesome look and feel of the hotel and the staff was completely amazing to work with. Everyone gave great customer service and went above and beyond of anything I asked to be done during the meeting or while staying there. Meeting room was beautiful and the food from catering was great! This is a must do if you want to stay in Sacramento and also hold a meeting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizjqh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. This review will be shared with the team and from all of us we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I found the level of service at this hotel be extremely high in comparison to many other Holiday Inn hotels.
Valet Parking was easy and not expensive. Upon check in as a platinum member I was invited as a guest to the concierge lounge as well as a couple of free drinks vouchers! Bonus!
The staff were all great and the room 'typical' holiday inn standards as well as being good and clean.
Location is second to none to visit Old Sacramento, which is a must when stopping here.
If I was to be critical breakfast could be improved...but then I am English and not a big fan of American breakfast anyways....but no worries Starbucks less than 100 yds away!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizjqh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel. We love to hear when a guest had a positive experience. We will also review your comments about breakfast with the culinary team. We hope you have an opportunity to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I am part of a service organization that held an annual conference for about 150 women at the Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza. Walking distance to Old Sacramento and Downtown Plaza was a primary reason for choosing this location. However, we were also extremely pleased with the comfortable and clean accomodations, friendly staff (at all levels), and excellent banquet food! The entire staff was so accomodating to our needs and made the weekend event a success. Special thanks to Armando of the bell staff, Colleen & Seth who took care of everyone at the bar, and JJ who was there each day to check to see how things were going. The meal at dinner was raved about by our guests, and they were especially pleased with the fabulous brunch buffet. Overall a great experience and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a vacation or conference.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizjqh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments. It is always a pleasure when an event goes well. This review will be shared and the associates recognized for a job well done. Look forward to seeing your group again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Old Sacramento was walking distance (to the right) and a mall was walking distance (to the left.) Many food choices in this area. Peeps working at this hotel were very nice and tried to accomadate.

The only thing that kind of bothered us was that it is required to pay for all parking--$14.00 a day.
$16.00 a day for valet service. I don't recall seeing this additional cost on the website. Maybe all CA hotels charge for parking. ??

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its location - walking distance from old sacremento and right next to the capital plaza mall.

We stayed in the standard room - No complaints about anything - Room was spacious and clean. Very nice.

Staff were friendly and service was good. Got late checkout when we requested it - Parking was $14 a day which was good value and wifi was free.

Overall a great stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza

Address: 300 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Sacramento Capitol Plaza-Downtown/Old Sacramento caters to both corporate and leisure travel and is set in the heart of vibrant & historic downtown Sacramento. Always remember - 'Green is INN'! Our Sacramento Hotels Old Town has attractions you won't want to miss located within 4 blocks of the hotel include; Historic Old Sacramento, and Sacramento Hotels Downtown complimentary wireless and pillow top bedding to provide relaxation after a full day. Other attractions you won't want to miss are: Sacramento Zoo, Arco Arena (Home of the Sacramento Kings), Sutter s Fort. The Sacramento, CA Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza is close to the University of Davis (Go Aggies), California State University of Sacramento (Go Hornets), Kaiser Hospital, Sutter Hospital, Wells Fargo, SBC, Siemens Inc., Wachovia Financial. Our Sacramento Hotels on the River offers 359 guestrooms and 16 stories for the perfect view of the Sacramento River. We are located 12 miles from the Sacramento Airport . Experience for yourself why the Holiday Inn Sacramento Capital located in Sacramento County is truly the 'Capitol of Excellence'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.