We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect area for our long week-end...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect area for our long week-end...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Old Sacramento was walking distance (to the right) and a mall was walking distance (to the left.) Many food choices in this area. Peeps working at this hotel were very nice and tried to accomadate.

The only thing that kind of bothered us was that it is required to pay for all parking--$14.00 a day.
$16.00 a day for valet service. I don't recall seeing this additional cost on the website. Maybe all CA hotels charge for parking. ??

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    103
    53
    13
    13
See reviews for
37
46
17
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its location - walking distance from old sacremento and right next to the capital plaza mall.

We stayed in the standard room - No complaints about anything - Room was spacious and clean. Very nice.

Staff were friendly and service was good. Got late checkout when we requested it - Parking was $14 a day which was good value and wifi was free.

Overall a great stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza in Downtown Sacramento. I originally chose this hotel not only because I prefer IHG hotels, but also due to its downtown location and being able to walk to restaurants for a dinner meeting. The location really is great. The hotel is part of the Downtown Plaza Mall complex and is right across from Old Sac.
Check-In and was fast and friendly and due to my Platinum Priority Club status, I was upgraded to a room on the Executive Club floor. The rooms have been recently renovated and featured typical Holiday Inn standard furnishings and bed linens. I liked that the hotel had a nice workdesk and fast free WiFi, which is always a pleasure. The bathroom was very nice and had a pretty good shower. My only complaint is that the water pressure in the sink was unusually low, which made it really hard to shave . It's funny because the water pressure in the shower was perfect.
In the morning I decided to try the lounge on the Executive Floor for the free "continental breakfast" they were offering. While the lounge was pleasant with a nice view of downtown Sacramento, the food selection was pretty terrible and the lounge host was just....weird. There was a nice bowl of fruit and good coffee/tea, but that is pretty much it. There were a few nasty muffins and 2 boxes of fruit loops, and that is it! No toast, no bagels, nada. Then the host talked THE ENTIRE time I was in there about heavy metal music and his band, and while he was being nice, all I wanted was to sit quietly and work.
Overall, this was a good stay and I would come back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizjqh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on the hotel. We love that you enjoyed the location, we think it gives our customers alot of choices. Also appreciate your comments on the Executive floor attendant as we will use your comments for positive coaching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My sorority recently hosted a convention for 150 women, and everything was wonderful from the service to the food to the amenities at the hotel. The sales and catering staff could have not been more helpful, we got rave reviews on the food from all attendees, the staff from valets to bell staff and front desk personnel were delightful. Our catering manager for the weekend was there whenever we needed him, and his crew of servers and bartenders were wonderful. We do this convention annually throughout Northern CA, and members were raving about what a success it was.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Check in was friendly and efficient. Our room was really nice with a view of the river. Best part is the mall next door and the tunnel right to old town. Once you get there everything is in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizjqh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We are so glad your enjoyed our location to Old Sacramento and the mall. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here three times now and whereas the staff is friendly, the hotel very clean including the rooms, there is a constant noise coming from outside the hotel when I am in my room. I've stayed on a lower floor (even # room) in the trees that was the quietest, the 12th floor (even # room) was constant, all night freeway noise (can we say pillow over the head trying to sleep) and this last visit on the 7th floor (odd # room) that the freeway noise was drowned out by the noise of the A/C or fans/vents coming from the roof below (NOT the room A/C or heater vent, I had these off). This time I tried ear plugs and that worked.
Food in the restraunt is decent but expensive.
Overall comfortable but I like it quiet and dark for sleeping. If noise bothers you, consider ear plugs, pillow over the head or another hotel.
Note, this hotel has a convenient under-the-freeway pedestrian underpass out front over to Old Town that is great with restaurants, shops and a train museum. This part is a real plus.

Room Tip: Lower floors on even numbered side has SOME blocking of the freeway noise. Lower floors on odd numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A lot of extra costs for things normally free at other Holiday Inn locations...no free coffee...continental breakfast is $14.95...garage parking is $14.99 a day...Valet parking is $16.99 a day if there is space...the lounge was packed all night till closing...our parking was comped because we had no hair dryer in our room...bed actually gave me a back ache...although it is close to Old Sacramento and many eateries and bars...they were crowded with college kids...all in all, I should have driven another hour to the next Holiday Inn where breakfast and parking and coffee were free (without having to make it in the room)

Room Tip: find a different hotel...do some research like you do on Trip Advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizjqh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. We can only provide better service by hearing from guest such as yourself. I appreciate your discomfort in paying for parking. We too feel that discomfort when we send our check to the City of Sacramento, who owns the garage adjacent to the hotel that is used by the hotel. We are a full service hotel that offers breakfast in our restaurant and the option to purchase a room package that includes breakfast so I apologize that you were not aware of the options. I am also regretful that someone on the management team was not aware that you were not happy with your stay as our goal is to ensure every guest leaves our hotel satisfied. I hope you will reconsider this hotel in the future and give us an opportunity to change you mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza

Address: 300 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Sacramento Capitol Plaza-Downtown/Old Sacramento caters to both corporate and leisure travel and is set in the heart of vibrant & historic downtown Sacramento. Always remember - 'Green is INN'! Our Sacramento Hotels Old Town has attractions you won't want to miss located within 4 blocks of the hotel include; Historic Old Sacramento, and Sacramento Hotels Downtown complimentary wireless and pillow top bedding to provide relaxation after a full day. Other attractions you won't want to miss are: Sacramento Zoo, Arco Arena (Home of the Sacramento Kings), Sutter s Fort. The Sacramento, CA Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza is close to the University of Davis (Go Aggies), California State University of Sacramento (Go Hornets), Kaiser Hospital, Sutter Hospital, Wells Fargo, SBC, Siemens Inc., Wachovia Financial. Our Sacramento Hotels on the River offers 359 guestrooms and 16 stories for the perfect view of the Sacramento River. We are located 12 miles from the Sacramento Airport . Experience for yourself why the Holiday Inn Sacramento Capital located in Sacramento County is truly the 'Capitol of Excellence'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.