We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capitol Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
GreenLeadersBronze level
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Capitol Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Surprised, looks upscale, very clean, neat well kept, pleasant staff, comfortable room and bed. Close to Old Town, about 100 yards after walking through a large tunnel under the freeway. Parking costs extra ($14 a day). Read other articles about lousy restaurant in hotel so had breakfast right across the street, which was good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    103
    53
    13
    13
See reviews for
37
46
17
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hotel is pleasant, well maintained and clean. Not in need of a refurb like some Holiday Inns. The hotel is in a good location a few hundred yards from Old Sacramento and 20mins or so walk from the Capitol.
The pool area is outside and apparently unheated. It is also elevated on a roof and not far from the noisy flyover. it really could do with more landscaping and screening from the traffic.
We ate in the restaurant once for dinner and should have noticed the signs of empty seats. The salad was 1 day old (as per the waiter) and brown and the main course tasteless with gloopy sauce. We did, however, received a reduction in our bill for the poor quality. Given the restaurants location on the main pavement into Old Sacramento, it is such a pity that it is of such poor quality.... It could be full!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizjqh, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments. The hotel performance can only improve by honest feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the location as I too think we have one of the best. I apologize that the restaurant did not meet your expectation and will certainly work to improve the product. I hope we have an opportunity to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here just the one night whilst visiting the area and hotel was perfectly situated for what we wanted to see and do. Check in was efficient and informative. Rooms spacious and clean. The restaurant grille wasn't very good and we did complain about the food to the waiter who actually agreed with us but didn't remove and cost from the bill or offer alternate food, luckily check out did. Parking is either self park at $14 or valet at $16....... Took a while to get the car back when I needed at as only one person working and he seemed distracted

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were in Sac July 12 - 16 for a Convention. Reservations were fairly last minute. This is an older H.I., but, lobby & bar & restaurant are a little more updated & very pleasant. This looks like it is used by a lot of business people & airline personnel. The staff is very pleasant & helpful. It is about a 20 min walk to con. center & Old Sac. is a brief walk. There is a Westfield Plaza mall - right out the hotel doors. Several Starbucks are near & lots of dining choices within walking dist. - although none that I would consider Fine dining. As for the rooms, initially I was put off by the odor in our room - but, there was an air purifier in there - as they had just cleaned the carpet. Odor & purifier were gone the next A.M. & no more issues with smell. The room is dated, but clean & comfortable. Bathroom is on the small size. My biggest complaint was no mini fridge & no microwave. As we were gone most of the day - the room certainly met our needs for a comfortable & clean space to sleep, shower & relax with a bit of t.v. We got an added bonus of having a great view of a fireworks display - we were never able to figure out what it was celebrating, but they were beautiful. Over all a nice stay - that suited our needs

Room Tip: I believe we had a west facing room on the third floor over looking the tree tops of a near by park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in way-downtown Sacramento. Nestled snuggly between Old Sacramento and the Downtown Westfield Mall -it's very convenient for leisure as well as business travelers. Government buildings are all within walking distance, and there are ample choices for dining, shopping and walking about.

The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful with one exception: the woman who handled my check-in bruskly proceeded through the transaction as if she was in a hurry even though I was the only person anywhere near the check-in counter at the time. Ultimately, I had to slow her down when I realized she was acting on assumptions and making mistakes. That just made her attitude worse.

They have really nice conference facilities on the top floor with great views of the city and my interaction with the conference staff was exceptionally helpful and efficient. I would highly recommend booking the space for business meetings.

There is a pool and small gym onsite and there's a 24Hour Fitness SuperSport a short distance away with exceptional work-out facilities. The immediately adjacent Westfield Mall has a large movie theater, great shopping, a surprisingly good food court (Vegan anyone?), and of course there's a Starbucks that opens at 4:30AM.

The hotel restaurant has a kids eat cheap something special that my travel companions utilized and they spoke highly of that option.

Old Sacramento, a restored portion of Sacramento from the late 1800's, is an easy walking distance to the west. There you'll find more dining, bars, and an odd assortment of specialty shops and direct access to the waterfront. The historic Railroad Museum is nearby too, and it's a treat for kids of all age

In-room bottled water was out of my price range, but the wifi was free and fast. The hotel and room were clean, and there was plenty of hot water. Self park is to the left of the front entrance, in a very close city garage, and valet parking is handled at the entrance. Self parking is $14 a day (arrange at the front desk) and you get unlimited in-and-out privileges through validation. Since valet parking is just a few feet the other direction, it doesn't seem worth the additional price.

OK - So - why the average rating? Ultimately, it's all about the sleep experience; the bed should be comfortable and if it's like drifting into a cloud, all the better. The bed I got was thin, flat and springy.The sheets were marginal, and the pillows were absurd lumpy squares filled with some sort of chunks of foam or fiber that were impossible to coordinate with my head. I woke up several times during the night trying to figure out where to put the pillows and how to use them for sleep, and ultimately gave up. It's an odd experience to find pillows uncomfortably unforgettable.

A minor complaint typical of many hotels of this age was the air conditioning unit. Though the fan offers a nice white noise background, the compressor cycling on-and-off can be loud enough to wake you each time. Since the freeway is right next to the building, noise could be an issue depending on the floor you are on and the direction your room is facing. Book carefully.

Given the choice, I'd find something better if sleep is a high priority and it's available at the same rate nearby.

Room Tip: Lower floors on the south side look into an urban forest. Above the 7th floor you get city views, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at this Holiday Inn while attending a weekend hula festival hosted at the same location. They were very busy! I thought everyone we interacted with from the valet to the front desk to the restaurant staff and manager to the maintenance man and housekeeping were helpful and friendly. We had a room with two double beds - not queen - and four people. Although cozy, it was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We needed more towels and they were quick to deliver. Shower water pressure was great. Sink water pressure not so much. There is no microwave or refrigerator in the room. A refrigerator could be rented for $15 per day. We stayed on a high floor even number room which had a very nice view. The restaurant offered a breakfast buffet for $12.99 or you could order from the menu. Best location to Old Sacramento via walkway under the freeway, close to a Starbucks, a shopping mall with movie theaters and a great location to see the Saturday evening fireworks from across the river. Once we parked our car with valet we didn't need it until we checked out. We paid $99 per night. Easy access on and off I5.

Room Tip: I like to stay on a higher floor with a view. Even number rooms face south and you can see the hist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel is in a 1970s or thereabouts building, and our double room was of the relatively small size typical of the time. Having said that, it was clean and comfortable. We had a room only deal, and knew that we would also have to pay for valet parking (around $18 per day).
Unfortunately, we were checked into a room that was already occupied, and it took twenty minutes to sort out the problem. I mentioned this to the front desk lady at checkout, and she immediately offered to waive the parking charge. I thought this was good customer service.
From our perspective, the best thing about the hotel is its proximity to Old Sacramento and the California Railroad Museum. The side entrance to the hotel is into a pedestrian area that leads left into a shopping mall with a Starbucks for breakfast, and right through a wlakway under the freeway directly into Old Sacramento.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza

Address: 300 J Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sacramento
#25 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Sacramento Capitol Plaza-Downtown/Old Sacramento caters to both corporate and leisure travel and is set in the heart of vibrant & historic downtown Sacramento. Always remember - 'Green is INN'! Our Sacramento Hotels Old Town has attractions you won't want to miss located within 4 blocks of the hotel include; Historic Old Sacramento, and Sacramento Hotels Downtown complimentary wireless and pillow top bedding to provide relaxation after a full day. Other attractions you won't want to miss are: Sacramento Zoo, Arco Arena (Home of the Sacramento Kings), Sutter s Fort. The Sacramento, CA Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza is close to the University of Davis (Go Aggies), California State University of Sacramento (Go Hornets), Kaiser Hospital, Sutter Hospital, Wells Fargo, SBC, Siemens Inc., Wachovia Financial. Our Sacramento Hotels on the River offers 359 guestrooms and 16 stories for the perfect view of the Sacramento River. We are located 12 miles from the Sacramento Airport . Experience for yourself why the Holiday Inn Sacramento Capital located in Sacramento County is truly the 'Capitol of Excellence'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza Hotel Sacramento
Sacramento Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.