We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty beyond Belief” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo to your Saves list
Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1413 Howe Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95825-3203 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
West Pittston, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dirty beyond Belief”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stains on the carpeting, massive amount of mildew growing behind the grout and dirty wet towels replaced on the rack until I insisted they be changed. When I asked about the towels the front desk staff did not even look up and acted as though I was not even there.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel! There is no good reason to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of the entire staff I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. We have recently undergone an ownership change, and we plan on making a lot of changes to the hotel. We hope that you might come in and take a look for yourself in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
14
12
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a property crying out for renovation. I am not an expert on the lodging market in Sacramento but I never in my life expected to shell out more than $100 per night to share a bathroom with cockroaches. This Quality Inn gave me that experience. My room was fairly clean but the furnishings and decor were old and tired. The front desk person was very nice but that is the only plus I can think of. Quality Inns should regard this location as a cancer on their brand.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do have an upgrade of the property going on but it will take a few months to complete. I hope you might give us another chance in the future to see the upgrades we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was a great find for a one-night stay to attend a nearby conference. It's easy to find, is near Cal-Expo, and for me the best part -- directly across the street from a Red Lobster restaurant. Lisette, at the front desk, was terrific, handling multiple check-ins at the same time and maintaining her calm demeanor, helpful attitude, and professionalism all at the same time. This facility is very clean, but could use a little updating, i.e., handles missing on some of the doors to the outside, sliding door on the closet in my room missing. There was also a weird piece of white plastic, about the size of a quarter but a bit thicker, glued to the bottom of the bathtub, right about where your bum would be if you were to attempt to take a bath. Strange, but I took a shower, not a bath, and the shower was very nice. I had a very roomy ground-floor corner room, #142, and it had a very nice kitchenette complete with a small upright fridge. (The handle was missing from the lower door of the fridge, however.) The room was quite large, with two double beds, and very quiet. The rooms have a somewhat strange heating/cooling unit, that hangs on the outside wall up near the ceiling. It had a remote to operate it, but I had to climb up on a chair to see the temperature display. It worked well, but the location was decidedly odd. (Another person in our group had the same unit in their room.) Again, the room was very clean and quite comfortable. The entire facility is smoke-free, but when I left my room to go to breakfast I could clearly smell cigarette smoke from the next room. I reported it to the front desk, but wasn't around long enough to see/hear what transpired. The breakfast was very nice -- don't let the round scrambled egg patties fool you as they were delicious. They fit perfectly into the English muffins, along with same-size sausage patties. Fresh fruit (but no bananas), waffles, toast, cereal, juices, yogurt, boiled eggs, just about everything you could think of.) For only $71 for the single night (and a Friday night at that), I felt it was a very good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Lisette is a great asset to the company and we are lucky to have her. Thank you as well for letting us know about some of the issues in your room. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

It is really fun and has a pool the people were really nice and it was near a lot of places.such as restaurants like red lobster and outback steak house it was also near old Sacramento and the science museum plus the breakfast was very delicious.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you where able to enjoy the pool, and breakfast. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to Sacramento.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittagong City, Bangladesh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I along with my family (Wife) visited the Howe Avenue River and thus we had to reserve room here at this "Quality Inn". The front desk clerk SUSHANT advised and guided me. This man is professional indeed and showed me with his chart and map "how to reach to Howe Avenue River and regional parks. Though, I was a little concerned on moving with my wife but at the end all finished successfully.
After returning to this Inn again, I found SUSHANT. Thanks man for your cordial help. Rooms were a little old fashioned, but room services were good enough. I do appreciate the complementary breakfast as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you where able to enjoy some of the things Sacramento has to offer. Sushant is a super start at the hotel and he goes above and beyond his job duties to make sure all guest feel welcomed. Thank you again for choosing us, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. Front desk clerk Sushanti, was extremely helpful on anything we needed, from help on my computer to even knowing about digital cameras..... The rooms are comfy yet the only complaint i would have but it is minimal is old tvs in room. but to me that was minimal. Sushanti hooked us up on special rates both times we stayed because of special occasions. I recommend the stay, and if in town ask for Sushanti, teell him about his great review, may even help out with a discount. total stay i can say it was satisfying..... Thank you Sushanti, Mike and Andrea Caamal

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I have to agree with you we are lucky enough to have such a great employee. Sushant and Mike are a great asset to our company. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sacramento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The phone did not work. Th WiFi did not work. The box safe in the closet kept malfunctioning and beeping, even though I never used it. The room was not cleaned regularly- when it was, it was not a complete cleaning.


Room Tip: I don't have any tips, nor did I leave one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmagana3, General Manager at Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of the entire staff we would like apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. If you would have informed us of the issues we would have be able to take corrective measures. Thank you again for your review and we hope you might give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo

Address: 1413 Howe Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95825-3203 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Expo Inn & Suites - a Sacramento Hotel! Conveniently located near popular local attractions, such as California State University, the State Capitol building and the California Exposition Center, the Quality Inn & Suites offers a memorable and welcoming Sacramento hotel experience and a great location - all at unbeatable rates. While in town, try to catch one of the area's exciting activities, like the state fair, Cal Expo and sporting events at Sacramento State. Shop away at Arden Fair Shopping Center, swing away on area golf courses, explore local art museums, or take a short day trip to Napa Valley or San Francisco - both just an hour and a half drive from the Quality Inn. Each 100% non-smoking, newly renovated guest room at the Expo Inn at Cal Expo Inn features all the comforts of home and thoughtful touches guests have come to expect from the Choice, including cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Other amenities at this Sacramento hotel also include a complimentary full hot breakfast each morning, a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing hot tub, on-site exercise facility and an airport and local shuttle to the Sacramento Metropolitan Airport. Pets are welcome at this pet-friendly Sacramento hotel. Corporate travelers staying at the Expo Inn & Suites will also appreciate this Sacramento hotel's limited business services and meeting facilities, which can accommodate up to 120 people. Parents visiting students at Sacramento State will also love the convenience of being close to the university, with easy access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Expo Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expo Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.