We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bug heaven” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1413 Howe Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95825-3203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Hope, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“bug heaven”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

my husband and I checked into this hotel last week late at night and were glad of a place to stay. We unloaded our things and were relaxing a bit on the bed. I noticed a dead earwig under the bedspread and when I investigated further discovered bugs under the covers as well. Needless to say we packed up super quickly and checked out. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone....it is dirty and in disrepair. Quality Inn should be ashamed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry you had an issue with bugs in your room. We have regular weekly pest service, and never had a problem with bugs before. We hope you might come back and see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
14
11
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The following did not work: door lock (dead battery), shower (stuck on way hot), phone, WiFi, toilet (clogged and had bugs in it).
The pool was filthy, the jacuzzi was filthy and cold and not working.
We had to move rooms once, almost twice.
They kept running out of food and utensils at breakfast.
STAY AWAY!!!

Room Tip: The WiFi does not work in the Excutive Suites building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I do have to apologize for not exceeding your expatiations. I have brought your complaints to my staff’s attention, and we are working to resolve some of your issues. I do apologize again and hope you might give us another chance in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We and some friends were in town recently for the Harley Davidson California State Rally. This hotel was one of our choices and we booked it before it changed from Best Western. First of all, it was very hot and the air conditioning was off. In fact, in the suite we had, the only air conditioning we had was a fan. Second, our key did not work. We had it rekeyed, and it worked once and then did not work again. In fact, the master key did not work and the new night clerk ( he had only been there one week) had to get a handyman to break into our room so that we could get our things and move to another room. Ice machine was out in our building. Laundry facilities were out of order and the spa didn't work (was cold). As you can see, most of the amenities that were advertized were not available. Since it was late, we decided it was too difficult to leave that night but cancelled our second night. Morning breakfast was awful. Rubbery hard boiled eggs and frozen egg patties..who does that? We complained to the day manager and we did get a full refund. They have a lot of work to do before we would ever go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I do have to apologize for the inconvenience that was cause during your stay. I am glad you notified us at check out so we were able to refund your stay. Are commitment to your satisfaction is very important. I do hope you will give us another chance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I was there on family trip. when I checked in clerk was friendly. They treated me as a regular when it was only my first time there.Room was clean. Alejandra, I think her name sure was one of the Executive Housemaid was very helpful, I definitely like to thank for awesome job. Room was very clean. Great staff. Very friendly. Will come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisamagana, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It s not often that the housekeeping department is recognized for their hard work. I will let Alejandra know how much you appreciated her help. Once again thank for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Having stayed at the Best Western Expo Inn for years, I was a little hesitant to reserve when I heard that the hotel had changed to Quality Inn & Suites one week before our arrival. But we took a chance and were glad we did.
We were pleased to find that they still offered a shuttle service from the Amtrak Depot on I Street. The van arrived promptly within minutes of our train arrival and Clyde was the most amicable driver. When we were ready to leave the next day, Clyde arrived 20 minutes early for us. Yes there is a $15 fee but believe me, it would have been much more if we had taken a cab. The shuttle will also take you to the State Fair and other big events at the Expo Fairgrounds as well.
Our $79 first-floor room facing the pool was perfect - spacious clean bedroom area and bath, comfy bed, nice kitchen area with a FULL-size refrigerator, lots of counter space, a sink and microwave, eating table and two chairs. We enjoyed having a room so close to the pool. Complimentary hot breakfast had quite a variety and plenty of seating in the lobby to relax. The staff at the front desk were courteous at all times. What more could you ask for.
Only two slight inconveneinces: the slow Internet service with the lobby computer. Also, some of the pool lounge chairs were solid wood with no seat cushions. Not too comfortable for lounging very long. But all in all, I would recommend staying at this convenient location - so many restaurants within walking distance to dine at - Red Lobster, Outback, Buca di Beppo, and a small shopping mall at the corner of Howe and Arden.

Room Tip: Choose the 2nd floor to avoid footsteps above you (which we did not mind but some people might)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisamagana, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. We are glad you enjoyed your service. I do have to agree with you about the wooden pool chairs. That is why we have replaced them with lounge chairs that are a lot more comfortable. On behalf of are entire staff we would like to thank you again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

After spending a few days in Anahein at a lower quality hotel, we were pleasantl surprised with the Best Wesern which has recently been changed to Quality Inn. It was cheaper and much nicer than our previous stay and the continental breakfast was awesome. I do wish they had an icebox and microwve in the room though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmagana3, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have microwaves and refrigerator in most rooms. When booking your next reservation please inform us or your need for them, and we will gladly assign you a room with a microwave refrigerator. We all hope to see you again soon, and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo

Address: 1413 Howe Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95825-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites – a Sacramento Hotel! Conveniently located near popular local attractions, such as California State University, the State Capitol building and the California Exposition Center, the Quality Inn & Suites offers a memorable and welcoming Sacramento hotel experience and a great location – all at unbeatable rates. While in town, try to catch one of the area’s exciting activities, like the state fair, Cal Expo and sporting events at Sacramento State. Shop away at Arden Fair Shopping Center, swing away on area golf courses, explore local art museums, or take a short day trip to Napa Valley or San Francisco – both just an hour and a half drive from the Quality Inn. Each 100% non-smoking, newly renovated guest room at the Quality Inn at Cal Expo Inn features all the comforts of home and thoughtful touches guests have come to expect from the Choice, including cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Other amenities at this Sacramento hotel also include a complimentary full hot breakfast each morning, a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing hot tub, on-site exercise facility and an airport and local shuttle to the Sacramento Metropolitan Airport. Pets are welcome at this pet-friendly Sacramento hotel. Corporate travelers staying at the Quality Inn & Suites will also appreciate this Sacramento hotel’s limited business services and meeting facilities, which can accommodate up to 120 people. Parents visiting students at Sacramento State will also love the convenience of being close to the university, with easy access to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Expo Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites At Cal Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.