We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta King

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Delta King to your Saves list
Delta King
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

This is a beautifully restored River Boat which exceeded all my expectaions.
I am a business traveller who has travelled the world for many years so know a good thing when I see one.
The "rooms" are charming. I saw some reviews complaining that they were small but these are cabins and as far as cabins go they are large. They are certainly clean and comfortable and the hot water is instant.
Service was excellent whether in reception, the bar or restaurant and the owner, Charlie Coyne, was often buzzing around taking a close interest in what was going on.
The restauarant is top class with crisp white linen on the tables and staff who know what they are talking about. The chef knows what he is about too which is the most important thing.
The location in Old Sacramento is delightful and the river setting is beautiful, interesting and most important of all, very quiet at night so I got three very good nights sleep there.
I almost booked up at the Comfort Suites which are OK but this was something in a different league altogether. Try it, you won't be disappointed. BillC

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    155
    48
    14
    18
See reviews for
45
208
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We love this place. It is an authentic riverboat. Old world charm but modern amenities. The Pilothouse restaurant is not to be missed. We would go there even if we were not spending the night. My wife had the duck breast without the confit potatoes, since she has gluten issues. They have lots of gluten free dishes. I had the rib eye steak, cooked perfect. The lounge has nice, adult, live music. Not too loud to talk. Lots of nice wine choices by the glass. Other guests were talking about the mystery dinner. We'll try that next time. This place is a real find.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

For our 30th anniversary we found the perfect venue.Our stay at the Delta King was an enjoyable experience,friendly helpful staff,excellent food and entertainment.The buffet Sunday was a great spread, traditional breakfast food, seafood,omelets cooked to order,deserts what more could you ask for. We will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Had a wonderful time at their New Years Eve Party. Great service. Best unobstructed view for the fireworks. Atmosphere was fantastic. Staff very warm and helpful. Casino was fun. Everyone was dancing even in the isles. Will definitly attend again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

It was our anniversary and we did not want to get on an airplane. Sacramento was close and we had heard a lot of good things about the Delta King. We were delighted. The staff is anxious to go the extra mile. The restaurant is extraordinary. There are great things to do- on and off the boat. The history of the boat is amazing. It is really something special to be able to stay aboard an authentic part of history. The rooms are nicely done and the included breakfast is a wonderful finish to a nice stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We flew into Sac for business and then decide that we would stay in old town and then found the Delta King which is a remodeled river paddle boat that has been converted into a hotel and restaurant. Love it! Cute charming and very friendly. the rooms are small but the bed was very comfortable and there was no smell of mold which my wife is allergic to. Charlie the manager was great to work with and was very friendly, they had live music and a mystery dinner theater which we didn't attend but looked like fun. We got up and had the complementary breakfast which was great and then were right there in old town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is the perfect place to stay if you need to be near the city but don't want to be in the city. You're right on the water with all of it's calming beauty, and just minutes from downtown. Comfy rooms, good food, good drinks, good service... what more could you want?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 83 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
4.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 83 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Address: 1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#20 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.