We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongly recommended... Unique Hotel on Old Sacramento Waterfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta King

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Delta King to your Saves list
Delta King
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
San Francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Strongly recommended... Unique Hotel on Old Sacramento Waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

From the first moment you step foot on the Delta King you know this is going to be a unique hotel experience. Views up and down the river cannot be beat, especially at night when the famous Tower Bridge is all lit up. The rooms are smaller than typical but that's expected on a historical riverboat. Furnishings are appropriate for the period, and there are modern touches like good air conditioning (needed in the Summer) and flat screen TV's with cable services. The staff is pleasant and enthusiastic about the riverboat hotel and its unique features and history.
The Delta Lounge is a fun bar with live music most nights, and the Pilothouse Restaurant is definitely the most romantic restaurant you can hope to find... very good views, service and food.
Old Sacramento is the place to be if you want to explore California history and be in the heart of the action. Numerous restaurants and shops to enjoy, in addition to the Smithsonian quality State Railroad Museum, State Capitol building, Sutter's Fort, etc.
We had a great time, and we loved the boat!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    130
    44
    13
    17
See reviews for
40
179
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

I stayed at the Delta King for a Wedding. There was a street fair going on that day and the valet was about 4 blocks from the hotel. After schlepping my own bags 4 blocks down a wooden sidewalk I arrived at the cramped boat dripping in sweat...it was 105 degrees. All this wasn't actually that bad, as we were excited about the upcoming wedding. The room was small and the AC worked great. Later at the wedding reception it seemed the AC quit working. A room of approx. 90 people were sweating profusely! The next morning all the guests were leaving. We went out to find our cars (the fron desk said they were right out front) only to find them parked so close to each other that no one could get out. There was a car parked horizontally in front of mine and no valet to be seen. One guest ventured back inside the hotel to ask the front desk and found that all of our keys were back inside. We all went BACK inside, got our keys and then waited as one car inched it's way out of the puzzle at a time. Bad enough, right?
Later that week I noticed that a piece of luggage I left in my trunk while my car was valeted was missing. I had left a few items that I didn't need because as you remember I had a 4 block hike in 105 degree heat to conted with. I called the front desk knowing to ask if there had been anything turned in by the valet, knowing full well that he watched me place it in the trunk. The woman assured me that they wouldn't have stolen it, but said she'd check around and call me back. About an hour later I got a message...no one had returned it. I called back to speak with the woman & left her a message. 2 weeks later, still no call back. I called again and left a message for yet another person and to date (it's been 2 months now) still not a call.
Apparently they don't care about return customers. With their great location (walking distance to night life) I would definitely have stayed again, maybe not had a wedding there, but stayed for a night on the town...now I'd rather give my money to a transient.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Stayed for 1 night on a fly drive tour of Northern California and glad it was not any longer..The Delta King may have made an excellent paddle steamer but as a hotel apart from location in Old Sacramento is not to be recommended..The main problem is the size of the bedrooms which even by British standards are way too small, in fact claustrophobic would be a better description..The bathroom was even worse..A great pity really as the novelty of staying on a converted paddle steamer is a selling point and the meal in the Pilothouse restaurant was one of the best I have had in the USA...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redding
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We were here for a conference with some of our other co workers and thought it would be a great place to stay. Boy were we wrong. Once we arrived the younglady at the front desk was more that willing to store all 100 pieces of our luggage because our rooms were not ready, even though we specificaly told TAMI in the sales and catering that we would be arriving at or around 1:30 she assured us our rooms would be ready for our arrival. So that planned changed when a tall gentleman came to the front desk and said "oh no Go ahead we are going to chack them into their rooms" that was the wrong thing to do. We should have stuck with what the young girl at the desk. We arrived at our rooms and most of them were still dirty and the roll a ways that we requested were not made up. Our group had to continually file back down to the desk one by one with several complaints and cleaning requests. The desk agent was very concerned and diligiantly writing down and calling the appropiate people as needed. the man at the desk was not handling the stress of such a large group checking in at once he was repeatedly asking the young lady to do things that she had already completed and taken care of. She was EXCELLENT but our group may never stay there again. It was not expected to have such a trip as that. The stay was very uncomfortable and un interesting beyond the front desk girl that helped check us in the trip was a waste. There are no bathroom s in the lobby and they seem a little short staffed at times.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

I would not recommend this paddle wheel to the FISH. The front desk girl who check us in was great. She showed true concern for our needs and our trip but after that it was terrible. I would and could not advise any one to board this TITANIC. It's poorly managed and staffed the desk was totally busy phones ringing, people dropping things off, asking questions, and there were plenty of staff members that passed by but none offered to help. WHAT A SHAME!!!!!!! DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT VISIT THIS BOAT.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

While a wonderful concept for a hotel, this sub-standard managed floating hotel is a filthy disaster.

I'm in the travel industry as a profession so my only intent was to review the property for those I can share the experience with and add positive feedback or in this case, highly advise against it.

It's location could not be better. Simply put, it floats on the Sacramento River and is moored alongside Sacramento's 'Old Town'; consisting of shops, restaurants and museums offering a glimpse into California's past.

This hotel is pricey when you factor in what you get for the dollar spent. Most travel websites give it 2-STARS at best. It really is a one-star motel but again, it's the location and concept of sleeping abord a famous paddlewheel that makes it so inviting.

Rooms (cabins) are small. That's fine. o be expected because indeed you are onboard a boat and not landside in a Hyatt or Westin. Yet that was no excuse for rooms so poorly maintained and dirty that one almost had to wear socks within the room based on floors. Even the exterior windows, decks and staircases of this boat were filthy. It is rundown. It is poorly managed and that is evident from the actual reservation process right through check-in.

If you are fine with a basic motel and yet want to experience the riverside experience of staying aboard, this will work. If your expectations for cleaniness, service and a fair dollar value are of concern, go elsewhere.

Delta King is an abused piece of history minus a paddle to steer itself out of eventual decay and ruin.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

This isn't just a boat, it's the sister ship to the one that cruises the Mississippi, except that this one stays docked. Try this hotel if you're looking for a destination. It is only a couple of steps from Old Sac, with it's shops and food and music, but we chose the Delta King for our anniversary because we wanted a unique experience, and we weren't disappointed. The chef's tasting menu at the on-site Pilothouse Restaurant with paired wines was very excellent- anyone who chooses a Rombauer chardonnay to pair with fish knows what they're doing. Watching the sun set and then the moon set over the river from the veranda outside our room made the finish to our evening special.
Yes, the rooms are on the small side (it's a boat), and if you're over 6'5", you won't fit into the shower, but it's a boat, which means it's ON the water, and the history and ambiance is what sets this hotel apart.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Address: 1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.