We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delta king” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta King

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Delta King to your Saves list
Delta King
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delta king”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed on the delta king paddle boat hotel 16/07/2014 lobby staff very helpfully rooms well set out and clean breakfast good value you for money very good had a evening meal on the deck watching the sun go down. As a unexpected visit on our west coast trip Sacramento was a pleasant surprise and the delta king is well worth a try

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    145
    47
    13
    18
See reviews for
42
194
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

...exceeded our expectations! What a unique, fun and comfy overnight stay. We rode Amtrak and arrived before checkin time, so asked if we could leave our luggage there while we toured the town and waited for checkin time. James, the front desk guy offered us a fantastic upgrade at a very small increase and we were giddey when we realized he gave us keys to the beloved Captains Quarters! And we got to check in right away. We had a wonderful time enjoying the privacy and quality of this lovely room. Very comfy queen bed, with nice reading lights on either side, 2 huge overstuffed chairs & a couch to enjoy the view of the river! A large soaking tub in the good sized bath was enjoyed; an armoire made into a wet bar/coffee brewing station complete with mini sink, use of an exclusive deck with nice table & chairs. Breakfast the next morning was a full-blown bacon & eggs cooked to order meal! And it was included with our room! Just a very relaxing way to spend a short 1 night mini vacation. The entire staff was gracious, efficient, accomodating and delightful. Can only say we'll definately be back!

Room Tip: Even numbers face river; odd face Old Town. Ask what's below your room (i.e. restaurant, bar, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Well, you don't quite roll, since the Delta King paddle boat is moored at the foot of Old Sacramento, but you do get a sense of what river travel might have been like from staying here. Our queen river-view room was compact but did not feel crowded.--also glacially air conditioned (appreciated given the heat). The bathroom was another story--about 30 inches wide and 8 ft long with a noisy top-tank-and-pull-chain toilet. The shower worked well, though, and there was adequate shelf space. We slept very comfortably and enjoyed the included hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, potatoes, toast). Old Sacramento itself is a bit depressing--mostly tee shirt shops and ice cream parlors--but it was only a 5 minute walk to the RR Museum and only about 10 minutes to the Crocker Art Museum. We enjoyed the easy access to Riverwalk as well. We stayed there on a lark but would definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: The city-view rooms mostly face the wharf, unless you're up high and can see over it. You don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My daughter and I had an overnight "Mom/Daughter Date" in Old Sacramento, about an hour from where we live. Our stay on the Delta King was awesome! The reception staff was friendly and the room was clean and nicely decorated, although the bathroom needs updating. We stayed in a Deluxe City View Room on the top level. We were on the corner and had great views of the river as well. The valet parking costs less than if we had paid for the garage, and Old Sacramento was just a few steps away. We had dinner off the boat, but will definitely plan to come back for this as their dinner menu looks amazing AND the grill area would be an awesome place for cocktails. The complimentary, made to order breakfast was more than ample and yummy too. We even invited guests for breakfast and ordered off the menu as well. BONUS was that there were fireworks the night we stayed because of the Rivercats home game.

Be forewarned...the rooms are small and the head clearance for taller people might be an issue - but it's a boat after all! Also, the boat is old and not always level or easy access, so if you're traveling with fragile or disabled individuals, I'm not sure this would work well. Otherwise, an awesome experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Went there for lunch last month with business associate from out of town. She and I both loved it. We ate outside on the deck. Food and service were fantastic. I had been there for dinner but I may become a lunch regular.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilberdyke
Top Contributor
503 reviews 503 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

When my colleague told me he’d booked us on a ferry boat for our one night stay in Sacramento, I was sure he was kidding. Not a bit of it. There it was, a floating hotel in a real paddle steamer. The rooms are a bit small, but who cares? It’s just one night, and you’re afloat. Everything else about the place was just fine, with its 24 hour reception and business centre, restaurant and bar, plus free wifi. It’s good to know places like this exist, and where to find them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camino CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We live about an hour away and have visited the Delta King on day trips before, so when a special for the hotel came up we (me and hubby + another couple) decided to stay on a Friday night. Staff was wonderful (thanks so much Alex and Norman, and the valet staff), rooms were comfortable (we were on deck 5, river view), and food/drinks scrumptious and reasonably priced. The AAA baseball team The River Cats had a game that night across the river with fireworks after so that was a treat to watch from the boat! Very relaxing in the morning sitting outside our room watching personal boat traffic go by while sipping coffee (which is provided in the rooms via coffeemaker).

Great location for visiting Old Sacramento, riding the bike trails (we brought our bikes...staff stored them for us), and sightseeing California's capital city! We will be back for a longer stay next time!

Room Tip: Get a river view room on deck 5. It's at the top and has table/chairs outside each room. If rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Address: 1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.