We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta King

Save Saved
You added Delta King to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Delta King
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Sierra Vista, AZ
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Easy and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Arriving by train, the Delta King is an easy 10 minute walk from the station to Old Sacramento where the boat is located. It is a unique place to stay, right on the river, in the heart of Old Town. We even had a big fireworks show outside our window after the ball game across the river. The breakfast was huge and tasty. Personnel were friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Sorry, accidentally hit pool and fitness ....neither applies. A. Room right outside the desk is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    121
    41
    12
    17
See reviews for
39
169
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay that's a bit different, the Delta King is great. It is a old paddle boat the has been renovated and is now a hotel. The history of this place is very interesting. The view of the river and surrounding area is beautiful. The rooms are small but very nice and cozy. Breakfast in the morning was included in our package and was really good. The dining room is very nice and we had a full cooked breakfast. The boat is on the river in Old Town Sacramento. We love just wandering around Old Town, in the shops and lots of good restaurants. We thought parking might be a problem but we found street parking that was free 8pm - 10am, it was just a few minutes from the boat. We would come back and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

One of the most interesting places we have stayed & kinda takes one back in time with a look at how the late part of the 1800's lived. This is a top notch place with a great staff that does a great job. The food is good with a fairly good choice of menu. We are sure glad we didn't listen to the reviews of how small the rooms are because it just isn't true. We found them to be well appointed & quite large for being a boat. Location can not be beat & the breakfast is outstanding.

Room Tip: Stayed in 526. Its on the water side, top deck. It was a great choice as it is quieter than the dock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is a unique place to stay. It also had a great location. However, do not get room 422 (this is on the river side, but has one window that faces the stairs). We are also 2 floors above the Paddlewheel Room, and our room is shaking due to the disc jockey and his music- we are wondering just when the music will stop- we are not amused! It is not even a weekend, which we might understand. (I can't imagine how loud it must be if we were in room 322!). We did enjoy sitting out on the deck at a table which was just outside our room this evening.
They advertise that the Vallet parking is $18, but the guy who parked our car said it is $22. If you are looking for something different and unique, this is the place to stay, but, due to the very loud music, we would not return- it is not worth the extra $$$.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Small but serviceable room, directly opposite reception. River view. 97 degree days ( 41 ) so very happy for the efficient air-conditioning. Comfortable double bed, tiny bathroom. A little noisy with levels above and below you and people walking past outside on the deck, but so worth these little issues for the joy of staying on a restored paddle-steamer! How cool! Great bar and lots of spots to sit outside and watch the river traffic flow by...
Perfect location in the heart of Old Sac ( so endless dining and drinking and shopping options ). Also a leisurely stroll to The Petersen Automobile Museum and the wonderful Crocker Art Museum. We decided it was easier to pay the $22 valet parking rate per night than risk a fine parking in the surrounding streets ( ever present parking inspectors and strict $2 for 2 hours enforced )

Room Tip: River view is better than facing the dock
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacaville
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I decided on the delta king for a spur of the moment anniversary getaway. We were not disappointed. Previous reviewer in June indicated so many problems that we did not encounter. Problems should be addressed to staff and not complained about in a review. That being said, we were thoroughly happy with our room. This is a charming place to stay. Of course there may be challenges due to space, but that's part if the fun staying here. My husbanb had to duck a time or two, he's 6'5. But so what? Our room was on the street side and was actually very quiet. The bathroom had an old-fashioned pull chain toilet and pedestal sink. Shower a bit small. Floor could have been a bit cleaner. We booked our trip on Travelocity which gave us a better deal than the king itself. Included was a cooked to order breakfast which was very good. The waiter was phenomenal. Just wished I remembered his name so I could mention it here. All in all, u can't lose by staying here. It is right in old sac so it's the closest hotel so u have no need to get the car out of the parking garage

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Delta King was very close to Old Sacramento and within easy walking distance to all attractions. Unfortunately these are the only positive comments that can be made.

The experience in staying on the Delta King was not a pleasant one. This establishment may well be displaying original and authentic decor et.al. but it does not mean that it cannot be kept clean. The smell of the room was most unpleasant, the air was stale and the state of the room indicated that it had not been cleaned to a satisfactory standard for quite some time indeed the mattress must have been the original from 1927 and made for a most unsatisfactory nights sleep. The bathroom shower cubicle was not clean and in need of a good scrub to get rid of the mould this also applies to the shower door and sink. Having a bathroom door that closed properly would have also be an added advantage.

Breakfast was at best mediocre.

Room Tip: Find another establishment to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Address: 1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#21 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;