We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delta King

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Delta King to your Saves list
Delta King
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
kansas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is a unique place to stay. It also had a great location. However, do not get room 422 (this is on the river side, but has one window that faces the stairs). We are also 2 floors above the Paddlewheel Room, and our room is shaking due to the disc jockey and his music- we are wondering just when the music will stop- we are not amused! It is not even a weekend, which we might understand. (I can't imagine how loud it must be if we were in room 322!). We did enjoy sitting out on the deck at a table which was just outside our room this evening.
They advertise that the Vallet parking is $18, but the guy who parked our car said it is $22. If you are looking for something different and unique, this is the place to stay, but, due to the very loud music, we would not return- it is not worth the extra $$$.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    130
    44
    13
    17
See reviews for
40
179
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Small but serviceable room, directly opposite reception. River view. 97 degree days ( 41 ) so very happy for the efficient air-conditioning. Comfortable double bed, tiny bathroom. A little noisy with levels above and below you and people walking past outside on the deck, but so worth these little issues for the joy of staying on a restored paddle-steamer! How cool! Great bar and lots of spots to sit outside and watch the river traffic flow by...
Perfect location in the heart of Old Sac ( so endless dining and drinking and shopping options ). Also a leisurely stroll to The Petersen Automobile Museum and the wonderful Crocker Art Museum. We decided it was easier to pay the $22 valet parking rate per night than risk a fine parking in the surrounding streets ( ever present parking inspectors and strict $2 for 2 hours enforced )

Room Tip: River view is better than facing the dock
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacaville
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I decided on the delta king for a spur of the moment anniversary getaway. We were not disappointed. Previous reviewer in June indicated so many problems that we did not encounter. Problems should be addressed to staff and not complained about in a review. That being said, we were thoroughly happy with our room. This is a charming place to stay. Of course there may be challenges due to space, but that's part if the fun staying here. My husbanb had to duck a time or two, he's 6'5. But so what? Our room was on the street side and was actually very quiet. The bathroom had an old-fashioned pull chain toilet and pedestal sink. Shower a bit small. Floor could have been a bit cleaner. We booked our trip on Travelocity which gave us a better deal than the king itself. Included was a cooked to order breakfast which was very good. The waiter was phenomenal. Just wished I remembered his name so I could mention it here. All in all, u can't lose by staying here. It is right in old sac so it's the closest hotel so u have no need to get the car out of the parking garage

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Delta King was very close to Old Sacramento and within easy walking distance to all attractions. Unfortunately these are the only positive comments that can be made.

The experience in staying on the Delta King was not a pleasant one. This establishment may well be displaying original and authentic decor et.al. but it does not mean that it cannot be kept clean. The smell of the room was most unpleasant, the air was stale and the state of the room indicated that it had not been cleaned to a satisfactory standard for quite some time indeed the mattress must have been the original from 1927 and made for a most unsatisfactory nights sleep. The bathroom shower cubicle was not clean and in need of a good scrub to get rid of the mould this also applies to the shower door and sink. Having a bathroom door that closed properly would have also be an added advantage.

Breakfast was at best mediocre.

Room Tip: Find another establishment to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Kind of a tricky review for me here.So let me say about myself. Priority's.Clean is number one with me.People,Employees important..Food if eating there good.Location also. Delta King clean. Employees nice. Food good. Again this is a bit of history so rooms small it is a riverboat from the 30's.Love that fact.we get a travel zoo deal each year .It includes a bottle of wine , breakfast an a water view. Great restaurant there so we have dinner.I think Thursday night they have a small band in bar. Summary we get travel zoo deal hit the bar for music have nice dinner enjoy view of river . Day and Night an get up early an walk across the bridge to a walking trail all around a park an river side. There is also old town, Railroad Museum. Tip Good fish an chip place<take out , small> right out front of the Delta King right side coming out Hotel.I am a positive person so on my reviews i always try an lean that way.BUT, Delta King needs to get the rooms available earlier. I mean by 3:00 at the worst. I have waited for a room till 5;00 before. Also they charge for parking. not sure on price but not cheap.A lot of reviews will not be as nice as me on review because of.the late check in an parking. If your into staying in a bit of history ,Get the deal. Leave your bags at the desk an go see the sites. Also across the bridge is the Saber Cats AAA baseball team. Also local bus can take you to state capital an back if you want to see how they waste your tax dollars ! Sorry i am really a positive person

Room Tip: All rooms small Staying on a river boat. Do like View room but all the same beside that point.Get tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

perfect positioned close to Old Sacramento, all attractions in walking distance. Very romantic place! Valet parking available, you won't need the car while you stay there. Room atmosphere brings you back to early 20th century.

Room Tip: rooms to river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Had a great time on the Delta King the rooms were large for a river boat the food was great and right on the river with all of the old history. Was in Old Town Sac. and the view on the river was great with the small boats up and down the river. We rode the train from Reno stayed the night and rode the train back the next day.
Had a great time

Room Tip: Top Deck has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Address: 1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.