We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two steps forward and one step back in time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta King

Save Saved
You added Delta King to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Delta King
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
Fiddletown, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Two steps forward and one step back in time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have stayed there many times and really like the Delta King for a number of reasons, chiefly among them is the bar and restaurant which you must visit if you stay on the boat permanently docked in Old Sacramento. Be absolutely sure to make time to stroll right into Old Sacramento which is truly an amazing spectacle itself. That close proximity to the amazing restaurants and such is a main selling point to staying on the DK (Delta King) and staff are friendly and professional. Late checkout is never a problem when asked for in advanced (I always ask for that)..
The rooms come in a variety of sizes and amenities. Some rooms are smallish and if you get a 2nd floor room they will be short as well with low ceilings (I'm 6'4" and had to duck to go to bathroom), so when you book a room be SURE to ask for 3rd floor if you are tall. Also they have a few suites which are booked for when they host weddings etc., or just a super nice weekend for those who secure it in advance... those rooms are in demand I'm told.
The breakfast is excellent and everywhere you go on the boat, you really get the feeling of what it must have been like to float with her down the river with gamblers, ruffians, and business people on their way to San Francisco or Stockton a hundred years ago. Be sure also to take a little hike to the top deck and catch a view of the Tower Bridge and a bit of a bird's-eye of Old Sacramento... You'll be glad you did!!

Room Tip: If you are tall, get a 3rd floor room or a suite, because all others have rather low ceilings (you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    116
    40
    12
    17
See reviews for
38
165
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Experience staying on a refurbished historic steam boat which is permanently docked in Old Time Sacramento. The rooms including the bathrooms are teeny tiny and could use some updating. So if you're big or tall keep this in mind. I believe they have larger suites. So, it may be with paying extra for more space and comfort. Best part aside from being on a boat on the river. There's a restaurant on board called "The Pilot House" which has very good food. Plus, there's a separate very cool bar at the bow of the boat. We enjoyed some after dinner drinks while listening to live music! The only downfall is that there is only valet parking. In the morning of our departure we had to wait about 25 mins for our car to be retrieved by the one and only. Valet person running to retrieve cars for multiple people waiting in line to leave. The only other disappointment the over abundance of tourist trap stores. Do they really need 3 candy stores within 2 blks? All in all a fun experience for these repeat customers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Delta King on 1/31/14. First of all, I Facebook messaged a question about parking ahead of time and the staff actually responded, which was awesome. Use the valet parking, it's cheaper than the park it yourself options around Old Sac.

Check in was easy and they price-met my other room when I needed to book a room for my son and his friend at the last minute. Rooms weren't huge, but if you expected them to be on a boat, you're delusional. Bed was comfortable, excellent coffee was in the room, they had turndown service, good TV, etc.

The only complaint was room temperature. My room was a little too warm and we kept opening the door and my son's room got very, very cold in the night and he and his friend were really uncomfortable the whole night. Apparently there is a thermostat, but it's hidden in the armoire. Something odd like that should be in their welcome speech at the front desk, because other people we ran in to complained about the same thing.

The location, of course, is perfection.

The included breakfast was really excellent (make sure you tip well) and the service was wonderful. Truly, except for the room temperature (which, if we went back, wouldn't be an issue next time), it was fabulous!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mound House, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked the suite with the queen and the twin bed, and it was perfect. The picture does not give a good description of the room; it looks like a U. You enter at the bottom of the U, she went to the right to the twin area, we went to the left to the queen. The bathroom was in that space between the beds; she did have to come to our space to enter. We had privacy without the cost of 2 hotel rooms! We do wish we had brought a nightlight to put in the bathroom to avoid that overhead light. The breakfast was filling and delicious: 2 eggs, sausage/bacon, potatoes, muffin, juice/coffee/tea.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

In November, we enjoyed an overnight stay on the Delta King duriing our 50th anniversary trip through the Western United States. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed delicious food and good service in the restaurant. A fantastic California State Railroad Museum is within walking distance. When checking out I left some items behind and called to inquire if they had been found. At that time they had not. Later, they were found and I was contacted to inform me that they would be mailed to my home. I'm grateful for the good service we received.
Pat T.
Louisville, KY

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollock Pines, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had the pleasure of spending the night at the Delta King in Old Sacramento this past weekend.The staff we encountered from start of our visit to the end were amazing. The customer service provided at the Delta King surpasses expectations. They offered suggestions for local restaurants,entertainment and shopping. In addition they handled all special requests without hesitation.

The river view, 3rd floor room we had for the night was charming, much larger than I expected.
The view from the deck was priceless, with the tower bridge just off to the left of the ship. Night
time on the desk is especially romantic. There are small café tables on the deck to sit back and
have a drink and take in the beautiful view.

We decided to have dinner in the bar on the Delta King to enjoy as much of the facility as possible.The food was wonderful, I recommend the clam chowder, their SECRET is bacon. In the morning we had breakfast in the main restaurant, it was part of the package we purchased. Again we were treated to a delightful meal.

I highly recommend a weekend away on the Delta King.
For visiting Old Sacramento I can think of no better place to stay.

We plan on going back to one of their Murder Mystery dinners real soon.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for 3rd floor, river view room. It may cost more, but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked the Party Package, which included dinner, room, gifts and breakfast for the Delta Kings New Years Celebration Event. Been in the place for a few work related events, but never had the pleasure of spending the night on the river. The room was a tight fit, or was I drunk. Ha! but rather cozy. The food was fantastic! The whole night was very festive, topped off with one of the most explosive firework display i’ve ever seen. Diffidently a return is in sight.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Address: 1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.