We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a great location, memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delta King

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Delta King to your Saves list
Delta King
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
605 reviews 605 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
“Great stay in a great location, memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Delta King used to ply the waters on a nightly journey between Sacramento and San Francisco, if only the walls could talk. There is enough memorabilia and information on board to help you imagine those times. Valet parking beside the wharf is easy to find and efficient. Check in was pleasant with good information provided to assist stay. While we didn't need help with our bags, there was no offer of assistance. Given narrow stairwells, boardwalk, gangway and cobblestones, this is not the place for all. We chose a riverview queen stateroom, and I highly recommend the riverview for the benefits of the view, little passing foot traffic, privacy and quiet plus all day sun - the wharf side may only get early morning sun. The room was clean and attractive with a great bathroom. While not a large room, there is enough space for a short stay. Aircon was quiet, free wifi good, room has TV. Breakfast was generous and quality. Highly recommend sunset drinks and restaurant meal on deck if there in good weather. Great location for walking historic district and also downtown. Loved it and wish we'd had the time to spend a second night.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms best outlook and limited foot traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    138
    44
    13
    18
See reviews for
41
186
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here one night, mid week, using a TravelZoo coupon. We were on the 4th deck, riverside. It was very enjoyable. We enjoyed sitting outside at the small table by our room, having a drink outside the bar and a delicious dinner. We didn't leave the boat once we got on because my hubs has difficulty walking much at times.
The room was not huge but I've stayed in smaller ones recently. The bathroom was narrow but it is a boat. I could touch both walls with my elbows!
All the staff were very helpful and friendly. There are no elevators so you need to be able to walk down a ramp to get on and off the boat (there may be an elevator that can be used on the dock). Each deck is a flight of 10 steps. We only had to go up and down one flight. The bar and grill is on the 4th deck and the restaurant and entrance to the boat is on the 3rd deck.
We were lucky there were no large groups of people or parties going on. It was very quiet. I can see, though, that noise could be a problem. As others have said, the walls are thin and people walk by right outside the room.
I enjoyed sitting outside at night watching the sunset and the lights of Old Sac and the peaceful river early in the morning before most people were up and out.
The breakfast that comes with the room was good. I did not realize we would get that, so it was a pleasant surprise..

Room Tip: We were in 422. It is right at the stairway so it could be noisier than some of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here one night as part of a fly-drive honeymoon. Really interesting boat hotel and very authentic old American surroundings. Staff helpful and nice on board restaurant.

Only downside is that bedrooms are a bit basic and feel slightly damp

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Delta King is a river paddle boat that ran between San Francisco and Sacramento in the 1900's transporting workers back and forth. Now, it is permanently docked in Old Towne Sacramento on the Sacramento River. It has ornately carved staircases and bannisters throughout and shows the eloquence of the early 20th century river travel. The room we stayed in (521?) was updated with modern amenities; hairdryer, coffee pot, flat screen, outlets, etc. and yet retained the small white tile work in the bathroom. It had an inviting looking claw-foot bathtub and a water closet for the toilet---rarely seen these days. Charming! The room was small of course because it is a boat after all, but comfortable. The one curiosity I noticed to my amusement was that the floor slanted outward! Not much, but enough to notice Unique! The queen size bed was very comfortable too. Breakfast was included and boy were we surprised to have had a full breakfast. I mean full breakfast; sausage, bacon, or ham, eggs of your choice, hash browns, big muffins, orange juice, coffee, tea, milk, whatever. All this in a white-napkin ornately accented dining room. Beautiful!

Room Tip: I was told that the rooms on the top floor and city side are the best and quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The level of service was incredible--every staff member we encountered was amazingly friendly and helpful. We brought our bikes to enjoy the wonderful bike trails along the river expecting to store them in our car. The hotel staff provided a locked storage room for us instead and helped us get them there. We had a river-view room--small, but with a large bathroom. The boat has tables and chairs set up on the decks for guests to use--great views of the river banks and old bridge. We had forgotten our corkscrew, but the restaurant server happily opened our wine for us to take to the tables on deck. The breakfast was generous and tasty with quick service. All of Old Town is within easy walking distance and there is a large shopping mall just down the street--also an easy walk. Great food at the bar and grill, but lots of other restaurants close by. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went here after a hectic exploration of four National Parks and prior to visiting San Francisco. We wanted two nights peace and quiet which the Delta King provided in a quirky and convenient way. We were able to visit Old Town and Downtown Sacramento without using the car and even popped back for lunch. The weather was hot and sunny and we enjoyed eating outside.

The room/cabin was small, but we knew that before booking. However, the bed was comfortable, the air-conditioning efficient and the in-room tea and coffee was welcome.

Breakfast was included and gave a good start to the day. We also enjoyed the lunch.

On both evenings we had dinner at Delta King; one in the Grill and one in the restaurant. We had a main course and each was well- cooked and tasty.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. This stay served its purpose well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

An interesting way to spend the night in Old Sacramento. Take Amtrak and walk a few blocks to the riverboat, possibly stopping at the Railroad Museum or the Sacramento History Museum. Rooms are small but well appointed with flat screens and radio/cd. Good bird viewing along the river with scads of sand martins flitting about. Look for a deal such as Travel Zoo which got us breakfast and a bottle of wine to take away. I would do this trip again.

Room Tip: Riverview only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Address: 1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.