We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude employees” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Delta King

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Delta King to your Saves list
Delta King
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Laughlin, Nevada
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“rude employees”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

i will start out by saying i never have seen so many arrogant and rude employees at one place in my life.from the front desk to the wait staff at the restaurant.not to mention at $132 a night you expect a larger room.it was very noisy we did not expect that on a wed night.we was happy we decided to only stay 1 night of our vacation here. we read some of the reviews and figured give itv a shot and if we had a bad experience we would go some ere else for the other 4 days .and we did and got a much better room at 1/3 the price.the best part about the delta king is it is in beautiful old sac . other then that STAY AWAY OVER PRICED ,NOISY, AND RUDE STAFF !!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    129
    44
    13
    17
See reviews for
40
178
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here using a Groupon deal. Front desk staff was attentive. The room was comfortable though small. The parking was a little difficult on the holiday weekend (St. Patrick's Day, complete with parade). The views from the boat were peaceful and eating dinner in Old Sacramento was fun. Unfortunately our neighbors in the next room were very drunk and tried several times to get into our room instead, complete with drunken yelling. The bed was comfortable though the room was a little stuffy. We used the provided fan to keep the room cooler and drown out the noise of people walking past. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and prepared quickly. Check out was quick though the computer was down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The front desk man seemed to be bored to death with his life? or with his job? We tried be friendly but obviously he couldn't have been bothered with us! I thought.... my first place to stay while visiting is already not going well. The worst part of the stay was at 3:30 in the morning was a voice outside our door that said "Hey man, can I talk to you?" This woke us both up and nothing usually wakes him up! The two men moved away from our door but then talked for an hour and 10 minutes more. They were so loud we put the TV on to drown them out but the conversation at times was heard over the TV. We told the lady at the front desk the next day and she said she would look into it! That was it! On the positive side the bar tender and waitress were very nice a received nice tips. The boat was beautiful! Loved old town Sacramento! We were on the riverside and was nice to watch the wildlife!

Room Tip: I'm sorry but we will never go there again.....go o the Vagabond Hotel. Great price for a really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The positives - charm, nice people, good location next to old sacramento, good walking distance to attractions, very nice breakfast included. The negatives small room, nice view of river but people walking by so couldn't keep blinds open, a little on the noisy side, blinds did not keep light out day or night (deck lights on at night), $18 valet parking. Would not stay there again

Room Tip: If you do stay go to 1022 restaurant and try electric bikes at Practical Cycle on J St
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent a night onboard the old river boat - now a hotel/resto "moored" in Old Sacramento (historic buildings housing restaurants, nightclubs and tourist attractions). It was okay - and especially good not to drive home after an evening of pub crawling in the area.

Room had a river view - not a lot of wildlife along the water but you could hear the canada geese and other water fowl in the morning. The floor in the room was tilted - old riverboat - and it was kind of funny to watch my husband's face (after a night of pub crawling) trying to figure out what was going on. The old bathroom had some original fixtures (claw foot tub) - but the "old" hexogonal "tile" floor was vinyl. It was okay - and probably easier to keep clean.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the Pilot House resto in the morning was nice - if not exemplary.

For us...being local - it was nice to do once.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room; I had stayed before at a retreat and we had the dockside rooms - not grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Ca.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our retail business belongs to a buying cooperative that planned to hold it's annual meeting in one of the Delta King's conference rooms. Since the meeting was a 3 hour drive from our home in Santa Cruz, I made reservations for my wife and I to spend the night on the Delta King. Upon arrival I was surprised at the size of the riverboat, 300 feet long with five decks. The size and staircase configuration made it a bit challenging to find the lobby and conference room, but after a while the layout made sense. We had lunch and dinner in the Delta Bar and Grill on the upper deck which has outdoor shaded seating and indoor seating surrounding a central bar area in a room ringed with windows. It was a very cozy atmosphere with rich, warm wood paneling and trim. The food was good, not gourmet, and not outrageously priced. The service was very friendly and attentive. Having been on a cruise before I did not expect spacious staterooms. The room was small compared to a Hilton or Hyatt but very reasonable for a ship. The bathroom was a narrow galley configuration with a sink at one end, toilet at the other, and shower off to one side. Two people can not use the sink at the same time. Everything was very clean, the water was nice and hot, the room temperature was comfortable and it was very quiet all night on the river side. Full breakfast was included in the room rate and it was served in the main dining room which has a formal, yet cozy atmosphere with white tablecloths and rich wood appointments. Again service was very good. Overall we found the entire experience to be quite charming, pleasant and fun. If the annual meeting is held there again next year we would definitely stay again. If you need to have the feel of a big hotel then this isn't the place for you. If you have a little sense of adventure and enjoy the uniqueness and quirkiness of local boutique hotels, you will thoroughly enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

A fun way to see downtown Sacramento as a tourist is on the river and what
could be better than staying on a refurbished river boat.

Staff was super friendly and the accommodations romantic and everything in downtown
Sacramento is walkable..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Address: 1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.