We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful anniversary trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta King

Save Saved
You added Delta King to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Delta King
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 85 hotels in Sacramento
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband & I stayed overnight in a standard river view room for our 28th anniversary through a travelzoo promotion.The room was extremely small but it wasn't a big problem for us because we were only going to be there for one night. (There are larger sized rooms available if you need more space.) We used vallet to park our car ($18) and spent the day wondering through old town Sacramento. Lots of shops to browse through and places to eat.

Our package included a "wine pairing" for 2, so we sat at an outside table & enjoyed the view. While we were there, a young man serenaded and proposed to his girlfriend. Breakfast was also included and it was delicious. The railroad museum was interesting and not too expensive at $10.

Just a couple small things to be aware of: the windows in the room are covered with blinds, right next to the bed and everyone walking by can see in somewhat even when they are closed (we covered our with a couple towels). Also, the beds squeek and we could hear our neighbors "squeeking" during the night.

The staff was friendly and provided great service. We'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room if you need more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    116
    40
    12
    17
See reviews for
38
165
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent a night on the Delta King and it was one of the most unique hotels we have ever stayed in. We were on the dockside and being on the river side would have been so much better, but still this was a pretty good experience. The rooms and bathroom are a bit small but considering you are on an old paddle wheel boat they were a nice size. The rooms do slant to the outside, reminding you that you are on a boat. The shower had the highest water pressure of any shower i have ever been in, actually had to turn it down some so it wouldn't hurt. Beats the trickle of water you get at some hotels. The queen bed was comfortable and really have no complaints about the room. They provide a pretty decent free breakfast in the restaurant and if you prefer to order something different from the menu it is only $5. My wife got the gluten-free pancakes which was one of the reasons we stayed there in the first place. We got drinks in the bar and went and sat out on the deck and watched the sun set over the river. Absolutely great time aboard the Delta King.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel, but saw a comedy play. A fun cast who brings in audience participation. Very enjoyable, family entertainment. They had us laughing as they entertained with a parody story, jokes, and songs.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

this was a great experience, the delta king was clean and comfy, the bar was busy and well run,the only fault was it could have a deck of some sort to relax on when you have had a day out as u have to go back to the cabin,but the area it is in is great, the breakfast was ok and the staff were very pleasant,the weather was lovely a very nice city to walk round,

Room Tip: we had ground deck and found this ok , bathroom small but you don't live in the bathroom, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccoynedelta, Public Relations Manager at Delta King, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I’m sorry you did find a place to sit and relax along the deck. For overnight guest you are welcome to sit anywhere on the 5th deck which is quipped with tables and chairs, additionally there is seating on the deck surrounding the bar and grill which also include couches. Next time you stay just ask a staff member to show you around and we would be more than happy to do so. We look forward to having you on board again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stopped for one night at the Delta King as part of a 3 week tour of California. It was one of my husband’s favourite hotels and really felt like it took us back a bit in time.
The hotel is easy to find once you enter Old Sacramento – just look for the river! The valet parking is $18 a night which was the cheapest valet we paid for during our whole trip. The sights and shops of the old town are all within walking distance with a good selection of restaurants to choose from. It’s a real break away from the hustle and bustle of the main city.
After a casual walk around town we settled on the top deck of the bar for a drink and a game of cards. The view over the river was so beautiful and the service so great that we ended up not going out for dinner and stayed right where we were instead all night! The food was good and portion sizes were reasonable, and there was a nice selection of wine. We certainly made the most of the bar/restaurant and found it a real treat after arriving from an active 2 days in Yosemite. Breakfast was included and served downstairs in the restaurant. Service was again great and so was the food.
The thing to bear in mind with the Delta King is that although it doesn’t move, it is still a boat. For those with mobility issues getting on and around the boat could be hard however the staff are incredibly helpful and there is even a room located on the first floor that is recommended for those less able. The standard rooms are quite small however we knew to expect this and it wasn’t a problem. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and we loved the fact that we were staying in a cabin on a boat! Doorways are small and walkways around the edge of the rooms are too however again, this just adds to the fun of staying onboard.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to others who want something a little different. It was perfect for a 1 night stay to break up our journey and we couldn’t have asked for more.

Room Tip: Remember these are cabins on a boat so not the largest, if you want more space pay for a larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccoynedelta, Public Relations Manager at Delta King, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Wonderful! We strive to receive these types of reviews and I am so delighted you had such a wonderful time. Everyone that works aboard the Delta King appreciates its special charm and when a guest can experience it with us it defiantly make the work worthwhile. We would love to have you back anytime. Happy trails until we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We got our trip through the site Travelzoo. It included 2 nights a bottle of wine apon check-in and a pass for wine tasteting at the Sugar Mill which has eight wineries in one building $ 159.00. We hadn't had a vacation since last year so this was a perfect quick getaway. All the staff were fantastic and super friendly. The bottle of wine was really good too. The room was small but put together well. A double bed two night stands a amoire that held the coffee pot , t.v hairdryer, and room to hang clothes. we had the view overlooking the river (nice). Hot last weekend and the AC works great,the window didn't open which I would of liked. The weekend also included free breakfast which is truely free but you can trade up for a small fee. I did try the crab cakes bennidic but I wasn't a fan-it wasn't that they weren't good I just realized I don't like crab and egg together. We did have a couple of appitizers up in the bar and grill that Waren (the manager and nice guy recomended) fantastic. We rode our bikes around also to Sac State and back and around old town Sac. the will keep your bikes for you as well downstairs in the boat I recomend you do this because we didn't on the night we were leaving and the one bike was gone the next morning. we had a great time sitting over the water sipping our wine and enjoying the appitizer. It was just what we needed to refresh ourselfs .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccoynedelta, Public Relations Manager at Delta King, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
I’m so pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience aboard the Delta King. The Travelzoo promotion was a great way to get a taste of what all the Delta King has to offer. We look forward to having you onboard again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is my second review for the Delta King. At the time of the first earlier this year I had not stayed aboard. Just stopped by for drinks in the rather nice, cozy bar. The end of July my wife and I spent two nites and had a great time just walking off the boat into Old Town Sacramento. Half hour walk up to state capital building (beautiful landscaped park area). Breakfast in the great, river-view dining room was excellent and included with the room. Room was river side, second deck; quiet, smallish bordering on tiny, had great AC, large (almost size of room, bathroom with small shower only). Just a great and different kind of place to stay. We will do it again, probably for a go at their murder mystery dinner.

Room Tip: River side, upper decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Address: 1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#18 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.