We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay On The Boat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta King

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Delta King to your Saves list
Delta King
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Springfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Nice Stay On The Boat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed on the Delta King for two nights. They allowed us to get our room early since we had come via Amtrak and it arrived early in the day. We had a very nice stateroom overlooking the river. The staff was nice and helpful. Che check in and out were easy. The location alone would be worth ANY place here as it is in Old Sacramento where there are lots of shops and eateries to be seen. It was comfortable and rather quaint. Someone did an excellent job restoring this ship to its glory, even though it cannot sail anymore.

Room Tip: Rooms 420 and 520 are the river view staterooms that are the best choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    125
    41
    12
    17
See reviews for
39
171
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Red Bluff, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Clearly, we knew we were staying in a historic river boat...we expected it to be small. And it was. My 6 foot 3 inch tall husband spent three days banging his head into stuff. The doors were very small--people back when were much smaller. The room was cozy, with enough room for the bed, a wardrobe containing the TV and two bed side tables. I think the bathroom was the most trippy aspect of the stay--it was long and narrow--leaning against one wall, I could lay my hands flat against the other. The toilet had an old fashioned pull-chain. The shower was bitty, but with great water pressure.

The most unsettling thing was that the entire boat sloped port and starboard. I constantly felt like I would tumble into the exterior walls.

This hotel is located in the middle of Old Town Sac, one of our favorite places to visit, and the hotel offered valet parking for $18 a day. There is an on-board restaurant and saloon.

All in all, this was a unique stay. Don't know if we would go back, but it is really cool to say we did it.

Room Tip: if you want a great view and less noise throughout the night, choose a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

A river boat turned into a hotel in Old Town Sacramento-what a fun experience!

I booked a stay at the Delta King while I was in northern California because of the novelty of the whole situation. I grew up in the area and I had never been to old Town or to the Delta King, so it was time. The room I booked was the lowest level of price that they offer at just a little over $100 for an inner room.

Parking-
This was tricky. Once I got to Old Town there were so many people and cars that it took me 20 minutes to get down 2 blocks. I was able to easily find the Delta King, but could not figure out where to park. To make a long story short, they have valet parking on Front Street right in front where where you see the Delta King sign. Because of the way they park their cars you may miss the sign.

You have 3 options when parking here. 1) Let the valet park the car and they add $18 to your room rate. But your car is parked in a garage, is safe and they take care of all the walking to get your vehicle. 2) Park in the parking garage overnight. The fee for overnight parking is more expensive than just letting the valet park it. 3) Feed the parking meters on the street every two hours until 8pm and then again starting at 10 am.

Check-In-

Check-in was smooth and the clerk was friendly. The hotels wifi was down for the weekend, but there are 2 Sacramento hotspots that you can pick up in the rooms as well as the hotels. They did not tell me this at the front desk, I found them when I turned on my laptop to see if there were any other connections to use.

The Room-

The room was very small, but in a cute way. The bed and the bathroom are decorated in antique furniture and recreated the period feel of the boat.

There are other size rooms, so if you are one that likes room to move about I would select one of the larger rooms on the higher decks. I did have a view of the river from my room which was nice to look at.

Even though the boat was restored, it is still old; the floors are uneven and the walls and floors are not sound proof. The doors rattle on the rooms every now and then also. All of these little things add to the feeling of the place and enforces the thought that you need to stay for the experience and not for the best night sleep of your life.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a coupon for dinner at the Pilot House restaurant and wanted a room we could walk to after dinner with wine. This is our second stay at the Delta King, both times were excellent. Our first meal at the Pilot House also was excellent. The staff is friendly and attentive, the rooms have the charm of an old river boat along with all the modern conveniences. The room also includes a cooked to order breakfast in the Pilot House. Service and food there were also excellent. Since we only live about 30 miles away, this will be a regular quick getaway for us.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger with windows and views on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I was looking for a hotel and restaurant in close proximity so this place fit the bill. I think our room was directly above where we ate dinner at the Pilothouse. After a bottle of wine it was nice to be so close. On the downside the room was pretty small for the price. (That price does include a full breakfast in the restaurant, which is a bonus) It was also a little noisy. There is a train track nearby which will wake a light sleeper for sure. Overall, it was a unique experience that is worth a try if your are looking for a unique lodging experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We only had one night to stay in Sacramento so we couldn't find anywhere more fun than staying on a riverboat. We booked online from Australia and had no problem with our booking or check in. As others have said, the Valet Parking is almost a must so should be factored in. We were only staying one night, so no problem.

Our room was on the riverside of the boat which was great and while the room was smaller than your average hotel room, it was no smaller than we had imagined it would be on a 1920's riverboat. We were near the front of the boat on an upper deck so there was a slight slant on the floor towards the rear of the boat...it is a boat after all.

The location is fantastic for visiting Old Sacramento Town and the Railroad Museum...we were there in early December so there was an excellent Christmas tree and lights display at night and most of the shops were open until 9.00pm.

Overall, we had a great time on the boat and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Get a Riverside suite...it's great to look out in the morning and just watch the river go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacaville, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We had never stayed on an authentic river boat before so we experienced this on the Delta King. Small, clean, quiet, not luxury, but not motel 6. Cozy feeling with few other guests, just different. The bar is on board and a dinner hall with shopping across the street and many other variety of bars and restaurants. Next time I think we will stay at one of the other hotel nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Address: 1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#21 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.