We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delta King

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Delta King to your Saves list
Delta King
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
SF, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quirky place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We recently stayed in room 424 for a short weekend trip to Oldtown Sacramento. The staff at the Delta King are gracious and helpful. The hotel is on a renovated riverboat and this should give you a clue as to the fact that this is not your usual hotel stay. Because this is a riverboat, very little conforms to current building codes as we know them. The doors are narrow, the ceilings are low and the floors slope in a variety of directions, probably due to the deck settling. None of this was a problem, just a note about the age of the boat! Our room was small but very clean and well-appointed. There is nothing fancy but there was a coffee maker, flat screen TV, and a bathroom that was almost as large as the room itself. The shower was definitely a highlight of the room, with brass fixtures and water pressure that made this Bay Area water conserving gal feel a bit indulgent.

As it was our anniversary, the hotel arranged for a delivery of one dozen roses which were waiting in our room on arrival. Additionally, full breakfast was included with the room. Breakfast was served in the Pilothouse Restaurant on the first deck. The food was good but not stupendous. The kitchen seemed a little overwhelmed so it took awhile for our breakfast to come out. However, our waitress was lovely and kept us in coffee and made sure to give us suggestions for places to visit during our stay.

Overall, it was a good stay and I would recommend it for someone looking for a good place to stay in Oldtown. It seemed to be particularly popular with train enthusiasts (lots of train talk during breakfast) since the railway museum is just a couple of blocks away.

Room Tip: Room 424 - at the top of the stairs to the 2nd deck. Too noisy, particularly on the weekend, when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    156
    48
    14
    18
See reviews for
46
210
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a renovated ferry boat. The rooms are comfortable, and there are bistro tables outside on the deck. We ate our picnic dinner on the deck, watching the river go by and the sun go down. There was a concert across the river, and two bridges strung with lights nearby.
Excellent free breakfast is easily enough for two. Kids do not get a breakfast ticket.

Room Tip: There are two suites with a double bed in one room and a twin in the other. Ask for it if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valentine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Wanitng to plan a romanitc weekend that was like none at home (Las Vegas), my guy friend surprised me with the Delta King. I felt just like I was in the movie the Parent Trap. It was sooooo romantic and the location was mazing. We could get everywhere on foot. The rooms were clean and spacious..though our room had a shower, not a bathtub. The air conditioning worked great and the blankets were super soft. Our favorite time was spent sitting on the "deck", drining our home brought cocktails and enjoying the amazing view of the boats going by. At night the view couldn't have been better of the fireworks from the close by ball field. There was parking on site (valet). THe room came with a delicious breakfast at a restaurant with an amazing water view. If I had to say one downfall, you had to walk a bit to get ice...but still so worth it. We will remember our stay at the Delta King forever:) If you are looking for a fabulous time, stay here.:)

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for the view room..all the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I found the Delta King on Tripadvisor because of all the good reviews and thought it sounded really cool to stay on a river boat. My kids were just out of school and we were on our way up to Lassen to camp for 3 days so I thought it would be a good preview of 4th grade if we went to Sacramento and toured the capitol building. The Delta King seemed to be well positioned in Old Town and walking distance to the capitol. BUT that is where anything positive I might say ends. Well, actually the hotel and restaurant staff were all very nice. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters, which is a big supposed two-story room at the front of the boat. It is fairly big, but they charged us even with a AAA rate $515 for the night, PLUS another $20 for a very beat up uncomfortable roll away bed. The room was really dusty and dirty, the furnishings all shabby and pretty beaten up, the "second story" that the online description makes such a big deal about was nothing (just a tiny dirty stairway with some old banged up carpet on a ledge up above with an old boat steering wheel), and finally there was a huge drip from the ceiling of the second level down into the living room of our room. I don't know where it was coming from since it was clear and not raining at all, maybe the air conditioner, but I had to put a garbage can uder the drip and the can after one night there was literally half full of water. We could go on ... the restaurant dinner was horrid. The Pilot House gets good reviews, but our steaks were grayish in color which means they were probably frozen before we got them and they were practically raw instead of cooked right. We were about the only ones in the restaurant so it didn't look to us like they use their food much. The next morning the cook apparently didn't show up so the waitress was telling everyone that there wasn't going to be much for their "free" breakfast. We did eventually get food but there was no real menu to choose from. Then some guy painting asked if he could come into our room and plug in some cord while we were all taking showers and packing up -- I think he looked genuinely surprised when we said "NO." I guess the whole thing would have been funny and a weird start to our camping trip -- had the total bill for the hotel not been over $600!!! Not to mention about another $150 for dinner. For what amounted to a junky hotel and Denny's quality dinner. Seriously, this place was not the Ritz or Fairmont or Mandarin Oriental or any number of other fancy hotels where we've stayed and gladly paid $600 for a one night stay. So we were very disappointed. In fairness, though, as I mentioned the staff was super nice and fun to talk to. The breakfast waitress was really great and she was from the area where we were going camping so we really enjoyed talking to her. And the kids did think it was fun to stay on a river boat, but by the time we left they were calling it the Delta Poo.

Room Tip: Not sure I'd stay here again
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

'Right there' in Old Sacramento, very economical but in no way 'cheap' like a budget motel. Everything was first class.

Room Tip: 'best room' depends on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Anothe great stay at the Delta King. They do have it all together. Wonerful trip back to the 30's and 40's but with very "today" food, service and ameities (free internet, etc). Short and safe walk to downtown and the Convention Center through a great park and mall. Worth the price. Make sure you iit on a Thursday night when they have "Irish Night" in the Bar. Get entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Just returned from one night at the Delta King. The hotel where I normally stay while on business in Sacramento was booked, so to be honest, this was not my first choice, although I have seen it on may occasions, and wondered what it would be like to stay there. I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it! The room was small and the bathroom was tiny, but both were spotlessly clean. Bed was very comfortable, air conditioner was great, and the water pressure was probably the best I have ever experienced in a hotel. Staff and service were outstanding. Food in the bar and at breakfast was delicious and a good value. I will be recommending this hotel to coworkers. Thank you Delta King for a fun trip to Sacramento.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sacramento-Capitol Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#3 of 82 in Sacramento
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
4.9 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#11 of 82 in Sacramento
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Sacramento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta King

Address: 1000 Front Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#16 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Delta King 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Delta King is an authentic, historic, and permanently moored riverboat on the Sacramento River in Downtown Old Sacramento, Ca. In addition to the two restaurants, the Delta King has 44 AAA 3-Diamond rated staterooms with prepared to order hot breakfast daily, two dinner theatres, a wine school, and wedding & conference facilities. Sacramento Bee says: Pilothouse Restaurant is a must dine destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Delta King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta King Sacramento
Delta King Hotel Sacramento
Delta Sacramento
Sacramento Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.