We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   200 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95811   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Newark, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This hotel was better than expected and definitely worth the cost. The room was clean and the furnishings were in excellent condition. We stayed on the top floor on the river side of the hotel which had a great view of the sunset. The mattress was a BeautyRest which was a little too firm for my poor husband who woke up with a backache, but it was fine for me. The coffee in the room was terrible. Don't bother with it but go down to the breakfast room and get coffee there - it was much better. Breakfast included waffles, danish, bread, cereal, fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. It was certainly enough for our group. Other reviews mentioned transients in the area; but we never saw any. We'd most definitely stay here again if going back to the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    104
    73
    37
    32
See reviews for
117
75
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, BC Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

The reception staff and driver (who gave us a discount coupon for a nearby seafood restaurant) are pleasant and helpful. The maintenance man is spectacularly helpful and friendly. We had a non-smoking king with microwave/fridge at a great price. We liked it so much we stayed for about 4 nights versus the 1 (planned). We are on a 35 day road trip and this was a great place to stop and chill. Very close to Old Sacramento. Cereal, toast, waffles, etc. the usual good LQ breakfast at this hotel. Large eating area, not cramped. Would stay here again for sure at this price. Internet was painfully slow. We were as far from the lobby as you could get which might have contributed to the issue. Guest laundry clean and reasonably priced. This is a Corporate LQ not a franchise one. QUIET also!

Room Tip: We recommend asking for a main floor unit facing the parking lot so you can drive right up to unload...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My partner & I (with our two Westies) drove from PHX to SEA in two days stopping for an overnight in SMF. We went into a web site to check out lodgeing that accepted pets & their deposits etc. We came across the La Quinta which had NO pet fees & the room rate was $57.60 plus tax for a King size room! Granted, it was NO Marriott/Hilton but the room was clean (a bit outdated) but it had a flat screen TV, two chairs, coffee in room & morning continental breakfast! ALL of this for such a reasonable price as well! I called ahead for a microwave & fridge & was pleasantly surprised to find them in our ground floor rooom as promised. Upon checkin/out the staff were very friendly....We would definately stay here again. BTW it's right off of I5 with easy freeway access for those who want to hit the road quickly.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room on the back end unit Building "D" thus towards the very end &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Overall, could be cleaner but the rooms were adequate and location was ideal. No frills, but the price could not be beaten.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC Canada
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is your average La Quinta hotel so no real surprises. It is right on the river so a nice place to walk on the bike path. One thing we noticed was that most of the mats outside the rooms on the walkway were filthy-- ours had dental floss on it!!! A good sweeping with a broom would be a good idea. The temperature control had not been cleaned in a long time, flithy finger marks. Front office staff were pretty good, one friendly, one not. The orange juice machine is still not working (just read a similar comment by a reviewer)!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Interstate!! Quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The folks who downgraded this place can't do much traveling, or at least not recently. I called from the airport, was picked up in 15 minutes; check-in took one minute (reserved and paid on-line); nice clean room; little traffic noise; wi-fi worked perfectly; good bed; great staff.Just one thought - if you want to walk to Old Town (15 minutes) don't walk all around the property to get to the bike path, go along Jibboom past the deserted building with the chain link fence and go up the bank to the path. You'll save ten minutes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Although this was not the best LQ I have stayed in, the staff made up for any deficiencies. They were friendly and helpful, especially when I left my cell phone behind on the unmade bed! Yikkes! I called and asked if they could retrieve it from my room and keep it in the lobby until I could get back there—they did so. When I returned to the hotel, they went right into the lobby and handed me my phone without my even stating my purpose.

We had a suit because it was the only way to have a microwave and refrigerator. It was clean, quiet, and the king bed was firm. We had two TVs, just like home! We had some trouble with one light fixture, which I m sure is fixed by now, and one burned out bulb. The breakfast was standard fair for LQ, which is just fine. For the price, it was a great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from I-5 and on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown

Address: 200 Jibboom Street, Sacramento, CA 95811
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown Hotel Sacramento
La Quinta Sacramento
Sacramento La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Sacramento Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.