We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1100 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Sacramento
Caliornia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

We had room #239 and it was very nice. Beds were soft and comfy. Room was clean, we would stay again!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    116
    39
    15
    12
See reviews for
67
71
17
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix,AZ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

Best Western Sutter House is an older, 1960's-style motel that is better inside than it looks from the outside. The exterior is dated and a bit worn, but the rooms were clean, spacious and well-kept. The location is good: close to downtown and Old Sacramento, on a lesser-traveled street. There are several restaurants within easy walking distance, including a brew pub and several coffee houses.

The room was clean, and whie the bathroom was clean and trouble-free, there was a slight smell of mildew.

For the price and location this was a good value.

  • Tips/Secrets — Free wireless internet!
  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2006

Extremely comfortable room looking onto swimming pool. Breakfast was billed as 'de-luxe' but I would only describe it as average, and had to be transported to room or pool area for consumption. Pool area was well-kept and we enjoyed use of pool after a day's sightseeing.
Receptionist advised against walking from Downtown or Old Sac after dark, but light rail stop is right outside hotel. During daylight all tourist and shopping sites are within convenient walking distance if you can stand the heat (88F), but ample bus routes plus light rail close by.
Beware using Safety Deposit. Check-in receptionist had the knack of using keys but morning receptionist did not, and we were locked out - fortunately not on check-out day.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

I stayed a Saturday night at Best Western Sutter House. It's a terrific value with free parking and nice staff. I arrived with a web reservation and made a change of room type once I arrived, due to my needs changing. The staff was responsive and helpful. When I tried to check in several hours early, they apologized that my room was not ready. They then invited me to park my car and to walk 3 blocks to the convention center for my meeting. I Ididn't use the car until I left town next afternoon.

The noise level was not bad Sat night and Sunday morning. I can see how noise would be a problem if you stayed in a room facing H or 12th Street on weeknight stays. Facing the nice pool area is probably better and of course, ear plugs. The little danish, coffee and fruit are free. Rooms are clean and beds quite comfy. Minimal but the price is right. Budget minded and need a quality motel? Sutter House fills the bill.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

I booked this hotel because I was attending a convention at the convention center, which is about 3 short blocks away, and because I'm a BW Gold Crown Club member.

When I arrived they were working on refinishing the deck around the pool. They were doing half of the deck at a time but managed to block both corridors leading to the rooms on the 1st floor in the back of the hotel. Unfortunately that's where I was staying. I had to take the elevator to the 2nd floor, walk all the way to the opposite corner of the hotel, then take the other elevator or stairs down to the 1st floor. I had to figure this out on my own, the front desk staff didn't warn me about this or how to get to my room. It would have been possible to block only one corridor while doing half of the deck, but they did it wrong. I complained, as did other guests I talked to and by the next afternoon they reopened the corridors.

The room was adequate, though I'm not used to having a soap and shampoo dispenser in the bathroom of a hotel that cost over $100/night. For that price I kinda expect the little bottles. The continental breakfast was disappointing. It consisted of mini pastries and coffee, though that coffee was much better than the awful in-room coffee. I tried using a BW travel card to pay for part of my stay but first was told that the BW computers were down, then was told that they didn't know how to process it.

Another review refers to the noise from the light rail. Fortunately I was on an inside room but I could still hear the light rail (I'm a light sleeper). A friend who was on the side facing the rail said she heard the noise and the voice announcing the stops all night. So definitely get an inside room, facing the pool, if you can.

Though I have my complaints, there were some pluses: There was full cable TV (not just a handful of channels) and free wireless Internet. The down comforter was quite comfy. There was free parking. The convention center is only 3 blocks away and the Capitol and cathedral are also short walks. There's a Thai restaurant on H street a block south of the hotel that's good.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2005

The Sutter House is one of the noisiest motels or hotels I have ever stayed in and I have traveled extensively around the world. The room was on 12th street opposite the light rail which runs all night. Besides the clanking of the trains going by, the trains were so close we could even hear the announcement inside the cars. Sleeping was impossible. All the rooms on that side of the motel should be left vacant. Another irritation was that I had reserved a king room but upon arrival was told there were no king rooms available. The rooms themselves and the bedding is nice but ask for an inner room.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

We stayed at the Best Western Sutter House for business and pleasure, and were very pleased with our room. As always, I count on TripAdvisor for advice on best places to stay, and I was not disapointed! The room was spacious (two King-sized beds), beautifully decorated, (much nicer inside than outside, as other reviews have stated), and the mattresses were oh so comfortable! It was perfect for the business traveler as the room contained an ironing board and iron, and a hairdryer, (as well as Shampoo, Conditioner, and Soap dispensers in the bath/shower). The view of the pool from the room was lovely, and the room and bathroom were clean and neat. We had no problem with sound/parties. Front desk workers were very friendly, and offered a map of the area. Plus, a continental breakfast was offered in the morning. This motel is a great deal; we payed $82 for our room (on a Sunday), and it was central, only two blocks from the Capital where we were headed. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House

Address: 1100 H Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#10 Business Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sutter House Hotel Sacramento
Best Western Sutter Hotel
Best Western Sacramento
Sacramento Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sutter House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.